We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with a touch of fine dining!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria dei Re

Trattoria dei Re
Flegborg 4, Vejle 7100, Denmark
75837733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Vejle
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vejle, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great value with a touch of fine dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my 4th visit to Trattoria dei Rei and the high quality keep surprising me in a very positive way! The a la carte menu consists of both well-known Italian dishes and creative dishes that I haven't seen in other menues (the tuna carpaccio starter is really good!). This time we tried 3 of the 5 courses from the monthly menu: Homemade pasta with deer, Beef tenderloin with a pistachio crust, and 5 Italian cheeses with chutney, honey etc. It was all very tasty and cooked to perfection! I consider the food to be fine dining in terms of creativity and flavour, but not when in comes to the size of the portions as there's plenty of food on the plate: E.g. was our tenderloin served with beens, spring onions and other vegetables, sauce and 3 different kind of potatoes on the side. For the two of us, including a very nice bottle of red wine, it was 1,000 DKK which I consider to be very fair. The all-Italian staff is friendly and know a lot about their food and wine (they have an extensive wine list with both very expensive and cheaper wines starting at around 300 DKK a bottle. The atmosphere is relaxed and intimate as there's less than 50 seats in total - so make sure to book ahead (which goes for almost all restaurants in Vejle).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Storfors
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The best restaurang in vejle super service White a big smile
Food top standard
Tanks for a top evening
Ulf And Amy Wessman

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

food was great and freshly cooked. staff were friendly. small space so intimate. menu choice is limited.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading a few reviews here on Trip Advisor, we decided to go here (instead of the Pizza place(s) in Billund).
We all (two adults and two children) really enjoyed both the hospitality, service and of course the food. We had antipasti and then a few pasta dishes. Lot's of food and it tasted delishes! Even the boys who sometimes can be a bit reserved regarding new dishes ate everything up. We finished the meal with their home made ice cream. We really can recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Acceptable food for too much money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

+ They have good wine
+ Startes are not too bad

- They make a big fuzz out of "home made pasta", even though it obviousely wasn't home made
- So far, I've been there 3 times, each time my food wasn't hot.... last time not even warm.
- All desserts have been dissapointing, also those of my friends. In an Italian restaurant which is not too cheap I would expect that at least the tiramisu is acceptable... but, no it wasn't.
Better go to Il Teatro, better food for less money. Almost in the same street.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria dei Re also viewed

Vejle, Vejle Municipality
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
 
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
Vejle, Vejle Municipality
 

Been to Trattoria dei Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria dei Re, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.