We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, mediocre food, too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big horn

Big horn
Vagsgaten 33, Sandnes, Norway
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 39 Restaurants in Sandnes
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Klepp, Rogaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service, mediocre food, too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have been there a couple of times, but will never go back.
Every time we have been there, the service was poor. Last time our waiter did not speak Norwegian at all, and his English was almost non existing... we got the wrong food, and all our (4) steaks was overcooked. For a restaurant that serves mainly steaks, it shouldn't me a difficult task! In fact, I don't think I have ever gotten a perfectly prepared steak...
Way to expensive for what you get...
Not worth taking your'e date to!
On the up-side, the salad bar is great and the beer is cold :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    24
    19
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lots of good food, not too badly priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The portions here are very big and the prices are reasonable. The atomsphere is a little bit cold and distant, in that you have to write down on a paper what you want. It is not very personal.

The food though is good and for lovers of steaks and beef, this is a great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Service was good and the food was served within a decent time. Steak was great,wine too! Worth a visit if you a steak lover.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK - glad I wasn't paying the bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Went here with work on a Thursday and not too busy so we had good and promt service from the staff. There was also a realxed and quiet atmosphere.

Food was OK though portions were quite small for the price. I had a starter, main course and dessert and was hungry a few hours later. I had the Surf and Turf as a main which consisted of a baked potato, a slice of steak and just three scampi. The spare ribs looked nice.

I didn't see the bill but I recon there wasn't much change out of 10000NOK for the nine of us. I wouldn't go here if I had to pay myself

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“My favorite steak house in Sandnes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

You know what you'll get here: steaks in every shape and kind. When I need to cheer up, this is where you'll find me.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big horn also viewed

Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Big horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big horn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.