We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent base for a northern lights hunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Alta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Alta to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Alta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Labyrinten 6, Alta 9510, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent base for a northern lights hunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Friends and i stayed at this hotel in Feb 2012 - we went to the area to try and catch a glimpse of the northern lights.
Hotel was very comfortable and the staff were excellent. It was situated close to the tourist information office which made things so much easier for us given the 'brisk' weather.
Frees tea and coffee always a bonus in my book.
would recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
22
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in a room with a reasonably good view of the fjord. With the lights off, I managed to watch the northern lights from my room (see phots)!! The room and bathroom were spacious and I even had a kitchenette that allowed me to heat and microwave my own food. The bedding was much more comfortable. To cap it all off, I only paid about 20% more than what I paid for Thon's budget hotel at Tromso. The room itself was easily 80% better.

The front office staff was equally friendly, but only just slightly less so than thier counterparts at Tromso, who could be descibed as chattier.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very nice hotel. Good central location right next to the main shopping centre and close to restaurants and all ammentieis. Well organised tourist activities nearby and pick up from hotel or next door.

Rooms were very clean and with all ammenties. No tea coffee provision in the room but did have it in the lobby where the coffee was excellent!

Breakfast was ok but included in the pizza restaurant adjacent to the lobby. You can also walk straight into the shopping centre via this link without having to go outside. A good base hotel for exploring the local area with a better location than all others. The Rica is also next door so I guess the choice is between Thon and Rica - both are equally as good.

Room Tip: All have great views of the mountains. Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

It's only a year old and very nice. Clean and spacious rooms. My room had ironing-board, but no water boiler. It seems like they have different kinds of rooms here. I had a room in the 6th floor and the view was very nice. There is a swimming hall and fitness center right outside the hotel and you can even walk there via the parking lot in the basement.
The breakfast is in the Peppes pizza restaurant, a traditional breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finnmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

This is my third stay here at thon Alta, and everything haas ben perfect every time. All rooms have tea kitchens with water boiler, microwave and cooking plates, which is quite unique for this type of hotel. You can walk indoors to Amfi shopping mall, and you can even walk via the underground parking lot to Nordlysbadet swimming hall.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

The rooms are a good size, with very comfortable beds and a practical bathroom. My room also had a small sitting-group and a desk.
I really like to have a power-outlet on or under the bedside-table, but that is sadly missing in my room.
There is also no ironing-board or trouser-press in the room.
There was also a very unecessarry mix-up with my reservation; I am currently travelling as a part of a big group, in which my sister is also a part. I was quite surprised when the door to my room suddenly opened, and my sister was standing there...
They had probably assumed that since we share our last names, we would also share a room. But as you may know: to assUme, makes an As# of U and Me... :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I ordered a single room and got a spacious double room (two separate beds), which was spacious, clean and had everything I needed. The breakfast was an average norwegian hotel breakfast buffet, nothing exceptional (but still pretty good compared to most hotel breakfasts I've encountered in Southern Europe or Northern America). Sentrally locaded. Would definitely consider staying there again if I'm visiting Alta once more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Alta

Address: Labyrinten 6, Alta 9510, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.