We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New managers. Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daintree Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Daintree Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   336 Cape Tribulation Road, Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New managers. Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Margaret and her team have come in to 'recover' the place and are doing a great job. You are in the rainforest so don't expect ultra-luxury, but Margaret will go out of her way to make your stay friendly and comfortable. They are fixing the place up and it is very clean.

Don't expect anything from the pub across the road which is a shame, but Margaret puts on a dinner a few nights a week or linc haven down the road put on a great dinner. Daintree is an amazing place and this place really fits in to the spirit of the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    3
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We only stayed for 1 night but we had a really great stay here, the staff were so accommodating and were very friendly, kind people. They gave us lots of advice on the best places to go in Cape Tribulation to really see the best of the rainforest and gave us good recommendations for places to eat. Our room was very clean, we had a very comfortable bed and nice décor. I have to say I had the best sleep here I've had since travelling for over 1 year so I was very happy in the morning, what made it even more perfect was that we were lucky to see a cassowary in the garden! I would definitely stay again and recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I recently spent 3 nights here with my wife just past new years having dumped the kids with our extended family nearby. We just wanted a few nights away to ourselves. Normally I wouldn't bother leaving accommodation reviews but having read the comments on the review below I couldn't differ more from her comments and thought it sounded at odds with a fair and honest description. Yes there clearly has been and is a redecoration program in place, and from what I can see, what's been done so far is only a massive positive for the property.

We got quite friendly with Ben, the proprietor whilst we were there, well a few conversations anyway and his enthusiasm for the place is obvious. If he does everything that he says he will, and I have no reason to think he wont then he'll have saved a lovely motel that had been left to weather in its own skin. I'd have no problem with staying there again, if I ever venture half way around the world again that is!

Clearly if you're looking to be waited on hand and foot then this is not the place for you, It's a motel, not the Ritz, but, if like us you want a nice base to get out and about a mooch and kick back for a few hours by the pool (which wasn't dirty btw), try the local restaurants rather than be tied to one place, then it's perfect.

NB I've put 1/5 for fitness center because there isn't one. Restaurant is hard to quantify as the motel itself doesn't have one. There is however a fully equipped kitchen should you want to make something for yourselves and the pub across the road has a half decent for brekkie. 3/5 for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We often return to the Daintree Retreat because it has been such a wonderful place to stay. To our sorrow it has now been sold. The room was clean enought but the whole place has the appearance of being unkept and uncared for. Most of the rooms were not made up, the verandah was dirty, the driveway was dirty, we went to go for a swim and the pool was so filthy that we could not swim. The rooms lacked the ambiance of days gone by, you could not even purchase breakfast. We will not return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi Jackie,

I'm terribly sorry that your stay was a disappointment. Unfortunately your visit coincided with a great deal of refurbishment work being done to the motel which has indeed left the place looking less than stellar. We are, however, making progress and hope that the motel will soon be better than ever. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed in room #11 for 5 nights. Lots of privacy, lots of space, and so relaxing! The room was lovely and clean, the bed very comfortable, and we even had a big fridge and a nice little balcony to ourselves. The outdoor kitchen is missing a good BBQ but other than that, everything was great. It was great to be staying right in the middle of such a beautiful part of the rainforest. Judy is a very friendly and welcoming host. She has been very helpful when it came to planning our holiday, and has made our stay very pleasant. A quick look in all the unoccupied rooms (they are open to allow air circulation) confirmed that the same attention to tidiness and decoration was in all the rooms.

Room Tip: For privacy, definitely chose room # 11 (The Tree Frog). A bit more expensive but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my 2nd stay in this accommodation, both times just as enjoyable, the manager Judy couldn't do enough to help us and also because she wasn't able to be there when we arrived, we received a bottle of wine and free breakfasts for the 3 nights we stayed.I call that excellent service. I love the Daintree and there is always something new to see, Judy was more than helpful with where to go to eat as the restaurant wasn't open at night but with so many great places to check out it worked out well for us. The Rainforest Retreat Motel is quite central to everything, and even though we had some rain there was still plenty to see and do. I thouroughly recommend this accommodation and it is well priced as well, if you're on a budget. Thanks Judy for a wonderful time, Lorna and Claire

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great stay at the Retreat. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. We loved the location and the fact that the Retreat merges into the rainforest rather than being set apart. In hindsight, we wish we'd booked for longer and will certainly be back next time. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daintree Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Rainforest Retreat

Address: 336 Cape Tribulation Road, Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Rainforest Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daintree Rainforest Retreat is a small family owned motel. It sits nestled in the forest surrounded by towering trees and lush gardens. While we do not have a restaurant we do offer a covered BBQ area with its own sitting area and a fully equipped and comfortable communal kitchen together with 2 further sitting/dining areas. The Cow Bay Hotel is a 2 minute walk and while it is very close, it can be neither seen nor heard from the motel. Our rooms are cooled by ceiling fans and guests can further escape the tropical heat with a dip in our palm fringed swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Daintree Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daintree Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.