We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately the service becomes worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imatran Kylpyla Spa

Save Saved
You added Imatran Kylpyla Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imatran Kylpyla Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vapaa Aikakeskus, Imatra 55420, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Imatra
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately the service becomes worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've been using Imatram Kylpyla Spa for a long time, coming at least twice a year. The last visit this October was a real disappointment. Let alone that buffet table breakfasts and lunches became a real junk (our toddler could not eat anything but fruit there and we had to come up to the room and heat baby food bought in the supermarket for her), but also one of the days there was something wrong with electricity and for the whole afternoon the showers anad aquapark had only cold water!!! No signs warning about this were to be encountered, you actually come to the shower and find out that only ice cold water is available! Room cleaning left much to be desired - one day our room was not cleaned at all, and the other day the cleaner came only at around 5 p.m. to just change the towels and make the bed - that's it!
I guess this was our last visit there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harri H, Director of Sales at Imatran Kylpyla Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Anna,
thank you for your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that your visit at us was not a success. We have put a lot of effort to maintain the quality of our operations, including all our restaurants and housekeeping. Your review tells us of the importance of auditing these operations. As to the problem with electricity and pool water temperature, there were road construction works that cut the ground wire by accident, and we were left without power for some time.

Best regards
Imatran Kylpylä Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    62
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
31
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kouvola, Finland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

There are both hotel rooms, chalets and villas in Imatran Kylpylä Spa Hotel. Hotel rooms are situated in the older Spa Hotel (some rooms have been renovated) and in the newer Promenade Hotel (some details may already be worn out). There are very good rooms for families in Promenade Hotel: 26.5 square meters, a glassed balcony, two beds (double or twin), a bunk bed for two and a possibility for a portable extra bed. So each room can accommodate five people. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking on the balcony is allowed. Especially rooms with odd (uneven) numbers have a nice lake view, which is better in upper floors. So best rooms are the rooms of Promenade Hotel with odd numbers on the floor 4.

There is a very good spa department called Taikametsä (Magical Forest) with many different swimming pools in the hotel. There are a swimming pool (20 meters), Yorokobi hot pool (up to 38 degrees Celsius, in other pools 28-30 degrees), a cold waterfall, children's pool with a very small waterslide, a bit bigger waterslide (but not a big one!), massaging showers, a jacuzzi (a whirlpool), a bubble bench, a therapy pool, Witch's Cave, a small river and an outdoor pool (1.3 meters deep). The outdoor pool is open also in the winter - and it is very warm! There are artificial thunderstorm shows (artificial lightning and raining) in the pool department about once an hour.

There are also spa treatments and saunas there. There are many traditional Finnish saunas (separated for men and women) and two steam rooms. One steam room is mixed for men and women and the other has separated departments for men and women.

There are also an indoor promenade (Spa Street), very big gyms, a solarium, children's playgrounds (indoor and outdoor), games, bowling, many activities, dancing, two restaurants and 2-3 bars in the hotel. You can take part in snowmobile safaris or rent kicksleds. There are good possibilities for cross-country skiing in the winter. We even saw an ice sauna (made of real ice cubes!) and ice tables and chairs. In the summer you can take part in lake cruises.

The breakfast is very good. Even local specialties Carelian rice pastries were available.

During lunch and dinner times there are possibilities both for buffets and á la carte portions. Buffets are ok but not very good. Especially desserts are only basic. We would like to have more desserts choices and more delicious desserts.

Imatran Kylpylä Spa Hotel offers something for the whole family. But if you want to have a very big waterslide, you should go to Holiday Club Saimaa in Rauha (a part of the city of Lappeenranta) nearby Imatran Kylpylä. If you want to have a spa holiday in the city centre and in the historical surroundings, you should go to Imatran Valtionhotelli in Imatra. However, Imatran Kylpylä Spa Hotel is always a good choice.

Room Tip: There are better rooms in Promenade Hotel. Especially rooms with odd (uneven) numbers have a nice la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Imatran Kylpylä Spa is a nice aquapark - centric hotel located on the shore of beautiful Saimaa Lake. Surronded by pine forest, distant from motorways it provides large free parking, free gym, funny aquapark with several jacuzzi, some water entertainments and a whole year outside pool accessible from within. You can come across some sport events organized from time to time. Amenities are of middle level, though usually in good state. Buffet breakfast/dinner is rich and of good quality, though list of dishes stays the same through the season. Drinks are awfully expensive, but so they are everywhere in Finland. The last addition to hotel attractions is a bowling with neon lighting during evenings. More than 70% of guests are Russians. lots of children, first of all because a hotel is only 12km from Russian border and only 200km from St Petersburg, which resident use this place as way to escape noise and dirt of big city during weekends.

Room Tip: "Promenade" word will guarantee Lake view. Lots of rooms (standard ones) share inside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We enjoyed our two days of total relaxation with my partner and our friends. Good spa, massage and baths, spacious room, nice shops. I liked everything. Plenty things to do and to see, delicious food, magnificent scenery, great choice of indoor and outdoor activities. And it was not too many other people as it was beginning of the week. All staff were good and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spa is really nice, waterslide was our kids favourite. Rooms ok, a big + for little separate corner of the room for the kids. Food was ok, little on expencive side compared to the quality.

Only big minus comes from the huge amount of russian tourists. It was not a pleasant feeling to belong in to a minority in our own country. That´s why our family will spend our next spa holiday somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotell was just perfect. We lived in one of the appartments and couldn't be more satisfied. Noe language problem, good food, nice pool area and spa was delightful. No problem comming back here.

Room Tip: Apparments are a five minutes walk from the hotel, but no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have been staying in Imatran Kylpyla Spa since 2009.
I have to remark that the hotel became worse. Moreover, our last stay was upset by lost jacket from our room. It’s happened on June, 27,2012…be careful to leave something in your room.
Although I’d like to say thanks for gluten-free food and a very good SPA center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imatran Kylpyla Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imatran Kylpyla Spa

Address: Vapaa Aikakeskus, Imatra 55420, Finland
Location: Finland > Eastern Finland > The Lakelands > Imatra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Imatra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imatran Kylpyla Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Imatran Kylpyla Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imatran Kylpyla Hotel Imatra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imatran Kylpyla Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.