We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charles & De

Charles & De
Langgata 41, Sandnes 4306, Norway
+47 51 68 32 0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 36 Restaurants in Sandnes
Price range: $31 - $123
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is a blessing every time our guests tell us that Charles & De is a great place to meet for business and pleasure. Our “house of foods” is well suited for meetings, seminars, wine tasting and celebrations. The entire staff is passionate about their work, and we are doing our outmost to serve you a variety and quality foods. The name is associated with exquisite flavors and the importance of teamwork. Charles Tjessem was titled World Champion in 2003, when he won the first price and gold medal in the prestigious competition Bocuse d’Or. We do believe in using local ingredients as much as possible. It's a thrill every time we can trace the food all the way back to the day when the seed was planted. We look forward to be seeing you real soon!
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The family went there for dinner and we had a wonderful experience. The food is so wellprepared, the meal so well composed and the waiters are so nice and competent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Is Charles biting over too much?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Charles & De used to be good, but now it is, well, average. It seems Charles himself is no longer very interested in the place. He is busy in many other places, so he may be too busy?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good taste, but where is the value for money?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I tried the "Summer Burger" and got a small (about 100-150gram) burger with some overcooked potatoes. If I pay kr 199,- I expect more than this. I think this resturant knows better. I would recommend it for the TASTE, but if you are looking for a plate with enough food on it, go somewhere else. This is a review for the burger, I do not know the other dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You must try Atlantic cod :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Unfortunately I discovered Charles og de, a bit late at my stay in Sandnes.
But I did get a chance to taste the cod in this restaurant. And I can highly recomend Atlantic cod with; bacon, spring vegetables, puré of potatoes & tomato salsa. When you taste it, you will forget about the price. Its worth it!
Charles Tjessem (the owner) was titled World Champion in 2003. Tjessem has also been the Manager of Gastronomisk Institutt in Stavanger and the Captain of the Norwegian National Team of Chefs. Need I say more.. :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lunch venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice place if you're in Sandes and you're passing. I haven't been here on an evening so can't comment on that but the food is nice for lunch

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles & De also viewed

Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Charles & De? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles & De, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.