We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this hotel unless you enjoy dirt and noise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Regina to your Saves list
Scandic Regina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fonnesbechsgade 20, Herning 7400, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Regina City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Herning
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel unless you enjoy dirt and noise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was placed in a room at 3rd floor arriving late in the evening/night and after the first meeting with the toilet, which looked like it had not been clean ever, Iwent to bed. 5 am I woke up as if I were on the highway, and right - one front face directly out to a 4 lane highway. There is bad isolation so whether the windows were closed or not, the noise was unbearable.
I changed room as I was 'lucky' they had one free, but this room was only half as noise, simply because both sides of the hotel is surrended by traffic heavy roads.

So - there are other, older hotels in Herning, which is less costly but thousand times more value for the money.

Room Tip: Request with guarantee you get a room away from the 4 lane highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
14
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torino, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent Staff...which counts a lot. For the rest, rooms a bit old but spacey, quiet, good breakfast. Not too much to comment about, mainly a hotel where you will go for Business, not for a romantic getaway...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Scandic Regina hotel 5 times now. I travel to Denmark for work, and Herning is close to where I go to work, so my colleagues and I stay there a lot. The Scandic Regina is very outdated and old. I don't think the cleaning staff really does much at all when they go through the rooms every day. On my last trip, I realized that all of the hotel rooms had their mini-fridges removed. I was a little disappointed in that. But there was a sign in the elevator saying that they were going to upgrade to better televisions. So that is a plus. The only reason that this hotel doesn't get a terrible rating, is because of it's pretty good location and the hotel staff. The staff is always so very helpful. They are so nice and friendly, and have made things so much better when we are there. They helped us with translation, booking trains, directions, and made sure we had an iron and a fan in the room when we arrived. The staff is great. The location is very nice because it is just down the street from a main street in Herning with all the bars and restaurants, stores, etc. The only bad part about the location is that it is near the main roadway on one side, and has a bus station on the back side. So it can be loud at times. Without air conditioning, I like to sleep with the windows cracked, but at times it is too loud to do so. Overall the staff is great, and the location is pretty good. If this Scandic were upgraded, it would be a pretty great hotel.

Room Tip: Take your pick with rooms. Front side is the main roadway, back side is the bus station. So, I rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svedala, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed twice at Scandic Regina in Herning. Very centrally located hotel rigth next to the train station and short walk from main shopping street.
The hotel it self needs to be renovated and to by pleasant surprised this has now been planned.
It might be value for money after the renevation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Have been here for few times and is quite satisfied. The hotel itself is quite old and really needs renovation. The rooms are big enough and the view ok, but needs repairing. They are nicely said out of style. Still clean and gives you nice sleep.

The restaurant is also decent with different kind of food to offer. Breakfast (with the cheesecutter!) was a little bit disappointment but anyway is doing what it should do.

Service has always been ok and there's a little shop in the reception hall.

The best part of the hotel is maybe the location.

Can though recommend this for business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms are old, the furniture is broken, mold in the bathroom, the windows cannot be closed properly. Service: I was asking for a toothbrush and I was nicely sent to the little mini-shop to buy one for 60dkk. After relatively high expectations considering the room rate I was badly disappointed by Scandic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had a room at the 6 th floor during the night it was quite windy, the windows where not closing tight enough so there was a whistling noise all night long. I complained the morning after but it seemed that they don't care. The standrd of the rooms are below Scandic average and the whole hotel is old and in deperate need of an upgrade. After an evening in Herning with my collegues we went to the bar for a last beer, I gave up my scandic membership voucher to help my collegue to settle the bar tap. I ended up having the beers put up on my hotel bill, eventhough we very clarly stated that my collegue was taking the beers on his room, sloppy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Regina

Address: Fonnesbechsgade 20, Herning 7400, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Regina City)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > West Jutland > Herning Municipality > Herning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Herning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Regina in Herning Hotel Scandic Regina has a great location in the centre of Herning, close to the train station and the town's cultural attractions. Hotel Scandic Regina is situated at the hub between Herning's cultural attractions, shops and major transport connections. The hotel has the perfect location, just a few minutes' walk from the town centre. We offer excellent opportunities to experience life in this modern conference and exhibition town. See well known performers at BOXEN the Jyske Bank multi-arena, visit exhibitions and trade shows at Messecenter Herning or take the family for a fun trip to the amusement centre Baboon City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Regina City Herning

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.