We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time spent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Munkebjerg Hotel to your Saves list
Munkebjerg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vejle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Danish wife and I, need to have an adult getaway from our 2 year old so my wife found the hotel. She's born and raised in Denmark as where I am American.

As we walked in the place was very quiet. More of the old fashion hotels back in the days with the stone and gray look. Very warm. We got our key right away and headed right up to the room. The view that we got with the room was AWESOME!! You could see right over the water and see the town and homes over on the other side.

The room was very nice. Double bed for us nice big screen tv. Bathroom was a bit small as we are a bit big but we could easily use it.

The spa and pool area are very GREAT!! The jacuzzi was GREAT! and there where two of them incase the kids and Family are in one. Pool was very nice. There is a stream room and workout room is top notch.

The breakfast when where there was PERFECT!! Almost everything you can think of. Fruit, bread, roles, eggs, bacon, etc.

Overall, me and my wife have agreed that we will be coming here more often to get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
18
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

One of the most well known hotels in Denmark which is often used for businesses for meetings and conferences. During the silent summer period they have some deals targeting families and we decided to take one of those and spend a day in the nearby Legoland.
The reception is really nice - especially if you are into classic Danish Design. The rooms are nice if you are a single traveller or maybe a couple but staying there as a family everything get a bit tight. The rooms are worn down except for the bathrooms which have been renovated recently and eg our kids were sleeping on the couch which had been made into a bed.
The restaurant has a very nice view over Vejle fjord and they had a grill buffet where the kids were eating for free. Also a few deals for drinks in the bar was nice as the listed prices in the bar are steep.
The breakfast wasn't anything special in my opinion - what you would expect from a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayJC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Classic Retro Danish Design with superb grounds and a very clean new gym & spa, decent pool with a space for little kids, jacuzzis, steam room, sauna and fitness machines at no extra cost. Food was all lovely and the rooms were great. Easy access to Legoland in less than 30 min drive and close to many other locations in Denmark. If the food most of which was included, doesn't fit your budget there is always the finest McDonalds I have ever seen (with free wifi), just 5 mins drive down the road.

Extremely enjoyable visit and really well thought out. Feels like a vintage 1960s US golf resort, with a very modern 2010s Spa & pool,. The view of the fjord across the forest from the restaurant and terrace which is also where you have breakfast is breathtaking.

There are plenty of good walks in the woods nearby and I understand some people like to play golf, and gamble, check out the Golf museum and Casino. There was even a Free games room with toys for kids and a Wii U & PS3 room although that looked like it had a bit of a run-in with the Rolling stones or somebody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our familiy (four adults and four children) stayed in two of the hotels three-top rooms. They made up both baby beds and beds for the children for us. The rooms were spacious and very delicate furnished with the best of danish design. It was perfect for our familiy! We enjoyed the rich, delicious breakfast buffet, and could make our own packed lunchbox (enough for two-three persons for only 80dkr). The hotel offered also a nice, spacious room for the children to play, and we also used the lovely swimmingpool/spa- area a lot (loads of thick, white towels to use) The hotel is located in a VERY silent beech forest outside Vejle, with nice walking paths, and only about 30 mins from Legoland. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the three-top rooms...those are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Hotel Munkebjerg and highly recommend the place for families traveling with children visiting Legoland Billund and nearby attractions. The room price was very reasonable (995 DKK, 130 EUR) compared to very expensive hotels in Billund. The drive from hotel Munkebjerg to Billund was roughly 25 minutes (35 km).

The hotel is located on beautiful hilltop in the middle of forest facing the Vejle fjord. If you still have energy after a day in Legoland, the nearby hiking trails are great! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is excellent with nice selection of local delicacies as well as homemade items. There's also a possibility to pack a lunch box from the breakfast buffet for 85 DKK which is a bargain. The evening lunch buffet was bit of a disappointment and also quite pricey (250 DKK for adults and 125 DKK for children).

Our room was pretty basic, but nice and clean with balcony facing a small park. The hotel indoor pool area is very nice with children's pool and two jacuzzis. If we should visit Legoland Billund in the future, we'd certainly choose Hotel Munkebjerg again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I promise, when you leave this place you will most certainly feel bit low that you are leaving it.

The staff will go out of the way to make you comfortable, each guest is a special guest. They opened the business center for me at odd hours within minutes, they provided me with tea-coffee maker in my room even when it was not on the tariff without any fuss. The most courteous staff.

The rooms are best, cleanliness absolute. The ambiance enchanting.

Take a walk around, the forest covering will take you to a different world. If possible take a trek to the river ( arrange for a transport to climb back).

Even if you want to visit 100 miles around, stay there to rejuvenate your self.

I was traveling alone but most certainly misses my spouse.

The bonus is the Casino. ( the stakes are a bit high but worth it)

Will write more on this on my next visit

Room Tip: take the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel has an excellent spa and swimming pool. The fantastic breakfast buffet with a great variety is included and can be enjoyed with a great view over the sea. The hotel has a beatiful out-of-town location which makes it a great choice for visiting Legoland (about 30 min drive).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle Municipality > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munkebjerg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.