We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for grown ups, not for small kids.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre

Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre
Kuninkaalantie 7 | Tikkurila, Vantaa D7EPX2, Finland
+358 9 85799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Vantaa
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heureka's exhibitions are interactive. The main exhibition has over 200 exhibits from many fields of science as well as a number of activity points.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not for grown ups, not for small kids.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although living in Helsinki, I had never visited this place before, and decided to do this with our 3-year old on New Years day when almost everything else is closed. The building looks very big from outside (expected something more of the scale one usually gets in Finland ;-) ), but inside there is only one floor, with 4 separate medium-sized exhibition areas and the planetarium/theatre. Two of the areas appeared to be permanent: mostly interactive physical "experiments" and computer-based exhibits. The science part was not very strong in most of these, i.e. you would not really learn anything new, although many of the experiments demonstrated some basic physical principle or a visual illusion. Our 3-year old was interested only in the following: the ship sinking when bubbles are produced in the water container, the two rockets that are shot respectively with manually produced hydrogen and pressurized air, the car-driving simulator, the foam-cushion hut and cubes, and from the "mental health" exhibition the room where you click on a pair of eyes in the darkness to reveal a forest animal. Also, our 3-year old was happy to have his face printed on a coin, of course, and was happy to see the rats play basketball.

As pointed out in another recent review, the Mars exhibit was pretty boring for both adults and small children. Possibly there would have been something moderately interesting for 10-year olds who can read the explanations themselves and for whom many things are new and exciting. Nothing in the exhibition was really about Mars. It was mostly some basic information about issues related to space travel. The mental health exhibition was still less interesting. I think the low funding level and visitor numbers explain this.

The positive thing was the quality of the interactive exhibits: these worked well and had explanations in six languages (Finnish, Swedish, English, Russian, and two others that I can't now remember.)

Cannot comment on the planetarium, as we did not visit it.

Overall, quite expensive considering what you will see. If money is not an issue, you could spend here an hour (or with curious 10-year old maybe two), but don't expect too much of science.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not recommendable for Adults”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was there in December 2013. Die building looks huge from outside, and the vision you get at the entrance is very promising. We paid 23 € per person of which 5 euros was for a movie-show, which we had to book already and the entrance. We arrived at 2pm and the movie was set for 5pm.
To give the gist of our visit: There is not really anything remarkable displayed in the museum. There was an exhibition about mental illnesses with exponats like a papershredder, where you could put a piece of paper with your worries written on it; some opportunity to listen how "artists" just the word "crazy" in there songs..."this is crazy but here's my number so call me" (if i remember it right), some boards where you could paint your feelings..basically make a sketch...and other stuff, that only scratched the surface of this wide topic. nothing remarkable to mention.
The "space-exhibition"-..something about travelling to mars was either not really filled with content. there were some foam-modelplanes..that you could throw, some rats that can "play basketball" a robot from the 90's that can find it's way via trial and error through a maze and some other stuff. nothing remarkable. i would even say boring for children, because half of the exponats require to read the additional information text..what kid does that?
what was actually really disappointing was that part of the museum where you could try out some "hands-on" experiments. easy things like a led-ball and a much bigger aluminum ball having the same weight on a scale, easy little experiments, definetly inspiring and good for children, BUT: everything was worn out, scratched, used, kinda-broken but still working. glass cabinets seemed to not have been cleaned for ages! FULL of dust.
If the management of the museum had some respect for its visitors, it would replace some of the things, that 10.000 of people played with/used them. and for gods sake clean the glass capinets. dust..in a cabinet with a spinning head-model of Einstein is embarassing for a "science-center". Einstein would not like it!
Afterall we really had seen everything twice after 2 hours, having had a coffee and a lihapirakka included, we didn't want to wait for that movie for another hour. So we asked if we could hand back the tickets and get the 10 euros back. The (i guess students, who earn some money, fair enough) staff behind the counter clenched their teeth and it seemed, that they where actually sorry saying, that getting the money back would not be possible.
otherwise they could have told us in the beginnging, that the whole exhibition is more or less just for easy going kids and we probably wouldn't won't want to stay there for 3 hours.
I guess that place is just broke and closes quite soon. At least that was the impression they gave. I hope somebody read this and saved some time and money!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When you need place to visit for active kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good base exhibition and always some special exhibition as well. There is planetarium and most of the ceses there is something nice film.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting place for all family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice, interesting and funny place. Discount for family tickets. Get ready to spend all day there. Visit 3d cinema inside and try bicycle riding - it's great! Children are happy at any age!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“World class Science Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Heureka is a place to visit at least one or two times per year. Even the basic exhibition is interesting but Heureka has succeeded to open very exceptional temporary exhibitions. Body Worlds was so popular, that some people missed the exhibition (last day was so crowded). Visit also the planetarium/theatre

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heureka, the Finnish Science Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.