We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Accomodation and great conference facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark to your Saves list
Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stathelleveien 35, Langesund 3970, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langesund
Karratha, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality Accomodation and great conference facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Quality Hotel is located very close to water front and has a heated pool( large enough for all fun). Is about 40 mins from Sandefjord airport
Great meeting and cond=ference facilities
Very helpful reception staff

Room Tip: Select room facing water. Wireless internet is available through out the hotel even though weak at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_admin, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Bose J,
Thank you so much for your great review on us. It was a pleasure to have you all here. We don't get too many reviews on our conference facilities, so this is highly appreciated.
Welcome back any time!
Sincerely Caroline Laurhammer
General Manager at Quality Resort Skjærgården
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    19
    15
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my second visit to the country of Norway and I really enjoy finding small towns with great hotels. This hotel is pleasant to stay at. It is geared more towards families but is also nice for couples. The pool area has a water slide, wave pool, and a mushroom waterfall. It also has a Turkish bath and sauna which was a bonus. The rooms are spacious and the beads are very comfortable. This hotel definitely shows its age and will need an upgrade soon. The blow dryers in the bathrooms are silly as they do not blow hot air. But, overall it is a good price for what it has to offer. I also enjoyed petting the sheep and rabbits what were outside the hotel. What a cool bonus.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_admin, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Kristin r,
Thank you so much for your response to your stay with us. Your rating and comments are valuable to us.
I am happy you liked the animals. We extended our "animal park" this year, and we adore our little friends.
Regarding the hair dryers, I know, they are hopeless. We are in the process of changing to new and stronger ones. Thank you for speeding up the process.

I wish you welcome back to Langesund any time!
Yours Sincerely
Caroline Laurhammer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nicely located by the sea, with a big pool/spa activity area, this place could have been good, but...

We had to play play "hide and seek" with the staff in the aqua park, waiting for the simplest service.

The restaurant claimed to have (quote) "..excellent kitchen.... ...preparing the most delicious dishes.."
But on Saturdays they only serve an overpriced and tasteless buffet, and on Sundays they are closed! (Recommending you to order food from a local pizzeria!)

Entering the restaurant, looking forward for a nice Saturday dinner, we found a buffet that was not kept tidy and fresh. We had to go through the remains of salmon to find some attractive pieces.
And the hot dishes where not even hot, but looked as if they had been around for most of the day. Around eight o’clock some of the bread alternatives where already gone.
The amateur waiter looked bored and asked for drink orders without giving us the wine menu.

All in all a big disappointment, and for 325 NOK a person it was a rip-off.
(We expressed our opinion to waiter when we paid, but got absolutely no response..)

The breakfast buffet only confirmed our impression, that the hotel has no reason to be proud of their restaurant!

Slow and uninspired staff and a bad restaurant experience, is not good enough. Especially when the hotel needs some advantages to compensate for the somewhat worn down impression it gives in other areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Jazztrotter,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read about your experience with our restaurant. I wish there was something I could do to make it up to you. Please contact me via our email if there is anything I can do to make up for your bad experience. This is not how it should be, and I know we are better than this. Write to me, Caroline Laurhammer, via our Front Office e-mail: qr.badeparken@choice.no
I hope the rest of your stay in Norway was better, and I thank you again for your time in writing to us.
Sincerely Caroline Laurhammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was our third visit, the first being 15 years ago, the second exactly a year ago and this most recent visit a few days ago. Last year we were disappointed in the lack of ventilation and the outdated furnishings in the family room. This year we were delighted to find that we got one of the renovated family rooms with bunkbeds for our 2 children. Wow! What an improvement. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable however the pillows are pretty poor quality so if you like a firm pillow, I suggest you bring your own as even using 2 of the hotel pillows didn't provide much neck support. The bathroom was adequate but the quality of the shower was poor(virtually no water pressure, almost insufficient to rinse off shampoo) and the toilet paper of the poorest quality imaginable. The ventilation was much improved this year and seems to be timed to come on and off. One little concern in the room is the length of the curtains. These are full-length and in order to have the curtains closed, you need to cover the heater, which clearly states on it that it is a fire hazard to do so..............

The rest of our stay was as before, the kids loved the pool complex and the breakfast and buffet dinner fantastic(if you love seafood). The warm food was very average, nothing outstanding, unlike the seafood selection which is amazing and exceptionally good value for money. At breakfast times however we felt that the restaurant was under-staffed. Several times during our 3-day stay we noticed that things ran out and the guests had to tell the staff to refill. We would have expected that checking the status of juice, milk etc would be standard routine and not reliant on guest feedback. The staff who were there were extremely pleasant and helpfull, can't help wondering if the management are cutting back and that the staff who are there are over-worked and can't do everything that is required to keep things running smoothly? The kids loved the buffet experience and are already asking if we'll going be back next year............One little gripe is the towel situation. Hotel guests have free use of the pool complex which is fantastic, however no extra towels are provided in the rooms. We took our own towels with us as we knew this from before, but feel that it would be a big plus if pool towels(perhaps a different colour) were provided for pool use. Guest could then leave these behind for laundering at the pool at the end of the day. I don't mind bringing my own, but the bathroom just isn't big enough to dry 4 pool towels, 4 bath towels and 4 sets of swimwear.

All in all this is an excellent place to spend a few days with the family and with a few minor improvements could be fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_admin, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Dentiblaesnob,
Thank you for coming back to us! And for giving us such excellent feedback. I am happy you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We renovated november 2011. Regarding curtains, we thought about the same thing, and the manufacturer has guaranteed they are fire proof.
The other issues you are pointing out, are areas for improvement. Your opinions are important to us, and will help us getting better. Being "Barnas Hotell" / Resort for Kids, we are all working to make this a memorable experience for our young guests, and their parents.

I hope we will see you all back soon,
Sincerely
Caroline Laurhammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just returned from 3 nights here at the beginning of the Norwegian Winter holiday week. The kids had a wonderful time, the leisure pool being the hi-light for them. At this time of year when it's 12 minus degrees outside, there isn't much else to do here except be at the pool and enjoy the fact that the air temperature inside there is 31 degrees. Our room, 222 was adequate, yet clearly in need of upgrade. We were here as a couple 15 years ago and the decor hasn't changed since then. Our main gripe with the room was that there was absolutely no ventilation. The first day the central ventilation system seemed to be working, but after that when the hotel was less full, it didn't come on at all, leaving the room stuffy. There was no temperature control in the room either, just a wall heater that wasn't particularly efficient. As far as food goes, breakfast was buffet-style and excellent. The dinner buffet the first night was wonderful and although not cheap, was very good value for money considering the fresh produce and excellent seafood on offer. The kids loved having their own kiddies buffet too. Disappointingly no buffet was available the following nights, presumably due to the fact that there weren't enough guests. The restaurant was open, but without customers, presumably due to the high prices on the the a la carte menu. Luckily there is a decent snack bar that is reasonably priced and serves the usual hot dogs, burgers, pizzas, ice creams etc, so we didn't starve. There is a playroom in the basement, but not particularly interesting for kids over the age of 5. The fact that it is unsupervised means that it's left messy by those kids that are allowed to go there alone, run amok and then 'forget' to tidy up after themselves. All in all a very enjoyable stay. The kids enjoyed the evening activities that were laid on especially for kids. If the kids are happy then the parents are happy too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_admin, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your review on Quality Hotel & Resort Skjærgården. Your feedback is important to us, and we work on improvements. I am happy to inform you that we have upgraded the ventilation since you were here, and we have refurbished 42 of our family rooms. I know about the playroom, and this is something we also plan to improve. I am happy that we have a big waterpark where you can enjoy yourselves in the meantime.
I hope when you come back next time that you will appreciate the renovation that has, and is, taking place at the moment.
Yours Sincerely,
Caroline Laurhammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

The hotel is located about 2 km of downtown Langesund. Buses stop nearby, and there's ample free parking.

The first impressions was not very good. The hotel was probably built in the early 1980s, and it shows. Some refurbishing has been done in the public areas, but the age of the hotel is obvious everywhere.

The hotel's main attraction is the swimming pool resort, which seems to attract lots of groups with children. This permeates the hotel, with children friendly food in the buffet and a playroom in the basement (in a sorry state, but the kids seemed to enjoy it).

The pool area is freely accessible by hotel guests. It has a large, irregular shaped indoor pool with a wave area, some waterfalls, a large and a small slide. The pool connects to an outdoor area which has a circular pool with a circulating water stream (to enhance your swimming effort). There's also a sauna and several small bubble baths. All in all, a good selection, even if parts of it is a bit run-down - wear and rust is obvious.

We got a room located inside/above the pool area which is probably popular with children, but be aware that these rooms are very warm! The aircondition did not work and the windows cannot be fully opened, so we resorted to opening the emergency exits (over the roof) to let some fresh air in.

In other regards, the room was OK. I have slept in better beds, though. The shower was very messy, water gets everywhere. There was an ample suppy of towels, which is nice as pool activities consumes them quickly. No bathrobes or slippers were provided, but a skimpy version of those (non-absorbant fabric) could be bought in the reception.

The food provided in the restaurant was OK, bot not exceptional in any way. I guess there are cheaper (and just as interesting) options downtown.

The staff was adequate and mostly friendly - one exception happened when a member of our group ate in the restaurant just after arrival. She asked to have the bill added to her room bill, which her waiter refused as she found no evidence in the computer system that she was a hotel guest. Even when she showed the waiter her room key it was demanded that she paid upfront. This was only sorted out when it was requested that the restaurant called the reception to confirm her status as a guest.

All in all, this is an OK resort for families and groups, but probably not where you'd like to go as an independent traveller. There are other options in the area which will be more interesting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_admin, Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear Blazius,
Thank you for spending time to write such a detailed review on our hotel. We appreciate it, and we will make sure we look at the things we can improve. It is true the hotel was built in early 1980's, and we have done several improvements in the years passed. The aquapark was refurbished last September 2009, and we are proud of the new appearance.
We are continously working on improving the kitchen, and the last year we have tried out different concepts. I hope if you return, you will find many improvements.
Thank you again, and welcome back at any stage.
Yours Sincerely
Caroline, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Looks like they try too hard. They had too much activity going on. Lots of children pleasures, but not all was working.

We have a girl with gluten allergy, and the hotel could not enough about this. In the evenig we tried to join the barbecue buffet, but have to leave after we asked some control questions. They had no control, even though we informed them ahead.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_admin, Manager at Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear Ryfylke,
Thank you for your time and effort in writing us a review. It is very important to us to hear your opinions.
I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding your child. This is something we take very seriously, and especially today when many people have allergies. We will make sure this not happen again to other guests.
We are a family oriented hotel, and in the summer we have lots of activites going on. We have pets, inflatables, an employee in charge of activites for children and many more. We are one of few Resorts in Norway that provide this many activites for children.
Thank you again for your review, and your feedback.

Yours Sincerely
Caroline, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark

Address: Stathelleveien 35, Langesund 3970, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Bamble Municipality > Langesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the 161 pleasant rooms in the hotel have a shower. TV, telephone and minibar. Special family and handicap rooms. The hotel with all facilities hav a lot to offer both family and buisness guests - whether the purpose is recreation, events or conferences. Your room key allows access to all the facilities the large indoor and outdoor park of 4000 m2 - swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam bath, saunas,solariums and waveball. Imagine a swim in 31 C - outdoor - midwinter, when the frost mist surrounds the Langoytangen lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nordic Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel & Resort Skaergarden Badepark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.