We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for Helsinki Airport area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tasetie 8, Vantaa 01510, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vantaa
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good choice for Helsinki Airport area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spend one night in this hotel. My room was standard twin. Room was clean and modern as can assume. Flamingo is great location for leisure attractions which ideal for all traveller types.
Breakfast was good and service level great. Location also next door to airport makes it very good alternative for air travellers also. There was missing shuttle buss connnction to airport but alot of taxis are availlable. I can recommend this hotel to all. I

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo000, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo and your feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.

Welcome again and warm sunny days wishes from us.

Kind regards,
Jaana Kivi
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    159
    51
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
55
16
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Perhaps the I was confused with the local hype surrounding the spa at the same place. I was also a little confused to find that they're different businesses. Even so, I was very disappointed to find that in order to gain entrance to the spa I would have to go to a different place and buy a ticket. With so many guests heading that way, why not set up a system so that hotel guests can buy it all at the same hotel reception desk? Disappointing.

The hotel bedroom was also a disappointment. It's a hard balance to achieve in my view, but minimalist scandinavian style using light coloured woods can look uber chic or super cheap, the Flamingo achieves the latter with ease. It felt cheap from start to finish. Ironically, at a venue where I had imagined fun at the spa, I found myself struggling to clear shampoo from my hair as the shower in the room was next to useless.

As far as dining is concerned there are plenty of choices around the hotel. For our dinner we had booked our group into the hotel's own restaurant and this was nice and the staff helpful and cheerful. Breakfast the next morning however was mild disappointment. Stewed coffee and, in my view, a limited selection. For example if cereals are your breakfast of choice the option was two different types of muesli. OK, but only just above adequate in my view.

If you're visiting offices in the nearby complexes on the other side of Ring III then it's a good business hotel location. It's also a decent alternative as an airport hotel as it's a very short ride from the terminals and yet enjoys more amenities and shops close by than any others in the area. Otherwise, if you're simply looking for a hotel on the periphery of Helsinki and Vantaa then you may well find more inspiring stays.

Room Tip: A few dining options in the nearby shopping centre - not fine dining but decent fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice combination of shopping and relax. Parking is free. A lot of cafe and restorans by the same roof. WiFi works good in most of the rooms.
Unfortunatly they have no shattle servis to and from airport.

Room Tip: Take a higher floors to have the best city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

You have spa and big shopping mall in the same building and that's about all to say. Hotel is quite new, but there's nothing special in it; average rooms, average breakfast, average service... Free parking is good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pretty good hotel in typical finish style Nice view over Vantaa. Unforunately stayed only on short night. Very good water park. Sokos Flaming is located inside shopping mall... Room is not exciting but good with excellent view

Room Tip: Top floor - excelent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel situated approximately 10min from the airport. Did not find any fre shuttle bus, but buses for airport stays outside the mall. The hotel is situated in a big mall with hundreds of stores, resturants including spa and cinema. Everything under one roof. But some way from city center, we stayed while visiting exhibition. Rooms was good, and first time I have been asked if I requested tub or shower. Recommended if you are having a early flight in the morning but have time in the evening before for shopping, if you are there for short stay, there is better airport hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

No problems during our stay. The room was tidy and fresh. Breakfast ok. The receptionists could have been more welcoming and a small smile wouldn´t have been a bad idea..
We ate in Amarillo and that was very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo000, Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us!

We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will consider our hotel also in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Jaana Kivi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vantaa
1.8 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
0.5 mi away
Rantasipi Airport
Rantasipi Airport
#3 of 9 in Vantaa
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa
0.7 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
2.0 mi away
GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo

Address: Tasetie 8, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.