We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa to your Saves list
GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Helsinki-Vantaa Airport | Terminal 2, Vantaa 01530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
-
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“What a location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location is perfect. We had a morning flight. It was possible to leave luggage to the flight in the evening and in the morning it was easy to access staraght the security control. Breakfast was great and lots of different choices.

The room was clean, but a bit odd without a window. Room was a bit too warm too. Basic bathroom without a bathtub. Some noise/smell during the night.

A grocery store, cafes upstairs, so easy to buy something to eat in the evening.

Service was friendly. Thanks.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from the room. You will like the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
38
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel GLO Helsinki Airport for one night recently. It was very convenient as it is located right inside Terminal 2 of the Helsinki Airport. It was a little on the expensive side and we paid just over 183 euros for the night. The beds were very comfortable as were the duvets. The room was very small, just big enough for a bed with two nightstands and a desk with a TV. The shower stall was also quite small and very easy to bump your elbows. We figured out finally how the light switches worked after feeling around the walls that you have to insert your hotel room key into the slot by the door which will then turn on the lights. There are no windows in the rooms which cam make you feel a little claustrophobic. We took the option of having a breakfast included in the price of the room which was worth the extra 5 euros and it was an all you can eat buffet. There is free Wifi and there is also a computer with Wifi near the front desk that you can use free of charge. In addition, you can have use of the sauna if you make a reservation at the front desk. The only complaint we had was at check in. There were a few men at the bar which is right next to the front desk and we had to wait for quit some time to check in and it was already well past midnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Torontonians_10,
Thank you for investing your time and reviewing our property. Please accept my apologies about the inconvenience you went through during you late-check in. I´m glad to read that you found our beds comfortable, hopefully you had a proper rest before you journey continued. Welcome back to GLO next time you are visiting Finland!

With Best,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rooms are tiny and very badly insulated. Price is not up to expectations. Someone commented on the perfect location but there is no excuse to stay here with the cheaper and much nicer hilton located next door. You can hear everything around you in to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Tuomas H,
Thank you for review and your comments about our hotel. My apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We will take a closer look about noise issue you mentioned in order to determine the cause of it.

All the best,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Yes, there are no windows in the room. Yes, the room is tiny, the bathroom even tinier. I wouldn't stay there for my holiday, or for two nights in a row. But, then again, that is NOT the purpose of this hotel. If you need a place to sleep after a late flight, or before a very early flight, you just can't beat this location. It is literally only a few steps to/from your plane, in the terminal. And the beds are excellent.
We have stayed there twice, and will stay there in the future, too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear PirjoP,

Thank you for your review. You are definitely right about the fact that our location in the Airport is hard to beat; between flight connections many travelers want to stay as close the boarding gate as possible. We are very delighted that you´ve found our services handy and helpful during your travel. Looking forward welcoming you back in near future!

Behalf of GLOteam,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of the terminal so convenient for late or very early flight. Rooms have no windows which is really bad.breakfast at a nearby cantina is horrible. For the same price you better stay at Hilton and have proper breakfast and nice big room with a nice big bathroom. At glo the bathroom is so small you can hardly turn around in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at Helsinki Airport after a late flight and booked the GLO hotel based on the lovely boutique look from the website. Be warned, the hotel is nothing like this. The hotel lobby is literally in the middle of the terminal building, with airport cafes surrounding it. The bar and reception are one. When you go through, there is just a long dark corridor. The room had no windows. My room had the added benefit of being half way through being painted. It reeked of paint and a ladder and other equipment had been left in the room. At 130 euros for the night, I felt cheated...I would not pay more than 50 euros for this hotel. You had to go to reception to get a code for the wireless and there is no restaurant - they give you a voucher for an airport restaurant.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear nicolevharris,

Thank you for your review about our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. You are indeed correct that our hotel is the only airport hotel located inside the terminal building. I feel sad when reading that you felt our websites are misleading. We definitely aim for truthful communication and will take a closer look for the issues this review brought up. At the moment of your stay we haven´t had any maintenance work in progress inside our guest bedrooms, the ladders are a standard item inside a guest room which has also upper bed in it.
Once more deepest apologies behalf of whole GLO team.

Yours,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very nice location at airport, foreign flights take place just on the next floor above the hotel. Very kind staff. Almost noiseless clean rooms. Minimum-size bathroom but all necessaries available. Very good breakfast. In the very nearhood grocery open for 24 hours a day. Lobby bar available. No serious complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa

Address: Helsinki-Vantaa Airport | Terminal 2, Vantaa 01530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How does it sound to continue your trip refreshed and after a good rest? GLO Hotel Airport is the only hotel inside the actual airport building. It is located in terminal 2’s service floor, and from there you can also access the terminal 1 by foot along inside walkway in two minutes. So whether you are travelling on an early flight or waiting in between your flights, this is definitely the best place to relax while waiting. We have just expanded the hotel and we can now offer 76 functional and modern rooms for travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Gateway Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.