We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in the bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais de la Reine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ranohira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Relais de la Reine
Save Saved
You added Le Relais de la Reine to your Saves list
313 Ranohira | BP 01, Ranohira 313, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranohira
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in the bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is beautifully design of stone and wood - very modern. The rooms are large and comfortable and the dining room is striking and beautiful. Service is good as is the food. There is also a nice pool and a wonderful view from the front entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
64
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Le Relais de la Reine is amazing, it is heaven on earth. The most expensive rooms are 98 euro's per night, and well worth it. They are beautifulI, the bathroom was the size of my living room. If this hotel would be in Europe, it would cost you at least 700 a night. The people are very sweet (like all Malagasy) and the three course dinner is fantastic! I felt like a celebrity while staying here, and we will definitely come back to this gorgeous place.

Room Tip: I would take the more expansive rooms, there is only a ten euro difference, but extremely luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After having ploughed through the sand and the mud along the west coast of Madagascar, it was more than a pleasure to stay in Le Relais de la Reine. We received a warm welcome, and all staff was utmost friendly and helpful. The bungalows are beautiful, food is good, and the gardens are splendid. A top location in a country to which we wish a better economical future for the people's sake. The fact that Le Relais de la Reine engages in ecological tourism and invests in local development adds to the very positive impression we have about the owners and their staff. Thumbs up for them !

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent two amaizing nights here and I can only say everything was perfect: the room was incredibly clean, the pool and the garden were perfectly kept, the cusine very well done, the service like a five stars hotel. My advice: in the night wait until the electricity goes off to see the shining stars above the sky in the garden!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were told by our guide that this is the oldest hotel around the reserve, you can tell this as the hotel does seem to be gentley merging in to its surroundings, this is a good thing! It is built in a gentle valley and is very sheltered. Theer is the main building which has the bar and restaurnty in then a number of little clumps of rooms in a horse shoe each has its own outside setaing area, the whole hotel including the bedrooms are modern and clean, though are 3 rooms were all twins? Can not comment on any others. The food was very good as well both for breakfast and dinner, and the picnic sandwiches were good as well. The grounds surrounding the hotel are very nice and you can easily walk to the sister hotel and around there as well if you want we saw a lots of birds walking around and small herd of goats which belong to the hotel? Plus the pet tortoises!

The only downsides was that the mozzie nets again were more show than functional as they did not quite reach the floor and unfortunately I think we all had a cockroach in our room, this is not due to the hotels hygiene which was very good ( we wandered around the whole of the hotel including to areas we should not have done) but due to the fact that they are just part of life, much the same as a mosquito.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We made a pit stop at this hotel before our flight from Ranohira and just had enough time to pack in a quick breakfast before making a dash for the private airstrip ( which is located in the backyard of this wonderful hotel!). The hotel is simply spectacular with all the creature comforts conceivable - swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, private airstrip and even a riding center!). The food experience here was by far the best that we had in Madagascar. We settled for the American breakfast and the quality was comparable to the best restaurants in the world. The staff was non-intrusive and yet supremely attentive, which was superb. We also took a tour of the hotel and saw some of the rooms - they were nothing short of amazing. Definitely coming back and staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent service, friendly staff, fabulous location, good food and sympathetically furnished in keeping with the local environment. What more can one ask for in a hotel? It was the perfect place to stay whilst experiencing the Isalo National Park - we just wished we could have stayed longer than the 3 nights we were there. Highly recommended - both the park and the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais de la Reine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais de la Reine

Address: 313 Ranohira | BP 01, Ranohira 313, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Fianarantsoa Province > Ranohira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranohira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel of character, perfectly integrated into an oasis of over 40 hectares, opened on a fantastic panorama, it is the starting point for excursions in the massif of Isalo. Le Relais de la Reine is located in the South West of Madagascar, in border of the Massif de l'Isalo. It is the country of Bara, semi-nomadic people, traveling with their herds of Zébus in a fabulous Western decor.Despite its geographic isolation, access to the Relais de la Reine is easy, using the National 7, linking Antananarivo to Toliara, via Antsirabe and Fianarantsoa. This road, the most touristic of Madagascar, provides a permanent scenery.The hotel is located near the village of Ranohira, 700 km from Antananarivo by road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Reine Hotel Ranohira
Le Relais De La Reine Madagascar/Ranohira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais de la Reine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.