We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you need a castle:)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rantasipi Valtionhotelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rantasipi Valtionhotelli to your Saves list
Rantasipi Valtionhotelli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torkkelinkatu 2, Imatra 55100, Finland (Formerly Scandic Imatran Valtionhoteli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Imatra
Moscow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“When you need a castle:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Looking like a fairy-tale castle, this one was originally built as hotel early XXth century. The interiors are charmingly old: painted walls, wide staircases, and all the rooms have got windows of various shapes, overlooking the forest and the river.
The rooms facilities are mostly basic (I would like to have a bigger wardrobe although it is not that crucial if you come for a weekend)
Breakfast is terrific, very "Scandinavian" :) I would also recommend local restaurant
SPA zone is not big but cozy, and you can reach it from the castle as well through the underground corridor.
Shops area starts just from the hotel entrance so you can choose from the options of shopping or walking by the river bench (there are some trais available even in winter).
Overall quite a nice place for a weekend relax :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
39
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night (before returning to Moscow) in January. Very nice hotel location - on the banks Vuoksy and close to the border crossing Imatra-Svetogorsk (10 min.) Room on the fourth floor of the main building was very spacious and warm, decent signal level wi-fi, a large free public parking in front of the hotel. The hotel is a decent restaurant (open until 21-30), there is a menu in Russian. Do not like the poor breakfast (though every year they are getting worse)

Room Tip: Book rooms in the castle - they are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is certainly a special place - you can't find another close to this anywhere in Finland. So if you have to spend few nights in Imatra this is most certainly the hotel to choose.
The location between the city centre and the canal (Imatrankoski) is perfect and there's enough parking space in front of the hotel. An attached little spa is good for sauna and jacuzzi. The best thing is the historical architecture and atmosphere created by the style. The rooms I've stayed at (junior suites) have been clean, unique and spacious enough.
The service is also good by the Finnish standards but the reason I'm not giving this full points is the average breakfast and slowish internet connection. If travelling with kids you can bet that the kids will love the look and feel of the hotel and enjoy exploring the halls and corridors.

Room Tip: The junior suites all seem to be unique and very spacious. Best views would be towards the park or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have now stayed in this hotel on four visits of mine and am gonna probably stay there on all my visits since this is the only hotel right in the town of Imatra. The other option cumulus is at the moment shut for renovation. i have stayed in all sorts of rooms in the valtion hotel and I have some practical advice for all visitors.

Exterior: The hotel resembles a castle and has a fair deal of history behind it. Its definitely one of those hotels you can be proud of staying in.

Rooms: Every stay of mine has come up with some surprise, every room has been different by some measure or the other. But I could classify the hotel rooms broadly into
1. Superior: The more expensive, yet small rooms in the old part of the hotel.
2. Standard: Rooms that cheaper by 10 euros yet much bigger and some of them even have a bath tub.

The superior rooms are in the old part of the hotel and hence rub off some of the nostalgia of 1950's and 60's when this hotel was only meant for the high society. But along with it, I would say that you should pray you do not have a snoring neighbor coz the walls are completely permeable. I stayed in this type of room for one night, only to be kept awake the whole night by the snoring from the other room.

I prefer the standard rooms, spacious and luxurious and also close to the Sauna and spa.

Amenities: The highlight is the Spa and the Sauna, while the spa is not so big, the sauna is excellent and the one time I managed to find time to use, it helped me relax quite a bit. Using this facility helps you get your moneys worth out of this hotel, which otherwise seems very expensive.

Breakfast: Its probably the same 365 days of the week. I would imagine at least a weekly change, but on my visits on successive months, the spread remained exactly the same. I can pick food with my eyes closed now. Nothing special about the breakfast either. Fills your stomach but that's about it.

Restaurant: Fabulous food and good service. I never got bored dining here.

Location: It doesn't get better if you have to stay in Imatra. Very close to the center of the town, just cross the road and you are in the main shopping area.

Room Tip: Chose rooms from the newer part of the hotel, you'll miss some history but get good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Imatra is located at the very near of the border of Russia. Valtionhotelli is a historically remarkable building since it was used in two recent wars Finland had to join. It is a castle built during the time Finland was still a part of Russia. It is also an extraordinary beautiful building.

The service was exellent. My room was on higher floor and it was luxuriously decorated. Felt like being a princess. Cocktail bar was a bit of out of date but the atmosphere was great. Food was delicious.

Imatra is small but nice town and you can shop and get good food also from other places in there. Imatra is easily accessible by train.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful building, it is like entering in a fairy tale. Friendly staff at the reception desk, big enough (superior) room with a balcony overlooking the canal. Unfortunately there were no chairs to sit on the balcony, we would have loved to do so since that was a warm sunny summer night.

Breakfast was very good, a wide selection and friendly service.

Room Tip: For the beautiful building and the charming atmosphere, I recommend to stay in the castle building i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I prefer the Spa side which has modern, well air conditioned and rather spacey rooms. It has inside tunnel to the old part of the hotel. It has very unique rooms, all different of shape and size but in the new side all is standardized.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rantasipi Valtionhotelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rantasipi Valtionhotelli

Address: Torkkelinkatu 2, Imatra 55100, Finland (Formerly Scandic Imatran Valtionhoteli)
Location: Finland > Eastern Finland > The Lakelands > Imatra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Imatra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rantasipi Valtionhotelli 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, restored Congress Hotel, dating from 1903, connected by tunnel to art nouveau-style Castle Hotel of the same name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rantasipi Valtionhotelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rantasipi Valtionhotelli Imatra
Rantasipi Valtionhotelli Hotel Imatra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rantasipi Valtionhotelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.