We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first and last stay at Hotel Dania, Silkeborg” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dania to your Saves list
Hotel Dania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torvet 5, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silkeborg
2 reviews
“Our first and last stay at Hotel Dania, Silkeborg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I had booked a double room for a whole weekend by www.DTF-travel.dk. We arrived fridag around 3 o'clock. We got our key and climbed the stairs for the 3th floor. There was a small elevator but it only go to the 2nd floor. Standing at the top floor we looked at each other thinking what are we doing here? The floor looked not inhabited at all. It was dark and the some furniturs was covered with white sheets. When entering room 302 we agreed that this must be some kind of a mistake. The room was tiny. 2 single beds was in the room. One standing along the left and one along the right wall. This was not a double room, but a single room with an optional bed. My wife went down to the reception to make a complain. The receptionist said the we have booked the rooms during dtf-travel which was the reason that we had the particular bad standard room. We was not told, that booking through dtf was equal to 2nd hand standard rooms. After my wife had discussed with the receptionist she got a key to another room at the 1st floor. That room had a double bed and looked like a hotel room. The room had on place to put our clothes. It had to be in the suitcase. There was some hangers for jackets and shirts. No mini-bar or cooler. The bathingroom was ok besides no pressure on the water in the shower. When opening the faucet the first water is yellow due to pipes. The bed was ok. The breakfast was what you could expect. There was plenty for all. The location was perfect, but remember earguards if you can't sleep with loud noise coming from the hallway and the street. Paying for parking the car seems unreasonably. How can this hotel be a 4 stars hotel?

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    10
    17
    8
See reviews for
4
24
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Perfect inner city location - can't be more central.

Very pretty hotel from the outside. The lady at the reception was very kind and they prepared kindly an early take-away breakfast.

The hotel is very dated from the inside, would be a gem if done up, as it has great classic features. My room had a lovely view over the buzzing centre square.

The room was small and very 'sixties'; internet works fine (via a cable), but 10 EUR per 23 (?) hours; also parking wasn't free, which was surprising; the showerroom was clean, but tiny. The beds weren't particular comfy, and dirty between the mattresses.

The lack of good alternatives makes this a hotel a necessary choice. Just make the best of it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The location is perfect, in the middle of the town centre. But the hotel needs a major facelift. It is totally run down. The rooms are old with signs of wear and tear. The bathtub dirty with stains of mold. The carpets filthy, especially in the breakfast room and hallway. The breakfast room is located on the ground floor with no elevator.Breakfast was bland with limited food selection. The staff seemed fed up. The lady in reception was really impolite!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed at this hotel during a trade fair in Denmark, and the experience was interesting and/or amusing.

This is one of those hotels where you get the impression that it must have been really amazing, you're just a few decades too late.

The opverall impression is that it's a strange sort of dusty, sqeaky place with cobwebs on the chandeliers, and faded curtains.
This could all be quite a charming place, had it not been for the fact that it's been a bit haphazardly modernized in a way that doesn't really go with the old time charm, and that it still seems to have some illusions of its old time grandeur.

The room was completely ok, the bathroom was tiny, but everything was clean, and the bed was comfortable.
The wall-mounted tv was placed so that it was completely impossible to watch tv without ending up with a sprained neck, and there is no wi-fi internet, which meant that I had no way of getting online on my quite new laptop.
There is no soundproofing between the rooms and the corridor, so a few danes in a festive mood made me thing that I probably wouldn't get much sleep, but I managed still.

The breakfast room was also a bit murky, with a very basic selection, but I wasn't expecting much, so all in all it was ok.

That being said, I didn't actually pay for the stay, as it was a business trip, so I may not have been so favourable had I known what this place actually charges.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The servicelevel can nearly be described as rude, allthough we noticed a higher level towards the Danish guests.

The room we stayed in was really tiny, smelly, stuffy and very dark. It was not very clean with stained carpets and dust and a sad bathroom.

No view, except for a brick wall 1,5 m from the window. The window was only accessed by climbing over the bed (120cm for two people!) and when opened allowed spiders to fall onto the bed.

My worst ever hotel experience.

The location and exterior is very nice and the hotel could have been a gem with some renovating of the staff and interior.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus C
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I have been staying in many hotels till today, but this was my worst experince ever when it comes to service. We arrived at 6 pm, and the receptionist was a kind of rude. He did not tell anything about facilities in the hotel, he was only telling us that we needed our voucher to check-in - and he was almost sending us out of the hotel again. We were not told where the breakfast would be. The toilet in the room was very smelly, so we had to shut the door when we were in the room.
When passing the reception we only met angry faces and no goodmornings and so.
When leaving the hotel they did not say goodbye and didnt seem to care at all if we had enjoyed our stay.
I have never ever met such a low standard in service, absolutely not recommendable and not worth its 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

This historic hotel on the main square in Silkeborg is in an ideal location. The staff were reasonably welcoming.

However its past glories are faded and in my view it no longer justifies its 4 star rating. The worst feature was the stench of sewage in the bathroom which was really appalling. We complained and it was treated, but when using the bathroom again late in the evening it came back just as powerfully as before.

When checking out the following morning I complained that the smell had not been eliminated or even minimised. Far from apologising, the receptionist said "Well, there is nothing I can do about it"

Even ignoring the chair in the bedroom with split upholstery, the worn carpets in the main hall, and the lack of a restaurant actually in the hotel, I really feel that the condition of the bathroom alone makes this a place to avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sxhotels, Manager Marketing Support at Hotel Dania, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
Dear Sir/Madam

We were very concerned to hear of the situation you encountered after arriving at Hotel Dania. The bathroom problem you have mentioned has never been an issue previously and this situation should have been rectified. We at Hotel Dania take pride in delivering the utmost in customer service and we apologize that in this case we did not deliver this standard of service to you. We always have a Manager on duty so in a situation where you are not satisfied with the outcome, the Duty Manager should be contacted to help rectify the problem. We appreciate your honesty in your comments and please be assured that your situation and comments have been passed on to the applicable departments at our end.
It is our hope that you will return to Hotel Dania in the future so we can show you that we are truly a Moderate First Class property and the best hotel in Silkeborg.
Kind regards, Hotel Dania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dania

Address: Torvet 5, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Silkeborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silkeborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dania 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Dania, SilkeborgDo you ever dream of staying in one of the most history filled hotels in Denmark? In a hotel with attention for high level of service? With a central location? With direct access to the town square, pedestrian shopping zone and a stroll from the famous lakes? Hotel Dania underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, which means that our rooms now are modern, while our front desk and lounge areas are kept in the elegant and comfy original style. With the town square as front door, we are surrounded by the vibrant city of Silkeborg - but only few minutes walk from greenery areas and the Silkeborg Lakes.The hotel dates back to 1848, when the hotel first opened up for guest. Through the years, we have housed national and international actors, artists, writers, and etc. Whether you are considering visiting us for the first time or has already been a guest of ours, we hope to be able to welcome you at the idyllic Silkeborg, at Hotel Dania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dania Hotel Silkeborg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.