We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotal at a okat price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Munkebjerg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Munkebjerg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Vejle
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine hotal at a okat price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a singel night at the Munkebjerg Hotel - Location is excellent with view to both water and forest and close to Golf - The hotel is fine with a avrage service at a fair price. Enjoyed my stay......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
18
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice fantastic breakfast! Whaw.
Nice spa as well.
The hotel and especially the casino still need to have a serious visit of a decorator. Wake up. We have left the 80th many years ago. The place has fantastic potential for being the most romantic and charming hotel in Vejle- but not really there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a pleasant clean and modern hotel in an out-of-town forest location. The downsides were two-fold: many, many mosquitoes although happily I found them less bitey than their Mediterranean cousins, and secondly a very expensive and limited dinner menu. There were only four main courses so I tried them all on the four nights I was there. On the starter menu there was scallops with a pea puree at 112 euros . . . so incredible was the price that I took a photo of the menu and sent it to my colleagues! Anyhow, those things aside the staff were nice and helpful, the beds comfy and the breakfasts were outstanding. I didn't make it to the spa but someone told me the pool was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is facinating hotel, beutifully located and filled with danish design icons from the 60s (at least it looks like that to me...). Contrary to some other reviewers I do think they have maintained the place well, but then we did get a renovated room. The restaurant is very good, the view fantastic and it is only a 30 minute drive to Legoland. And then I have not mentioned the swimming pool which is also well above average. And to top that they had great summer special on the room rate.

The only thing that reduces the score for this hotel is the staff. Not helpfull and not very friendly - all questions were resistantly answered, and when I wanted to check out the clerk seemed to have much more important thing to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A well located hotel, we have stayed here many times in the past and have never really been disapointed. The rooms may be a little dated, and for what you get, you certainly pay enough, but the hotel is somewhat of a relic, and, as I said, the position is fantastic. The food is good but pricey, although breakfast (included) was great, with a wide selection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I was very disappointed with our stay there. We booked in for four nights and had dinner there twice. The first night was the buffet and ok we were towards the end of service, but the food was really over cooked and the choice was limited. On our second day we returned from a day out to find our room had not been cleaned, so tried to call reception, no reply on several attempts so decided to pass by on our way to dinner. I explained the situation and the receptionist seemed sympathetic, although not apologetic and said she would let housekeeping know. After dinner we found the room still not done & when we phoned reception, she said oh no there are no housekeeping staff on in the evening!
Overall hotel looks more like a 70's university residence, the staff made no effort, the food was ordinary (no pancakes or omelettes at breakfast despite being offered on a board as made to order).
Gym and pool facilities were nice though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is located outside Vejle, and about 30min drive from Legoland, and some 40 minutes from Givskud Zoo. It is a good spot for getting around on daytrips to various attractions. The hotel restaurant is very good and for breakfast they offer home-made cereals ecologically produced jam, the traditional eggs and bacon - a great variety. The swimming pool area was nice and very clean. I can absolutely recommend this hotel to other families. Even though the hotel normally serves as a conference hotel, and has a casino open on weekends, we found the hotel calm and pleasant also for our family including a 4-year old.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle Municipality > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munkebjerg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.