We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dhseig cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benmore Estate

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gruline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benmore Estate
Save
You added Benmore Estate to your Saves list
Benmore Estate, Gruline PA71 6HT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dhseig cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had booked the chalet , but where offered the cottage at no extra cost!
Stunningly beautiful views, warm and cozy home from home , with everything we needed for a fantastic weeks holiday.Comfy beds, lovely linens, great wood burner( keep the vents almost closed if you have not used one before, other wise you will boil the water!).
Lovely neighbors who work on the estate, fab local knowledge and very kind and helpful.Very secluded and quite, we had no problems with the track up to the cottage and we do not have a 4x4.
All in all a gorgeous place to stay, very narrow stairs which may be a problem for elderly or infirm people, did not bother us but had my parents been with us this would have been my only worry.
Kimberley in the office was very helpful.
The whole estate is stunning for walking and wildlife spotting, we never failed to see Otters, White tailed sea eagles, golden eagles, Buzzard etc etc etc!

Thank you for a fabulous holiday

Room Tip: Some lovely cottages on the estate , Dhseig has the best location and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first holiday on Mull and it was a huge relief after a long journey to arrive at such a lovely holiday cottage. The pictures online do not do justice to Bridge Cottage, it was immaculate with really good quality furnishings and very comfy. The setting is stunning, all windows have wonderful views, and everyday from kitchen or lounge window we saw eagles, fallow deer, and occasionally! Great local walks with even more fantastic views. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was our third stay on Benmore Estate. We have stayed previously in the Chalet at Dhseig but upgraded (free) to the Cottage at Dhseig this year. Our expierience is made all the better knowing that the bedding, towels and fabrics will all be of top quality and clean. The furniture and equipment is all to a high standard. We have been visitng Mull for over 20 years and believe me when I say we have considered taking our own bedding after some places we have endured but not when you stay on the Benmore Estate.

The Cottage is up a steep drive that is not tarmac, therefore it needs slow negotiion, we have a Mazda 3 and found it no trouble whatsoever. Despite the previous review - the tap water is pertectly fine - we drank gallons of it for 2 weeks and survived!

The cottage is semi detached, Mary and Neilson occupy the other half of the cottage and both are very kind and helpful. They work on the estate and are a mine of information. We found them to be very friendly and they kept a discreet distance, we hardly noticed them at all and certainly did not find them rude - the exact opposite.

The nearest shop is a small but well stocked supermarket about 6-7 miles away. The nearest pub is the same, although the bar meals are not very good in Salen. Better to go to the Craignure Inn for fish and chips. Fish and Chips on the pier at Tobermory is also a must. The scallpos from Ardmore fish in Salen are to die for. Try the Boathouse on Ulva too - excellent menu from whatever is caught that day.

We will definitely be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleaford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This is our third visit to the Benmore Estate, Knock,Isle of Mull. We already have a further week booked to return this autumn. The location is beautiful, the area suitably away from the busy (if Mull roads get busy) roads. Wildlife abounds especially deer and birds. Within half an hour of arrival we had a Sea Eagle soaring above the cottage's.
The cottages are Well equipped with everything that you will ever need. Cleaned before arrival everything was perfect down the biscuits waiting to be eaten.
The locals especially the estate staff are lovely, they are often very busy and have little time to spare but never the less we found them approachable and having lived in the area for some time knowledgeable about the area.
Deer visit the cottages nightly along with the early morning 'Baa' from the local sheep helping themselves to the garden grass make it special.
I would highly recommend the area and especially the cottages to all. it is quiet and out of the way and for those wanting a hectic holiday i would suggest Blackpool. If you want a holiday then this is the place. Just a shame it is so very far away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Dhiseig cottage is a beatiful cottage on the slopes of Benmore. It has the potential to be a top quality holiday destination but the service from the letting agents is poor. They don't tell you that the water needs to be boiled before you can drink it so take care if you have young children. Neither do they tell you about the fact that the cottage is split into two, one half being inhabited by a couple of estate staff who make the paying guests feel most unwelcome. If you're thinking about fishing on the Estate Loch check whether the bigger house (Knock Lodge) has been let first. Watch out!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmore Estate

Address: Benmore Estate, Gruline PA71 6HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Gruline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gruline
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benmore Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.