We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by the sea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Marina to your Saves list
First Hotel Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vedbaek Strandvej 391, Vedbaek 2950, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vedbaek
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Right by the sea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was visiting Microsoft office near by and booked this Hotel via eBookers. That was a big mistake. Initially I was surprised that no other site had any rooms, but eBookers had. So I booked it. Arrive at about 22.30 at the hotel door and see it locked! Not only that the paper on the door was saying that the hotel is closed. Its raining outside, next hotel is like a kilometer away. In desperation I ring the door without much hotel and to my big luck the manager was there and was kind enough to allow me to stay overnight. Hotel is right by the sea and is located about 15 min walk from Vedbaek train station (about 20 min to city). I haven't had breakfast because again hotel was actually closed. My room was good, bathroom was clean. nice midsize flat TV. It looks like the Hotel also has some permanent guests, so it must have its flair. If you walk from the train station you can shop in the Netto supermarket near by which has great prices for Denmark standard. during the day there is a shop right at the car park of the hotel with good prices too. Sea is right across the road. Didn't had a chance to visit it, since I left very early. Again huge thanks to the Hotel manager who was kind enough to accommodate me! The Hotel is about 15min ride to Microsoft office, just in case.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
18
32
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in first hotel marina during Easter period and got a very good deal on First Hotel's website. The stay was quite good because of the hotel location.. Just near the beach..and boat club of Vedbaek. We were allowed an early check-in. Staff was very supportive. Restaurant was nice and interior of common area was quite interesting and modern.

On cons note: I booked room for 3 days and given my credit card, and it was blocked for some amount. While checking out, we cleared the bill with same credit card, but there was some excess amount blocked for few days. After following up, it was cleared up. but there was one very good thing in this incident was, support from reception lady, who assured us that the amount will surely be refunded and she even followed up for the refund with us.
Overall... a nice experience with hotel, nice and clean rooms with free wi-fi access, breakfast included in the room booking price, supportive staff. Cheers first hotels.

Room Tip: Take a superior room with ocean facing balcony.. watching sea from your window is nice experience..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here the 31st of august for two evenings, to be in Vedbaek for a 90th birthday! We came in from Sweden on the Oresund across the sea! and it was a great adventure. The hotel from the outside doesn't look promising but once inside its fine-modern decor. It does need a little maintenance/tlc- oil on the sliding doors, bleach down the drains! and maybe a couple of shelves in the rooms or even drawers may be good! the location is just across the road from the beach/sound were the locals bathe naked in the morning. The Nautilus restaurant across the harbour was fab.
The staff were friendly and helpful,the breakfast good....
There is no iron in the room BUT there is an ironing room! and we will go back next year. x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel room had a balcony which was nice, and the Same Old Denmark twin beds with the foldy quilt, comfortable and clean nonetheless, decent check in and check out experience. In the evening I stood at the bar for 20 minutes waiting for service that never came, while waiters were milling around clearing tables.. I guess you had to ask at the desk. Also, Same Old Denmark no-iron-in-the-room, but a decent night's sleep, a beachfront location and a supermarket next door, so it was not bad at all, but it could do with a comprehensive makeover

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel has good views, beds clean and comfortable but confusion in the booking/reception services resulted in more costs. They also got the dates wrong, so our rooms were locked and not serviced during the last night. During book-out, groups were waiting some time for assistance. The hotel needs to be organised a lot better than they are.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an absolutely disgusting hotel! The rooms are filthy and I mean all of them! I had them move us and it was just as dirty as the previous room. The furniture is stained and everything is worn out. The pictures are NOT accurate at all. This place is a flea bag hotel and not worth staying at. BEWARE!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vedbaek hotels

Oslo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just came home from a 5 night mini vacation at this hotel.
Got a room on the second floor with a nice seaview.
The hotel is pretty outdated and are in desperate need of a total makeover. I saw that this hotel is rated as a 4 star hotel. I would say its a 3 star.
The door was difficult to open, the balcony door was difficult to open, the closet wasn't possible to open at all.

The location is good if you want to combine beach and visits to Copenhagen, Tivoli and Bakken. It's in a very quiet little village.

Unfortunately there was 3-4 football teams (teenagers) staying at the hotel when we were there. Needless to say, that ment pretty much noice. I thought it was pretty sad that the hotel staff didn't lift a finger to try to make the football players quiet down a bit.
We also had to plan when to eat our breakfast because the crew at the resturant weren't able to serve food to that many people at one time. Things like breadrolls, cheese and water was constantly empty.

Talked to the staff on several occations, but for some reason it seemed that they didn't enjoy their job. Working at a hotel is a "people job". I didn't feel that they were happy to have us as guests.

As a summary, I would say that we had 5 Ok nights, but this was the last time we will stay at this hotel. Not reccomended unless you must stay in Vedbæk.

Room Tip: Ask for room with seaview on 3. or 4. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marina

Address: Vedbaek Strandvej 391, Vedbaek 2950, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Hoersholm Municipality > Vedbaek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vedbaek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Vedbaek
First Hotel Marina Vedbaek, Denmark - Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.