We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely retreat for work and play” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Silkeborg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Silkeborg to your Saves list
Scandic Silkeborg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Udgaardsvej, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Silkeborg West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silkeborg
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Homely retreat for work and play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had to work a UK bank Holiday weekend in summer in 2012 and I had promised my son that I would do something cool with him. My boss allowed me to take him with me on my trip to Silkeborg, and on recommendation I booked the Scandic there.

It was a night drive from the airport when we arrived but it was pretty easy to find. The check in staff were charm itself and made a fuss of my 12 year old son. They upgraded my room to a double with bunk beds. We didn't need this as we shared the giant comfy double bed, but they were impressive how they folded out of cabinets on the walls !

Not opulent but a very comfortable room: large bathroom, flat screen TV, and a picture window open to the grass at the rear of the hotel.

My son noticed a trampoline back there for kids to use and loved to climb out of the window for a bounce when he felt like it !

This Scandic is very well equipped: there is a huge swimming pool in a giant sunroom outback overlooking countryside. Amazingly it never had any other users when we were in it.

Pool table, gym , darts board all gave distraction.

Breakfast was up to usual Scandic standard with lots of coldcuts, local cheese, pastries and a raft of hot "american" items.

We borrowed the hotel cycles every day , and found it was a lovely ride along the lakes to Silkeborg town centre: a quaint place with lots to do and places to eat. Nearby there is also the Aqua wildlife park which was a wonderful day in the sun with my boy.

Silkeborg surprised me as it makes for a pretty excellent destination for a short adventure holiday for a father and son, and teh Scandic was just about perfect as a place to use as a base during this time.

It is a 10-minute taxi ride ( or a cycle!) from the town centre and major business parks but the payoff is peace in the lovely lake district.

We really enjoyed our stay in Silkeborg and in the Scandic. We intend to revisit with all the family in summer 2013.

Room Tip: On the back with a view of the pond and lawns is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
16
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Have used this hotel a few times, always enjoyed my stay. Nice friendly staff and good food in the restaurant if a little pricey, but then it is Scandinavia. About a 35-40 min walk to the town, nice in the summer through the park, or a £10 taxi ride. Silkeborg is a nice town lots of shops, and cafe's. for the more adventurous drinker try the Admirallin Bar on a Friday afternoon, interesting !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good well appointed rooms. Hotel is a little bit too far from Silkeborg and will require a taxi/drive to visit the centre.
Hotel staff are great, bar staff are a bit slow but they have to deal with orders from the restaurant too. Food is fantastic, breakfast is good but dinner is better, Jamie Oliver's (as much as I can't stand him) menu is excellent but the Scandic Angus Burger with chilli mayo is worth writing home about! Yeah, it's expensive but it's Denmark.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed four nights. Good Breakfast, ok room and ok staff . Bar prices were just tooooo high. 85 kroner for a 75cl beer is a joke. Did not eat in the resturant . A bit too far from center of town to walk but only a quick taxi ride. Nice wooded area by Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nice hotel, on the outskirt of the (small) town. Transport is required to go anywhere. Rooms are small & simple, not flashy luxury of any kinds, but it all works (old skool TV!). Considering there was a wall bed still folded I am really wondering how you can stay in such a room with a family.

Room floor is of wood (and so is much of the furniture), which can be a bit noisy, but I did not had any problem with noisy neighbors of any kind, it looked like I was in the hotel by myself.

The working desk is very small and half round, hardly something you can work on. The bed is ok, but only a single small plow which did not match the room standard. Bathroom has a toilet, shower & sink. Little amenities in the bathroom, only soap is provided. Coffee & thee making facilities in small quantities, ironing board in the room. Missed a small note block with pen, maybe the cleaning missed out on it.

Breakfast buffet is included & is better then expected. Nice fresh & very good selection, typical European breakfast. For dinner the restaurant seems always packed, looks like pre-booked for tour groups (I was there during school holiday season).

Personnel is friendly, I did not encounter any lack of service. However I had some Laundry done, which when ready is not brought to the room, but you need to pick it up yourself. Weird.

Good things:
- Internet connectivity (wifi) & speed (18M up & down stream) is excellent! (and free!)
- Restaurant food was excellent

You can summarize the hotel as a typical danish modest quality. For 890 DKK (150USD), including breakfast & internet, It seems like a nice deal.

Room Tip: My room was on the same floor as the reception, but due to the hilly environment this means actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Cosy rooms, OK in size. Not the place for a romantic getaway, but would recommend it for all others. The buffets (breakfast, lunch and build-your-own-burger) were good and varied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Modern room, friendly staff, great breakfast just shame the location is far from town a bus or taxi is required. Enjoyed my stay here but aimed really at business market only. Would stay again

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Silkeborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Silkeborg

Address: 2 Udgaardsvej, Silkeborg 8600, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Silkeborg West)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Silkeborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silkeborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Silkeborg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Silkeborg is a well-furnished, pleasant and welcoming hotel with a beautiful setting in one of the most scenic areas of Denmark. This is the ideal location for business travellers and families, who quickly feel at home in the architect-desiged surroundings that include fitness center and swimming pool. Scandic Silkeborg islocated on national route no. 15, Making it very easy to get to, and when you arrive, you will ind abundant free parking. This is the ideal base for meetings, conferences and touring this area of outstanding natural beauty within easy reach of all the attractions Jytland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Silkeborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Silkeborg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Silkeborg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.