We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hertaksentie 2, Vantaa 01300, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Porvoo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Party hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Convenient location for train travellers - right next to Tikkurila railway station. Check-in was efficient with a friendly service. The whole interior has seen its better days years ago. Rooms are shabby with old-fashioned carpets and worn-out furniture. However, if you are looking for a dancing party with music blasting well past midnight then this may well be the right place. Breakfast was not available when it was supposed to even with the rather late opening time (6:30 a.m.). The room rate was high during my stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the show restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
9
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Situated only 7kms from the airport, and easily accessible by airport bus- number 61, The hotel Sokos Vantaa is also conveniently located next to a mainline train station and a train to central Helsinki takes under 15 minutes. Trains run through the night. Very handy for airport and city, and escaping further into the Finnish countryside.
The hotel reception staff were exceptionally helpful, although there is no telephone in the bedrooms, there is a phone at the reception desk where you can make phone calls for free. There is also free internet access and use of computers in a small business centre.
Breakfast was buffet style with quite a large and plentiful selection to choose from. The hotel is quite lively in the evening and has regular entertainment, a pub and a nightclub, though bedrooms are very quite. The hotel also has a gym and sauna - which wasan added bonus. My only small criticism was that bedrooms looked a little tired round the edges and perhaps a makeover is not too far away. However, that aside a good hotel with good access to the airport and the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everything I needed was there!! Excellent service, early breakfast OK. Location super, near by airport and good transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel's location is great, practially on the doorstep of the railway station with connections to Helsinki, northern Finland and even Russia! The hotel is a 15 minute bus ride from Helsinki airport - you can use the Air Shuttle, it stops right outside the railway station, in the shadows of the hotel. Cost 2.7 Euros, when a taxi would cost 25 Euros!

The Hotel is welcoming and has good facilities such as a resturant and bar which are open to locals as well.

The rooms I think are a little dated and tired. They were clean, but the furniture is showing signs of wear and tear and this lets it down. Rooms are well equipped, flat screen TV with a few English channels, desk, wardrobe, mirror. Water temperature in the bathroom was lovely and the shower was easy to use.

Downsides: If you are staying on a Friday night, be warned there is a 80's style kareoke bar inside the hotel which attracts people from all over Helsinki. Talking to Finnish people, the hotel is renowned for this venue! I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where there are bouncers, as opposed to doormen. Ideally they should think about having a separate entrance for this I think so that it does not keep disrupting the hotel's operation. My room was on the fourth floor, so I did not get disturbed by noise too much.

Breakfast was plentiful; hot and cold options, a buffet all-you-can-eat arrangement.

As my business was in the city centre, I think I would have preferred to stay closer to the city for the extra Euros it would have cost as there are not many bars/ restaurant or shopping options near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenokkerzeel, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a business trip. The first impression was positive, friendly staff and the hotel is very big for a relative small town.
The reception informed me about their Mexican restaurant, but they also gave me a map where I could find other places for dinner.
The room was clean but a bit 80ish. A squeegee to use after a shower did the job, but is not what I expected in a hotel of this price range.
The hotel has some facilities if you don't want to go out and stay in the hotel, like a karaoke bar where the DJ is singing on stage, a bit out of tune :-) and it conflicts with the rock music of the bar where you can play several (payable) games.
The hotel has a sauna and a well equipped fitness area.

In the morning you have breakfast in the discotheque, so if you feel very fit in the morning, let's dance!

Room Tip: Although the hotels has a karaoke and a rock bar, I couldn't hear it in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Location of the hotel is good. Few steps to railway station to go to Helsinki or north and bus stop to airport. Buffet breakfast is good. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable but soundproofing is not good.
Hotel has a well known and very popular "discoclubrestaurant", Tulisuudelma, which is straight from eighties. Hotel and its discoclub is called "the biggest inland cruise ship".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel couple of times before because of my employer made the reservation. Previously it hasn't been very good, but it seems that this hotel has done some kind of facelift. I stayed friday-Sunday and service was good, even the food (which was average or a bit below average) was served quickly. This was major improvement. Service came with smile. And something has happened to restaurants because music didn't disturb sleep anymore.
After this experience I actually might consider recommending this hotel. And the location right next to railway station is excellent. One can come right out of the train with all luggage and step in to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa

Address: Hertaksentie 2, Vantaa 01300, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vantaa Sokos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.