We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GamlaVaerket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GamlaVaerket Hotel to your Saves list
GamlaVaerket Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Olavsgata 38, Sandnes 4306, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sandnes
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I found a good deal for this hotel which was some 700NKR cheaper than other hotels. Check in was a little slow at first as I didn't see the button to summon the staff - the restaurant was very busy being the week before Christmas. After that, it was slick and I was quickly in my room. The corridors are spartan and the room is best described as rustic, tying in with the hotel name which means 'Old Workshop' I was told. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. Take a book as there wasn't much for non-English speakers on the telly. WiFi is freely available throughout the hotel.

I went back down to reception to see if I could eat in the busy restaurant. I was courteously told that there would be a short wait whilst a table was readied. I was shown a to a sofa and offered a glass of wine. The menu is in Norwegian, understandably, but my waitress was very helpful explaining it and the choice of the Christmas buffet. I opted for the lutefisk, a Norwegian specialty, and not something I had tried before. As it was served I was told that the chef would do me something else if I didn't like it, which was really generous. I did it and it wasn't so bad.

I had a good night's sleep and the buffet breakfast was excellent with many choices.

The hotel is just a couple of minutes from the railway station and the bus interchange but is also by the shops which have great displays and not one Primark to be seen!

Overall, a good stay with friendly and helpful staff and an excellent restaurant.Remember, this is Norway so will be more expensive than the UK. but to my mind was relatively good value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
11
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good restaurant and location within walking distance of train and bus station. Easy bus connection to Stavanger. If you are 60+ make sure to mention at ticket places anywhere that you are a "Pensionier" to get up to 50% discount - museums, transportation, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just recently visited Gamlavaerket with my girlfriend for dinner. Since I was so amazed over the quality of the food, and also the Hotel in it self I believe it deserves a review.

The staff was very friendly and gave us a nice table by the window.
The Hotel is very old and charming, and also very romantic, and you feel very relaxed sitting down here. The staff provided us with a selection of wine and food, and we ended up ordering a three course meal with a lovely red wine. (the recommended wine). The meal was one of the best we've had, and the main course was excellent. My girlfriend ordered white fish with fresh vegetables, and I got a steak. It's the first time I ever seen my girlfriend finish her meal...

Because of the service level, great food, and also great location in the middle of the city centre I would recommend stopping by this place. And if you would like to stay in a Hotel with a unique concept you should definitely stay here. Its old and rustic, and warm and friendly.

Thanks for a great evening, Gamlavaerket!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The room that I paid handsomely for had a lovely view of the light rail station - about 20 meters away from the window. I never did get the thermostat right. Had to modulate the temperature by opening windows - in the dark of winter.

The bed was only barely tolerable, and the other furnishings were spartan. Phone is useless - unable to call outside the hotel.

One good thing - the WiFi connection was excellent and fast. Another good thing - the front desk staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a business trip and I stayed in Gamla Vaerket for 4 nights. The rooms were very cozy and clean, the breakfast was nice. However, the service was not so nice - some of the staff was not friendly. But I would want to go back again, because of the location and quality of the rooms. I dont care much for the staff anyways!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel has charm, the room I had was large and comfortable. I was on the top floor, so there was a lot of stairs :) Breakfast was good, but the scrambled eggs let the thing down from being great.
For the price, I was expecting a little more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was given a room in the old part of the hotel facing the back street. Surprisingly no noise from the street from quite early evening through the night.
The room is overall of ok, for sure not you standard sterile business hotel room. There are extremely poor soundproofing between the rooms, you can only hope for quite neighbors. Using the sound on TV is almost impossible without disturbing everyone around you. Luckily the channel selection is as bad as it is!
The single beds are rather narrow, would ave been great with queen or even better a king size bed in some of the rooms.

The room and specially the bathroom should have been cleaned a bit better, the shower are really need to be refurbished. A shower door would also be nice to have. Top of the glass-brick wall was full of dust and dirt, not very nice.

The staff has a very good attitude, they are very friendly and are always smiling and ensuring everything is to your satisfaction. Too bad they forget to pass on the various messages about fixing broken lamps or better cleaning of the rooms.



Room Tip: Older part have larger rooms, but note they are also more "unique"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GamlaVaerket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GamlaVaerket Hotel

Address: St. Olavsgata 38, Sandnes 4306, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Sandnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sandnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GamlaVaerket Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to us at Gamlaværket Hotel og Restaurant to tradition, atmosphere and a special hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GamlaVaerket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GamlaVaerket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.