We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for a night or two!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Australia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Australia to your Saves list
Hotel Australia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Daemningen 6, Vejle 7100, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Vejle
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Acceptable for a night or two!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have recently stayed here for two nights. We chose this hotel because it is very central, located very close to the shopping centre, shopping street, cinema and a number of restaurants. The hotel itself is a little tired in parts and needs modernising (especially the lifts, doors and hallways) but the rooms themselves are recently renovated and are more than adequate. The only problems we had with the room was that the windows are in desperate need of replacing and because of this you can hear the wind blowing outside, (and into the room) which was very noisy during our visit! And also when taking a shower, the water seemed to spill out everywhere and there was no drainage other than in the shower itself. Some positive things: the beds are comfy, the breakfast is very nice, plenty of choice and very nice quality. The staff on reception are very helpful and there was a sign to say there may be some noise as the hotel is being renovated during weekdays, so perhaps it will be better in the future? I would probably stay here again if I come back to Velje. :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
11
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, the room was clean and spacious, with a modern bathroom. The staff were very nice, always smiling and very helpful. We stayed there because it wasn't far away from Legoland. Since we booked through Thomas Cook, our parking was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We sayed at the hotel australia 15-17 July, for our trip to Legoland. The family room was more like a double with 2 extra beds. The breakfast buffee was ok, pancakes, bacon, yoghurt so something for everybody. When we booked the hotel we were surprised by the credit card fee. I made a quite big problem of it, and to my surprise I was refunded the credit card fee when we checked in. We had no problem with the reception clerks but one evening when we were sitting at the lobby bar some people were waiting for the receptionist for well over 30 minutes. The hotel is well located in the center of Vejle, also only 25 minutes drive to legoland so i would stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Australia from July 14-17. We came all the way from Canada and booked it through Lego Land Holidays. Check in went very well with no issues. We were 2 adults and 2 children crammed into a "family suite" . 2 singles and 2 cots. After our first day at Lego Land we returned to a room that was not cleaned. I obviously went down to the front desk and voiced our displeasure and was told that the room would be cleaned the following day as the cleaning staff had left for the day. (it was 5 pm.) The next day we returned again and the room still was not cleaned, no new towels, two days worth of garbage including the food we ate and the drinks we had in the room. Down to the front desk again, this time quite upset as we were promised that it would be cleaned. The clerk at the front desk understood English perfectly and after i voiced our displeasure, did not offer an apology, discount, nothing! Pass up on this place it is under staffed and they do not care. A family of 4 in a 350 square foot room requires housekeeping. We adapted, but the total apathy of the staff at this hotel destroyed a vacation that we had planned for several months. Sad yes, staff was rude and made no apology. This hotel gave us a terrible impression of this beautiful country of Denmark. Looks good but they were outright rude and spoiled our Lego Land experience.
PASS ON THIS PLACE, go somewhere where your money is appreciated and you are treated with respect.

Room Tip: Go down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Australia is located in cetral Vejle close to the highway. It's slightly worn, but they kept all the important parts clean and fresh. Such as the bathroom, the beds, etc. What isn't so up to date is stuff like the elevator, some doors could use new paint etc. Minor details that didn't concern me the least.
The breakfast buffet is also very nice, including pancakes, sausage, bread, yoghurt, musli etc.
Only part that wasn't good was one of the extra beds we got in our room for one of our kids. It was the kind of travel bed that's almost like a hammock.

Room Tip: Extra beds brought into the room can be quite uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good location close to the mall and shopping/walking street. Our room was a good size but in need of a facelift. The staff were friendly and efficient. A reasonable place to stay with a good breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked last minute to avoid the dreary experience of staying in Billund ahead of a early flight. the drive in the morning took me less than half hour so worked out fine.

the hotel is in the city centre and is a great location close to a large choice (for a danish town anyway) of bars and restaurants as well as all the shops and cinema (I ate at a nice Mexican called Tortilla Flats about 5 minutes walk up the main road towards the town and had a quick beer in a pub called The new Cat Pub).

paid 855DK for a single room which was cheap compared to others nearby, room was fine if a little small but bathroom clean and nice shower. Reception was very friendly in directing me to car park behind hotel on phone and at check in and the girl at the bar also checked the driving to Billund for me etc.

The street outside was a little noisy at night with the window open (the constant beeping of a pedestrian crossing, clearly heard even on the 7th floor) but would have fine fine with the window closed.

Didn't try breakfast as left too early.

Would definitely stay again if needed to be in Billund early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Australia

Address: Daemningen 6, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle Municipality > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Australia 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story downtown hotel located near the railway station, 27 km from Billund BLL Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Australia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Australia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.