We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never pick it by choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Airport to your Saves list
Cumulus Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Robert Huberin tie 6, Vantaa 01510, Finland (Formerly Ramada Hotel Helsinki Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would never pick it by choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had the misfortune of being sent here by Finnair due to flight delays. We checked in at 8pm with our two very young children, only to be told that the restaurant had decided not to accept anyone until 10pm. (This was apparently because of the influx of people from the delayed flight). I approached the restaurant staff several times to try and get something for the kids as they were hungry and we had been assured by Finnair we would get dinner at the hotel. Each time I was either told no very bluntly and they had other people to serve or just completely ignored. The staff at reception couldn't even help by telling me if there was a place nearby we could go to. In the end, I had to resort to pre-packaged sandwiches from their kiosk which had been sitting there the whole day and were soggy and disgusting and a few salads. My kids went to bed having eaten a few bits of tomato and lettuce.
The room itself is dated, cold and the beds are uncomfortable. I would never ever stay here by choice, the staff are very unhelpful and unfriendly and the accommodation isn't much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    67
    20
    13
See reviews for
32
22
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel has good style'' cold'' in the structure and in furnishing and temperature. Perfect if you are traveling on business and looking for accommodation close to the airport. The rate for a single room is 'high (€ 135) but in line with other hotels in Finland. There 's also a free shuttle service to the airport and high-speed internet free wifi. The restaurant 'mediocre, if there are many people the waiting time is high (almost an hour to eat a second, but they honestly have reversed the cost of the dish).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is fine but accepts dogs but has no rules about this. The owners leave their dogs in their rooms and the dogs bark continuously. I changed room but then another dog was barking. Also, I was travelling to another city in Finland and the receptionist instructed me (insisted on) to go the wrong bus stop. I missed the bus and had to go back to the airport to take another bus. Because of this I was 1 hr late. This was unacceptable, that they can have people giving out the wrong travel information. At least they could have inquired about the information somewhere, instead of insisting. I found the personnel incompetent and uninterested in helping guests.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! Barking dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Mom always taught me, "If you can't say something nice about somebody, don't say anything at all." Mom's about to turn a chipper 85 next month, so let's see how I can phrase this in the most glowing terms possible.

If the Finns were mining for a clever strategy to discourage anybody from spending more than a day or so in their country, but to gouge them while they're here at rates that would make a high-class hooker blush, they've struck the mother-lode. Onneksi olkoon, dudes!

Seasoned travelers such as myself (48 countries and counting) understand that airport-hotel comestibles will always fetch a premium price. But $9 for small bag of potato chips? $21 for a packaged sandwich? Reminds me of the old Poker adage: "If you can't tell who the sucker is, you're it." And we're not talking in-room mini-bar, here, folks (THAT was as empty as Mother Hubbard's Cupboard).

This hotel is, indeed, close to Helsinki airport. But San Quentin is near San Francisco, and affords better dining hours. Cumulus' restaurant is closed most of the day, so if you're hungry, the prison-quality convenience store stuff at the front desk is your only choice. Credit cards and second mortgages gladly accepted.

Worst of all, there's no CHOICE. The hotel next door and its restaurant have caught on to the same scheme: lure 'em close with a reasonable room price; gaff 'em when they take a bite.

If you suck in a big breath and enter during daylight hours, you'll be able to move around the clean, if spartan rooms with only modest danger of stubbing a toe or cracking a knee on something hard and sharp. The bed was serviceable, after a fashion ("Late Rollaway"). The wall-mounted liquid soap and shampoo were a nice touch, and the hairdryer really blows (not in a bad way). The towels were as thin as Britney Spears' latest release, but undoubtedly fresher.

You want service? Go to church. At noon on a recent Saturday, the "vibe" of the hotel is a bit like an Ikea makeover of the Los Angeles County morgue.

I can see mom giving me the 'evil eye.' As others here have pointed out, the place isn't "poor" - it's just that, value-wise, I think it's a bit below average. You'd be better dropping a few extra Euros for the Hilton, which is actually AT the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Free shuttle bus connection every ?20 min for airport to this and neighbouring airport hotels, the last after 1 AM. Bus connection to Helsinki downtown, nearest bus stop some 500 m away. Breakfast possible from ca 4 AM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

All OK but the restaurant lets this hotel down magnificently. The food is over priced for what you get and the service is in need of a professional review. Although I only stayed 2 nights I didn't get the feeling that I was received a one off for bad service and therefore have to mention it in this review. In general the hotel is good, clean, friendly reception, reasonably priced and close to the airport but please review the restaurant from all angles (saying that breakfast was fine although this was included in the room price). For Helsinki this is also OK as a short, 10 mins, walk under the highway gets you to the bus stop which is pleasant 25 mins journey into the city - the reception were extremely helpful explaining how to find the highway passage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I arranged a half day meeting at this hotel and stayed 2 nights. Meeting facility was perfect with all necessary equipments. Also service for the meeting (lunch-coffee etc.) worked very well, exactly as agreed. Room itself is not very interesting, basic room but no complains. Location is perfect and they offers free shuttle bus to airport every 15mins. Also parking is free of charge at their parking area. Very big gym in downstairs and sauna of course. Food quality at restaurant was average, lunch better than a lá carte in the evening. Breakfast ok, large variation of food available. Price/night ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumulus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Airport

Address: Robert Huberin tie 6, Vantaa 01510, Finland (Formerly Ramada Hotel Helsinki Airport)
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cumulus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Airport Hotel Vantaa
Ramada Hotel Vantaa
Ramada Helsinki Airport
Ramada Vantaa
Vantaa Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumulus Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.