We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home in Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ralssitie 2, Vantaa 01510, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Yockleton, Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stay here a lot whenever I come through Helsinki, the hotel is good, rooms fine, Staff are good and restaurant good, have enjoyed some good meals there. Breakfast is excellent, miss it to catch the early flights so nice when you can have one in the hotel, evening meals are also good. New menu and specials during this visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    151
    109
    17
    11
See reviews for
21
71
62
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Checked in at 21:30 and out at 05:45, did not take breakfast.

Platinum ambassador so was given an executive room, spacious room, bed was comfortable, TV was massive... 48"(?)... shower was nice and powerful but the whole bathroom floor gets flooded by the shower, poor design, could use some sort of lip to contain the water, instead you are provided with a squeegee mop. Toiletries decent.

You can leave your car at the hotel if you want, €7 per day or €35 / week. There are free shuttle busses to the airport every 20 minutes(?), instead we chose to drive to park at the airport's P4 carpark, which is closer to the airport and has buses every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIStaffMember, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear mhbarker,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for your loyalty as our Platinum Ambassador member. I'm sorry that we couldn't quite meet all the expectations during your stay because of the shower experience. We are planning to install new shower walls to fix this problem as soon as possible to make your future stays more comfortable.

Once again thank you for your loyalty as a Platinum Ambassador. I wish you warmly welcome to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport in the near future!

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days. This is a nice option if you have a early flight. I enjoyed the location. It was very quiet away from the road. The check in was very efficient. The young women working there was very friendly.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport.
The restaurant was very good. This was a big surprise. By the time I got to my hotel it was after 10 pm. I did not feel like leaving the hotel at this late hour and wanted to have a nice dinner. So many times when I go to eat at hotels the food is average at best. The food here was excellent and was possibly one of the better meals, if not the best meal I had while in Finland. I ordered the "Taste of Finland" which included an appetizer of Whitefish served three ways, the main course was reindeer stew and the desert was made with cloudberries.
The room was very big by European standards. The bed was very comfortable. The TV had plenty of English channels.
If you need go to the city center there is a bus that runs right by the hotel that will take you into the center. You can also take to the free shuttle to the airport and then from the airport take the Finnair bus directly into the city center.
A great choice if you need a hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times during a 3 month project in Vantaa area. I selected the hotel due to its location.
Once I got a room with no heating, but all other stays were ok.

The restaurant is ok, but service can be a little slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIStaffMember, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Lars B,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experiences with us. I'm glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us in most parts. Though, I apologize the issues you mentioned in your review. We will do our best to avoid these happening again.

Once again thank you for writing your review and hopefully see you soon again with us!

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California, United States
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice and quiet, extremely clean and well kept-up. Convenient to the Helsinki airport and good shopping and restaurants.

Shower, however, soaks the whole small bathroom even with the curtain drawn.

Full double bed, not the European type that separates down the center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIStaffMember, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear William D,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. The comments from our guests are of great importance for us as they help us to improve our services.

Thank you for your kind words and we wish to see you again on your next visit in Helsinki area.

Sincerely,

Jaana R.
In-House Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Good restaurant located in the hotel and even a small gym makes the stay here enjoyable. The rooms are quite a bit smaller than in the closely located Flamingo hotel but rates are a bit cheaper and it is also located little close to the airport.

They have airport shuttles in the morning.

Excellent stay if you are in a business meeting in the Vandaa area and/or flying early and need to be at the airport within short notice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIStaffMember, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Tobiasm1975M,

Thank you for your recent visit at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport and for writing a review of your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you have found our hotel's amenities and location convenient for your travel needs.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and wish you a lovely summer.

Sincerely,

Jaana R.
In-House Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is situated close to the airport and has free parking and provides a better alternative for those who have a car, than staying in central Helsinki where the parking charges are very heavy and you have to pay until 21.00 !
The room is small but comfortable. The water pressure in the shower is excellent but the entire bathroom floor gets completely inundated which is very unpleasant.
The hotel restaurant, Bistro Fiore, serves excellent food but the service is remarkably similar to that in Fawlty Towers, with waitresses who speak poor English and misunderstand everything. After ordering I waited patiently for an hour before enquiring whether the cook had tragically died. The waitress looked clueless and said there was no record of my ordering anything. The chief waitress, summoned post haste, decently told me I could reorder and it would be complimentary.
The following evening I went for another meal. I ordered, then the waitress came back to say she’d forgotten what I had ordered and would I be so kind as to repeat it. I asked for a glass of wine (the menu offered either a glass of 12 cl or a bottle of 75 cl). She asked me if I wanted a large glass or a small one. I replied that there was only one size. She said no, there was a 12 cl glass or a 75 cl glass ! I had asked for additional potatoes because the previous evening there had been just a small, nouvelle-cuisine sized portion. Another waitress proudly brought my plate… with no potato at all. However there arrived an additional plate with a small portion of potato on it. She said “Here is your steak – with the potato served separately as requested !” LOL. At a nearby table the waitress brought menus to a pair of men who informed her that she’d already taken their order.
I heartily recommend this restaurant to those bored businessmen and women, eating alone, who want a jolly good laugh during their meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIStaffMember, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review concerning your experiences of staying at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have found our location and parking facilities convenient. Satisfaction of our guests is extremely important for us and we are continuously aiming to develop our service. The feedback received from our guests has a high role in this development. Therefore, we appreciate that you have brought the inconveniences you experienced during your stay into our attention. We truly apologize that we have not been able to meet our high quality standards with the service in the restaurant. Please accept our sincerest apologies for it. We will take corrective actions based on your feedback.

We hope see you as our valued guest if you will be visiting Finland also in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaana R
In-House Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Address: Ralssitie 2, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel is the best value for money to stay near the Helsinki Airport (HEL) in Vantaa. Our free shuttle bus takes you in 5 minutes from door to door from and to the airport! Located just 25 minutes from the Helsinki City Centre, with ample parking space, the hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. All rooms have been renovated during 2009 and are equipped with a fully fitted bathroom, satellite and pay TV, mini-bar and air conditioning. High Speed Internet and WiFi are accessible in the entire building for free of charge. Spacious Executive rooms are equipped with separate dressing room and are also designed for families with children. Meet and relax at the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport! The hotel offers meeting and breakout rooms, all with daylight, free internet access and first class equipment. Please contact the hotel directly for a tailor-made meeting package Restaurant Bistro Fiore offers a variety of taste full Finnish and European dishes. Bar Fiore is great place for you to relax after a long flight or hard day. The hotel forms a part of the Aviapolis Business District. Helsinki Fair Centre and Hartwall Arena 15 mins drive. Keilaniemi business park 25 mins. We look forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport Hotel Vantaa
Helsinki Holiday Inn
Vantaa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.