We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vegan 5 course dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Merlot

Restaurant Merlot
Skyttehusgade 42, Vejle 7100, Denmark
7583 8844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 restaurants in Vejle
Price range: $21 - $44
Cuisines: French, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegan 5 course dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

OMG, this restaurant really is the best!
Service was friendly and professional - even when I reguested a change to eat vegan dinner when all my colleagues ordered from the meny, it was not a problem. The atmosphere is really warm and beatiful and then the food - just marvelous! I can't recommend this restaurant enough! Really worth visiting if you are driving through Denmark.

Vegan / vegetarian friendly even though the meny is fish and meat - just ask and they will serve you tasty food! :)

PS. This place is a really good wine restaurant as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    30
    8
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Merlot is one of the best restuarants I have ever been to which is why one of my Danish friends had his 40th birthday there. Its a great restuarant for an intimate meal or business lunch. The wine list is wonderful and they are always keen to advise. Try the coffee its an event in itself. One seen never forgotten.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful Gastro experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I'd like to start by saying that this restaurant was not just a matter of eating out. It was an experience that has kept us talking about it ever since our visit and wanting to go back.
The menu, service and atmosphere offered was all top drawer: from the personal explanations of ingredients and courses in both Danish and English for my partner and I, to the amazing wine that accompanied our meal.
It was a lovely evening.
Try it for yourselves, I can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great chef, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a fantastic meal tonight at Merlot. This was one of our top five dinners ever. Owner chef Egon spent generous time with us and the food was unique fusion of Danish fundamentals with French flair, delicious and presented at its best. We asked him to pair some wines for us and his choices were spot on and well priced. The dining room was classy and comfortable but not pretentious. A bit of a splurge but seems very reasonable for this quality in Denmark. It's a bit off the main center of town so a good set of directions will help. We would definitely seek it out anytime we are there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A really nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was i Vejle for one night and were looking for a nice place to eat, when I, by browsing the internet, found this restaurant and thought I'd give it a try. When me and my dinner party came in to the hall, we were met by the owner who took care of our coats. We then came inside the restaurant which was beautifully decorated with old royal-looking furniture. Sitting at the table we sure felt like royal in those nice surroundings. The menu is not that big, but the things on it all sounded really delicious. We had two courses which all was perfectly cooked. The owner is very nice and wants his customers to have a great experience, he can tell alot about the different foods and wines. If you are into cheeses, you simply MUST try the cheese-table for dessert, a great selection of cheeses. If you must go to the bathroom, don't forget to take a peek in the wine cellar just across from the bathrooms. All in all a great place if you are into rather fine dining.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Merlot also viewed

Vejle, Vejle Municipality
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
 
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
 

Been to Restaurant Merlot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Merlot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.