We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel in the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Alta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Alta to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Alta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Labyrinten 6, Alta 9510, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Tromsø
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel in the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The rooms are a good size, with very comfortable beds and a practical bathroom. My room also had a small sitting-group and a desk.
I really like to have a power-outlet on or under the bedside-table, but that is sadly missing in my room.
There is also no ironing-board or trouser-press in the room.
There was also a very unecessarry mix-up with my reservation; I am currently travelling as a part of a big group, in which my sister is also a part. I was quite surprised when the door to my room suddenly opened, and my sister was standing there...
They had probably assumed that since we share our last names, we would also share a room. But as you may know: to assUme, makes an As# of U and Me... :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    56
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
28
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I ordered a single room and got a spacious double room (two separate beds), which was spacious, clean and had everything I needed. The breakfast was an average norwegian hotel breakfast buffet, nothing exceptional (but still pretty good compared to most hotel breakfasts I've encountered in Southern Europe or Northern America). Sentrally locaded. Would definitely consider staying there again if I'm visiting Alta once more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

10 out of 10. Director Linda Heltne and her team treat their guests to a service of excellence. We had a group of 26 Austrian Harley-Davidson riders and the Thon Hotel was our base camp for three days on our trips to the North Cape and Hammerfest. Bikers generally, and Harley-Davidson riders in particular, have special requirements, and all our wishes were fulfilled in an absolutely professional and uncomplicated way.
So if you travel to Alta, and I strongly recommend you do, please stay nowhere else than in this outstanding hotel and enjoy the beautiful new rooms, the opulent breakfast buffet and the incomparable kindness of the staff, all in the most magnificent of settings.
We will be back in July 2012….

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Thon Hotel Alta is conveniently located, my bed was extremely comfortable (a Thon Hotel trademark) and the lady at the front desk was extremely helpful. The only drawback is that breakfast is served at the adjoining Peppe's Pizza Restaurant. But if you like this style food, it should be fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This hotel is brand new with modern, elegant interior. Rooms are medium size, with a small sitting group, desk and tv. The bathrooms are quite big. Everything is new and modern. The breakfast was average for a Norwegian business hotel, i.e. with a good selection of eggs, sossages, bread etc. The breakfast room doubles as a pizza restaurant in the evenings.

Prices are lower in the weekends.

The reception lady was nice and helpful.

Alta is one of many Norwegian small towns where the city planners are really fed up with the beautiful nature. They have made a brand new town center which remined me slightly of an American small town, where all nature has been laid under concrete and asphalt and the buildings are spread more or less coincidentally around. In beautfiful Finnmark county, Alta sentrum is easily the single ugliest place. But it's central, with malls, bus station and VERY expensive cafés.

The Thon hotel lies in the middle of the maze (in Labyrinth street) and is - given the context - nice.

Olav Thon owns many hotels, office buildings and restaurants in Norway and other countries. He is among Norway's riches men, and his hotels are known as somewhat spartan, although clean and decent enough. The new Thon hotel in Alta is a nutch more elegant than his other venues, and could be recommended for a single night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Alta

Address: Labyrinten 6, Alta 9510, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Alta 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Alta is a new and modern hotel located in the city center, close to Alta Airport and the right next to the busstation. The hotel has large and bright rooms with nice views over the city center or Altafjord. Some of the rooms have a kitchenette where you can cook simple meals and it is also possible to upgrade to mini suites. A short distance from the hotel you will find AMFI Alta, a large shopping centre as well as restaurants, bars and other cultural sights. We also have indoor access to Nordlysbadet, an indoor swimmingcomplex with spa and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.