We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hostel is amazing! Very friendly staff and great night tours of the Daintree rain forest!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crocodylus Village

Save Saved
You added Crocodylus Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crocodylus Village
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   161 Buchanan Creek Road, Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Night Walk/Kayak Discount
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“This hostel is amazing! Very friendly staff and great night tours of the Daintree rain forest!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed at the YHA Crocodylus Village in a family room for only one night (unfortunately) and absolutely loved it! We found the friendliest staff ever at this hostel. The hostel also has a restaurant and the food is amazing! Sleeping in tents in the rainforest is something exciting which you can experience there. I definitely recommend the guided night tours with Possum where you go right into the rainforest, see what's going on at night and once you learn more about it, it really is not as scary any more. The owners are trying to sell this place at the moment, but we hope it will stay just the way it is!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    55
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
72
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter holidays. The "huts" are situated in the rainforest and not terribly far from one another. One of the reviewers were certainly right about hearing all the noise from fellow guests. The rainforest setting is very nice, however the noise from the other guests really spoils it. The power goes out around midnight which i thought would be terrible since that meant the fan would turn off but it never did. The huts are REALLY REALLY basic, there is no power socket so forget about charging your camera batteries or plugging anything in. The bathrooms are small and the hot water in our room wasn't very reliable. The door to the toilet was falling off it's hinges.

The netting around the tent had holes and one side had no netting at all which allowed all the bugs to come in at night. The double bed we had had a netting around it but it also had holes all over it. I've seen other reviews on here that called it sparse...well that's quite true! We couldn't lock the door either so don't leave anything of value in the room.

The kitchen was decent and had several fridges to store all of one's food. The restaurant served decently portioned dinners for $15 from 6.30pm-7.30pm. The common area has a pool table and a BBQ along with two pay internet terminals and wi-fi.

We booked in for two nites but cancelled out of the second. When i told the lady at reception that we planned on leaving after the first night, she told me that she had to turn away a bunch of people because everything everything was fully booked. She told me we'd get our money back if she could get someone else in the room for that second night but strangely enough that never happened. Despite "so many people" calling about a room (easter apparently being a very busy period), our room apparently remained empty so we lost our second night. I have no reason to believe they were dishonest but one never knows.

We didn't enjoy our stay for much the same reasons as other people who've given it bad reviews. We should have listened to them and stayed away!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

I must admit i was a little dubious about staying at Crocodylus, especially after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor!

It shouldn't take a genius to figure out that this isn't five star luxury accommodation, the permanent tents are litterally smack bang in the middle of the rainforest! But we had the most indredible experience there and i would highly recommend it to anyone.

We stayed for 2 nights in the double ensuite accommodation. The cabins are (obviously) basically furnished but very clean. You have a mosquito net over your bed to keep away any unwanted bugs! (But honestly, this was not a problem AT ALL during our stay, and i'm the first person to get a bit scared over creepy crawlies!) The bathroom has a sink, shower and toilet and i was surprised to find that towels and soap are provided! There is also a ceiling fan above the bed but the temperature wasn't too much of a problem while we were there, i imagine you'd be grateful for it in the summer months though!

The food available on-site is incredible and i would encourage anyone to eat here rather than venturing further afield (it is a bit of a trek to the nearest restaurant!) Food is freshly prepared and there were always plenty of options that varied from day to day.

There is also a well equipped laundary room, two computers with internet and a pool. The lounge/resturant area is fantastic, really spacious. We spent both our nights sitting in the bar area playing scrabble with a drink while tropical rain battered down outside (it's all under cover but the sides are open to the elements making a fanastic viewing platform!)

I would also REALLY recommend the sunset paddle trek - you have to get up pretty early, and it is hard work! But it is definately worth it. You paddle to a couple of deserted coves and then settle down for a extravagant tropical breakfast on a deserted beach...it's just incredible and great value for money.

I would issue a few words of warning with regards to staying at Crocodylus - we were told when we arrived that under no circumstances should we leave food in out tent on account of the rainforest pademelons (big mice!) that will sniff it out from miles away and find any means necessary of breaking in and stealing it. Naive as we are, we thought cereal bars in foil wrappers were the exception the the rule...! We woke up in the middle of our first night there to hear something scurrying around the cabin, my partner grabbed his mobile phone for light (no electricity after 10pm!) and sure enough we saw one of our bags dart across the floor! We then spent the next 2 hours trying to catch it - to no avail! For fear that something bigger would break in, my partner insisted on walking the 20m back to the car, through the rainforest in the pitch black with nothing but his mobile light to guide him! We're talking so dark you cannot see your hand in front of your face!

So, rule number one - don't keep food! And rule number two - take a torch!

Nightime in the rainforest is truely something to behold though, we even heard (what we presume!) was a Cassowary stomping about in the middle of the night - it was incredible!

If you want to experience the rainforest first hand then you should stay here - at least for one night! One night without luxury will not kill you, and i promise you will never forget your stay here!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

My partner and I spent seven wonderful nights and had a greatest time at Crocodylus. Speaking for myself, it was beyond my wildest dreams, to be able to sit underneath the canopy of a truly wonderful rainforest (I wanted to bring it home with me!), relishing the air, watching for anything that moved, loving the greenness, the serenity. Sometimes at night or early morning I'd just sit on the landing and relish the feel of the rainforest.
We had no idea what to expect as we didn't see any of the reviews, only went on what we read on the Website. I didn't mind the 'roughness' of the place as some of the other reviewers saw Crocodylus. We just made do with what was there and that was enough for us. We had an ensuite cabin to ourselves. We didn't want to be around lots of noise, people. Those we met in the 'Jungle Nest' Restaurant gave us enough people contact as also those we met during the day.
It wasn't until after we arrived that we realised we could cook our own meals. But that was ok as I didn't want to do any night time cooking. After all, I was there to have a break from my normal routines!
As I have a hearing impairment I wasn't able to hear all the sounds of the forest but as time went on, I felt my ears were becoming more attuned to the stillness and am sure I could hear things unable to before.
We did have a resident in our cabin - a frog! Plus, be advised you don't leave food of any description in your cabin! I had columbine caramels that had been taken out of one of my bags and later found out it was a mulami (native mouse) stealing them!
Terrie and Ian and the staff were all wonderful, making us feel very much at a home away from home as the locals that turned up for drinks, chatting to us and asking how was our day. And 'Possum', the guide who takes you on the day and night time walks - what a mine of information.! He was great! We also met quite a few fellow travellers who felt similarly to us.
We hired a car from Cairns so were able to move at our leisure, travelling up and down the Cape Trib road, down to Daintree River, Mossman River/Gorge, and PD.
I didn't mind a bit of rain, (the morning walk I went on it rained but hardly felt it!) after all, you are in a tropical rainforest!
If you want quietness, solitude, have a love of the Australian bush, are prepared to accept some inconveniences, want to get away from 'the maddening crowd' then Crocodylus is for you!
Our one big disappointment, we didn't see a Cassowary, though did see evidence of one.
If we are ever able to do so, Carey and I would love to go back again and spend more time there visiting places we did see again and those we didn't see and hope to see the elusive Cassowary!

  • Liked — didn't have to do anything!
  • Disliked — nothing to comment about
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

My wife and I just stayed for 4 days here and had a great time. It is great to be smack in the middle of the rainforest. We are used to camping, so staying in permanent tents with comfortable beds was great. We also liked staying in a tent with its own bathroom and shower. We sampled the dinner offered every night, all food was very good and reasonably priced. The owners are very friendly, Terry has a great sense of humor. Karen was very helpful with all our trip arrangements via email (had to move dates twice) and with suggestions for things to do. Some of their suggestions made our trip more enjoyable and saved us money, for example they were booking bus transfers for us from Cairns to Cow Bay and to Port Douglas, but adding it all up they suggested that we might look into a rental car, which turned out to be much cheaper and gave us more flexibility to explore. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and were pleasantly impressed after having read mixed reviews. Basically, you stay in large safari tents which are located right in the rainforest - it can be a little dark and gloomy even in the middle of the day, but you really do get the feeling of being at one with nature! We had a family room which was sparsely furnished but clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful (although that was our experience all over Australia). The pool was freezing as it didnt seem to recieve much daylight although I'm sure that wouldn't be an issue in summer. The meals were good - but they do have a reasonably well equipped camp kitchen. They organise various excursions and although we didnt we do any of them, I was told by other guests that the kayak trip to Snapper island was really good and also the night spotlighting one.

  • Liked — the "back to nature" aspect
  • Disliked — dark during the day!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Crocodylus is a great place to stay if you are looking to be right in the rainforest without spending a small fortune. The staff are freindly and very helpful and the cabins are comfortable withe clean linnen and hot showers. There is no airconditioning and the generator is switched off at around 11:00 PM but after a full day of activities this diddnt bother us at all, although I would avise that bringing a torch is a good idea. The food was very good we enjoyed evrey meal and it was very good value.

Internet is available via two coin operated PC's and there is a pool table, darts board, jigsaws cards etc but most imprortantly a well stocked bar with happy hour from 6:30pm.

  • Liked — Location in the rainforest and freindly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Power off at 11:00PM
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crocodylus Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodylus Village

Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Road, Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crocodylus Village 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best value eco experience of the Daintree and Cape Tribulation rainforest that's guaranteed to not break the budget. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms, and en-suite chalets that sleep up to 8. On-site Crocodylus has eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. Our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crododylus, your village in the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crocodylus Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Crocodylus Village Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crocodylus Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.