We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre to your Saves list
Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place Boston | Citis, 14200 Herouville Saint Clair, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    102
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
71
18
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

part business trip for other half and everything was clean, comfortable, friendly and up to date. Good breakfast included at reasonable rate. Weather was great and there is grass surrounding hotel - a bench or two would have been welcome

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night to meet up with our son, who had previously booked. We booked it online, and requested that our room be near his. On arrival, we gave our name, and the very friendly receptionist (whose English is superb) immediately said "Oh, yes, you requested a room near to your son". And it was - we were very impressed. Clean, large bedroom, with an excellent walk-in shower, and the bed was very comfortable - very good night's sleep. The tram over the road from the hotel runs every 10 mins. or so into Caen. It is a cheap and efficient way to the city centre. Would recommend that you have lots of coins for the ticket machine, as it does not take paper money. We did not use the hotel restaurant, so cannot comment on it, as we went into old Caen to eat, where there are dozens of good places to eat. We would definitely stay again, and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stopped here en route between Brittany and Calais. Located off a main road and easily found, but quiet. Room OK; perhaps in need of renovation, but excellent shower. We did not eat here but took advantage of the fact that there is a tram stop across the main road which will take you into Caen in about 15/20 minutes. For that reason it would make a good base from which to explore the city without parking problems, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed one night - it was a really pleasant stay. Rooms were quite, the bathroom Was HUGE on any scale. Staff were actually quite friendly. So well organised and efficient. The rooms were great, clean modern. Simply - I would stay again, no problem at all.

Room Tip: Breakfast was very French - great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre

Address: 2 Place Boston | Citis, 14200 Herouville Saint Clair, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Herouville Saint Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Herouville Saint Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 88 rooms. The hotel Mercure Caen Herouville is situated close to the Côte de Nacre and is 10 kilometres from the beach. 300 metres from the ring road (exit 5 CHU) , 5 minutes from Caen city center and 10 minutes from the airport. Several air-conditioned meeting rooms. The hotel features a bar Le Calix and a restaurant Le Normand and offers a vast parking lot for 100 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Cote De Nacre Hotel Herouville Saint Clair
Mercure Herouville Saint Clair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.