We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel at the perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Amanda

Save Saved
You added Clarion Collection Amanda to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Amanda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Amanda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Smedasundet 93, Haugesund 5501, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Haugesund
Larnaca, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel at the perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location is excellent: right by the harbor, and a nice pedestrian street alongside, and right in the city center (the main shopping street is right behind). The service was excellent and the room very spacious and very clean, although it does need some updating. The reception area is very nice and cosy, and the little cafe area outside in front of the marina too. You can rent DVD's for the night for free and the whole hotel is themed on movies, in honor of the Film festival that takes place in the town each year.

Room Tip: Request for a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
30
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is really nicely situated by the water in Haugesund. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast and complementary evening buffet are both good. It is getting a bit old and the TV in particular brings back memories of the 1990s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel !! Clean, friendly, staff could not do enough for us! Buffet brekkie and supper were varied, fresh, and great choice. Home-made breads out of oven made it extra special. We had bikes and big bags, and they did all they could to help. Ideal location for tourism, boat rides, walking the city, etc. Make your own waffle bar was a pure treat and special addition... Tea/Coffee and fruit available all day, with a filtered water station to keep us all hydrated!! Amazing views from our window, but the night life made it a bit noisy on the weekends. That would be my ONLY complaint, but the other things were so good I could only rate this place as my #1 destination of travel over the years!! The Norwegians are amazing people, the city itself full of happy helpful people!! Defo coming back!!

Room Tip: View over Quay is spectacular, but can be noisy... A/C in rooms was lovely, as it kept it fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malla H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Amanda, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. This really warms a managers heart.
Hope to see you next year!

Sincerely
Malla Holden
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our 3rd visit to this hotel and it is consistently good without being dramatic. Good value, excellent service, friendly folk, well positioned, nice room.

We like the hotel because of the relaxed atmosphere and because the staff are both helpful and accommodating. The rooms are fine. We were in a room on the inside (i.e. no view) but this was an advantage because it was very quiet. Some guests have commented on it being a bit noisy in an outside room as a result of merry makers having a good time in the surrounding streets.

The car park is space challenged. It is actually a scientific marvel that the cars can drive in, park and drive out again in one piece. To experience this marvel, you must pay 80 kroner night but probably worth it from the novelty value.

Lots of bars and restaurants within a few hundred meters of the hotel. Shops are also Close by.

We will be returning because it makes a nice base for playing golf in the area and is reasonably priced and good value.

Room Tip: An inside room is quieter, especially if you want a window open at night. The rooms at the front hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malla H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Amanda, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Tony
Thank you for your review. Totally understand about our parkingspace, but just to inform you, Haugesund has a large parkinghouse 2 block from the hotel, and that is free of charge at night.
But again, I understand :)
Welcome back anytime & have a good golfseason :)

Sincerely
Malla Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

You do not want a room with a view here - too much noise from the bars along the quay!
My wife and I spent three nights here and were very happy with our choice of hotel. Ideally located in town center and on quay where you find a lot of restaurants and bars. Fruit and coffee all day, waffles in the afternoon, evening supper, all complimentary.
Attentive and helpful staff - if we go to Haugesund again we will book at this hotel.
(One negative remark - which is not very important: They had a couple of announcements in the lobby and in the elevators: Translation into English should have been trusted to someone past 11 yrs ... have you ever "flinged" yourself on a bed, "hopped" into a shower or "laid" a table?

Room Tip: Get a view of the back yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night, conveniently located on the waterfront with bars and restaurants close by. The rooms are a mixed lot, I was provided a small room with a single bed and hardly any space, changed without much fuss when I pointed out that the booking was for a superior double bed room. The hotel rooms have names based on the film industry and they have a good DVD collection for guests. There is a projector in the lobby area to complete the set up. Coffee in the lobby area is available. Breakfast is adequate. Learnt about the complimentary supper but went for dinner at the restaurant close by which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

i have now for the 3 rd, time stayed at this hotel

Great lounge- movies for free rental for dvd player in all rooms. relaxing lounge,
Great located beside all the action of the town-restaurants -pubs-shops
Good fitness and spa-steam-sauna-gym.

i appreciate that the hotel also have complementary evening supper as well as breakfast- all sorts of food i expect by a hotel


At this hotel the rooms are at most importance to check out before accepting the stay
i have been very lucky with 2 room.
These rooms had all the comfort you expect and a pleasant layout in terms of decor and facilities. Great spaced bathrooms


my latest room had several default and i complained about these
regarding 4 light bulbs out of order i was handed new ones in the reception and went up to change these
1 light bulb matched and the other were another standard,which they did not t find.
i was then rewarded a new room

for me this is a lack of check within the cleaning proses,a persons fault,not the hotel.. that is for me important not to se the hotel as the reason for this. but however...
when changing room i was given a room that should have been restored some years ago

furniture and facilities was not what u would expect in 2013 in this hotel chain.i have stayed in Clarion group hotels before in Norway and have always been pleased due to the overall experience.

Room Tip: ask for it in the reception or when booking- i will not book at this hotel online..if so call or wri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Collection Amanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Amanda

Address: Smedasundet 93, Haugesund 5501, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Haugesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Amanda 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Clarion Collection Amanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Haugesund
Haugesund Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Amanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.