We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not bad, but not up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo

Save Saved
You added Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tasetie 8, Vantaa 01510, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Vantaa
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Certainly not bad, but not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Perhaps the I was confused with the local hype surrounding the spa at the same place. I was also a little confused to find that they're different businesses. Even so, I was very disappointed to find that in order to gain entrance to the spa I would have to go to a different place and buy a ticket. With so many guests heading that way, why not set up a system so that hotel guests can buy it all at the same hotel reception desk? Disappointing.

The hotel bedroom was also a disappointment. It's a hard balance to achieve in my view, but minimalist scandinavian style using light coloured woods can look uber chic or super cheap, the Flamingo achieves the latter with ease. It felt cheap from start to finish. Ironically, at a venue where I had imagined fun at the spa, I found myself struggling to clear shampoo from my hair as the shower in the room was next to useless.

As far as dining is concerned there are plenty of choices around the hotel. For our dinner we had booked our group into the hotel's own restaurant and this was nice and the staff helpful and cheerful. Breakfast the next morning however was mild disappointment. Stewed coffee and, in my view, a limited selection. For example if cereals are your breakfast of choice the option was two different types of muesli. OK, but only just above adequate in my view.

If you're visiting offices in the nearby complexes on the other side of Ring III then it's a good business hotel location. It's also a decent alternative as an airport hotel as it's a very short ride from the terminals and yet enjoys more amenities and shops close by than any others in the area. Otherwise, if you're simply looking for a hotel on the periphery of Helsinki and Vantaa then you may well find more inspiring stays.

Room Tip: A few dining options in the nearby shopping centre - not fine dining but decent fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    93
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
31
9
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice combination of shopping and relax. Parking is free. A lot of cafe and restorans by the same roof. WiFi works good in most of the rooms.
Unfortunatly they have no shattle servis to and from airport.

Room Tip: Take a higher floors to have the best city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

You have spa and big shopping mall in the same building and that's about all to say. Hotel is quite new, but there's nothing special in it; average rooms, average breakfast, average service... Free parking is good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pretty good hotel in typical finish style Nice view over Vantaa. Unforunately stayed only on short night. Very good water park. Sokos Flaming is located inside shopping mall... Room is not exciting but good with excellent view

Room Tip: Top floor - excelent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel situated approximately 10min from the airport. Did not find any fre shuttle bus, but buses for airport stays outside the mall. The hotel is situated in a big mall with hundreds of stores, resturants including spa and cinema. Everything under one roof. But some way from city center, we stayed while visiting exhibition. Rooms was good, and first time I have been asked if I requested tub or shower. Recommended if you are having a early flight in the morning but have time in the evening before for shopping, if you are there for short stay, there is better airport hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

No problems during our stay. The room was tidy and fresh. Breakfast ok. The receptionists could have been more welcoming and a small smile wouldn´t have been a bad idea..
We ate in Amarillo and that was very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo000, Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us!

We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will consider our hotel also in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Jaana Kivi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Be careful, I did the reservation normally and also confirmed my late check in, but still they didn't have room for me and i needed to go elsewhere. overbooked? I don't trust anymore!
And i saw there are other also who has same experiences. I have been there many times before, cleaning has been problem also nearly always

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo

Address: Tasetie 8, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.