We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ralssitie 2, Vantaa 01510, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Oulu, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice, clean, and comfortable airport hotel. They have air conditioned rooms, basic amenities and OK breakfast, and Helsinki airport is a quick 10 minute free bus ride away. There is absolutely nothing of interest close by, but then again, it's all good since this is a hotel you only come to sleep for a night in between flights.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reijo Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

we are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again in Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    151
    110
    17
    11
See reviews for
21
71
62
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elanora, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arriving in Finland after 42 hours of travelling and meeting, this classic Holiday Inn was a welcome sight. And just a 5 minute drive from the airport, it was unbelievably convenient for the weary traveller.

The rooms are small and functional with minimal frills, but when you're asleep who cares...
A good breakfast with plenty of choice including some local staples was well received the following morning, as was the free Wifi throughout the hotel.

The surrounding area is typical of any international airport, although there was a large shopping centre within walking distance - I didn't visit, just noticed it on my 3am run in the midnight sun!

In summary, perfect for one short night but not a destination hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is a typical classical holiday Inn and the first night in finnland, we did spend there for relax after the long Flight. It is located near the Airport Helsinki Vantaa and there was a Hoteltransfer available. Especially we have to say, that the employee at this Holiday Inn had been very friendly throughout our Visit there and that was very nice. Good and nice decorated Breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RYonemoto, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear MrHolidaygo8,

thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm especially delighted to hear your positive thoughs about our staff. We hope to see you soon again in Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!

With best regards,
Reijo Yonemoto, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Being a Priority Club member I always stay at Holiday Inns, and on my frequent visits to Helsinki it has in the past been at the Holiday Inn near the bus and railway stations.
This time however because of a late arrival at the airport and a scheduled early departure by train I elected to stay at this one, and I'm so glad that I did. And I will do so on all my future visits.
Let me explain why.
First there is the free shuttle between the Airport and the hotel every 20 minutes, saving the fare and long trip into the city.
The rooms are large and have all the facilities one needs and the beds comfortable. The bathroom leaves a little to be desired, the shower being cramped and, as has been mentioned by other reviewers, needs to be swabbed to clear the water on the floor; not difficult though, and the cheap daily rate and other advantages certainly compensate for this minor criticism.
So what are the other advantages that encourage me to stay here rather than in the city?
Number one: the ever helpful, friendly staff.
Two: the proximity to two shopping malls if you are only staying for a day or so.
Three: Opposite the hotel you can catch the bus to nearby Tikkurila. It stops at the railway station where you can get the train to the city or any other destination in Finland.
And four: Once again the ever helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was ok in terms of size and aesthetics, and the blackout curtains are very effective, but the TV picks up only a few channels. The restaurant was out of half the items on the menu. Of all the hotel facilities, the saving grace is the sauna.

No one answers the phone here. I had to call several times before someone answered the phone to confirm my reservation. Once I was checked in, I tried to call the front desk for information, and again, no one answered. When I went downstairs, the desk clerk suggested that something might be wrong with the phone in our room.

All in all, not the worst hotel out there, and not terrible for a one-night airport layover. Just manage your expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear SamAndFiona,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmari, Greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a well run hotel. It caters primarily for travellers arriving/departing Helsinki international airport at Vantaa, but could well be considered for a longer stay. There is a courtesy bus to and from the airport with a frequent service. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, doing all they can to make one's stay as pleasant as possible. The surrondings are quite "rural" with a secluded outdoor green area for taking a drink and relaxing - at least in summer! The rooms are spacious with complimentary tea/coffee making facility, minibar and air conditioning. The hotel breakfast is lavish. The restaurant has reasonable prices and the portions of food varied and generous. I have stayed at the 2 other airport hotes - Cumulus and Rantasipi - and rate Holiday Inn superior to these.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Free shuttle bus from and to the airport was convenient, easy to find and reliable with a schedule posted. Usually ran every 20 minutes. Staff was very helpful-- our luggage didn't arrive and they helped with phone calls to locate it. Hotel within walking distance of 2 large malls---something nice to do and good food options there too. Breakfast buffet had a nice variety. Business center was ample and easy to use---especially helpful with our luggage issues. The room (and bed) were fine. The bathroom was my only complaint---the shower! I had to squeegee the floor afterward. We stayed at this hotel on our return to Helsinki---it served our purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear sdelisle,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you found our very central location convenient during your stay and our staff to be helpful.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. We really like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are able to benefit from a relaxing break with us and so I was delighted to read that you were happy with your room, our location, and service. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Address: Ralssitie 2, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel is the best value for money to stay near the Helsinki Airport (HEL) in Vantaa. Our free shuttle bus takes you in 5 minutes from door to door from and to the airport! Located just 25 minutes from the Helsinki City Centre, with ample parking space, the hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. All rooms have been renovated during 2009 and are equipped with a fully fitted bathroom, satellite and pay TV, mini-bar and air conditioning. High Speed Internet and WiFi are accessible in the entire building for free of charge. Spacious Executive rooms are equipped with separate dressing room and are also designed for families with children. Meet and relax at the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport! The hotel offers meeting and breakout rooms, all with daylight, free internet access and first class equipment. Please contact the hotel directly for a tailor-made meeting package Restaurant Bistro Fiore offers a variety of taste full Finnish and European dishes. Bar Fiore is great place for you to relax after a long flight or hard day. The hotel forms a part of the Aviapolis Business District. Helsinki Fair Centre and Hartwall Arena 15 mins drive. Keilaniemi business park 25 mins. We look forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport Hotel Vantaa
Helsinki Holiday Inn
Vantaa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.