We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trivelig midt-på-treet sted/Nice and simple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfa Omega

Alfa Omega
Markedsgata 14/16, Alta, Norway
78 44 54 00/78 44 54 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Alta
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trivelig midt-på-treet sted/Nice and simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

On a hot May afternoon, sitting outside with a cold Bayer and a very good burger was a perfect choice. Yes it was hot, that happens up there too :-) Reasonable value for money and friendly services from very busy waiter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What makes you survive the Arctic Winter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Came to Alta in December as I searched for the Northern Lights for 3 days. Believe it or not i ate at alfa omega every day for lunch and dinner!!! The service and Ambience are excellent and the food is remarkable. All the dishes are great but if you want to survive the arctic cold and put hair on your chest.... you have to eat the Ole Mattis Hætta... Every time I ate this dish I ran out of the restaurant half naked feeling like a true viking! Eat it! You will thank me later!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and My boy friend stayed there 2 times and we really enjoyed the food and the place! With an honest price compared all the other restaurants!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PO21 1HW
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“doing the Northern Lights?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

then you may find yourselves spending some time in Alta, for huskies, snowmobiling and the ice hotel. In the centre of Alta is this unpretentious restaurant. Friendly service-they have an English menu-almost every Norwegian speaks English anyway. There were far more locals than foreigners in the restaurant, which in terms of atmosphere is fairly basic. Food in Norway is amazingly expensive - best not to translate in to £s! We had four excellent burgers with all the trimmings, and four 33cl bottles of beer. Burgers about £23, beers about £7-50. Just hand over your credit card and don't think-nowhere else is cheaper. We were on a cruise and like to get some local colour; cheapskates go back to the boat to eat. It's free, innit?
Not a lot to do, but don't miss the amazing cathedral. The rest is mainly shopping arcades.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food is very tasty (main dish and deserts)
You can taste local specialties
The restaurant itself is not really stylish but the food is very good as I said.
Quite expensive as always in Norway...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfa Omega also viewed

Alta, Alta Municipality
Alta, Alta Municipality
 
Alta, Alta Municipality
 

Been to Alfa Omega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfa Omega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.