We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crocodylus Village

Save Saved
You added Crocodylus Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crocodylus Village
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   161 Buchanan Creek Road, Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Night Walk/Kayak Discount
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights last week. The beds were adequate for what we paid and the atmosphere is friendly, the location is great. If anything it was too quiet for us, its definitely not the known place to go as a backpacker so I wouldnt be worried about noise. Book the trip to the great barrier reef leaving from cape tribulation and do the night walk with possum. Both excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the amenities to get a jungle style experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    55
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
72
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn't stay here so can't comment on the accommodation, but we did eat there three times and really enjoyed the food. Dinner is only between 6.30 and 7.30 but that's no problem, especially if you combine your meal with happy hour between 6 and 7. The atmosphere is very friendly. Steve, at the bar is gregarious and interesting and there are other travellers to talk to of very different ages and backgrounds. Sitting at long trestle tables, it is easy to strike up conversations. I had Green Thai Fish Curry twice, it was so good. It's also a reasonably priced, which came as a huge relief after so many really expensive places in remote areas!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a fantastic time - a beautiful experience - it is so unique to have this place right in the middle of the rainforest. I am amazed at how patient and helpful the staff were - Steve always answered any questions, and delighted our daughter by opening up her coconut. We used the self catering kitchen which was very handy. If you want to be right in the heart of the rainforest then this is the place for you!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at crocodylus one night and took the kayak trip to snapper island they organize. Such a great experience to sleep on an aboriginee (and deserted) island, with a great guide and incredible stars! Highly recommended, friendly people, good service and beautiful location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently. Unfortunately our tent was the closest one to the communal area where drinking games were being played in to the small hours - so if you want an early night, ask to be located well away from this area.
The location is very unique, on a previous stay here we had a cassarwary walk right past our tent.
We enjoyed the Sunday night BBQ which was very good value.
If you are looking for privacy then go for the Rainforest Bungalow option.
On our previous stay we did the night walk which was great and also the early morning kayak/snorkel which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A unique and amazing experience staying in a rainforest hut made welcome by hosts Steve and Sally. Serenading frogs seemed to induce more natural sleep.
Supplied meals were delicious and the sunday night BBQ was fantastically good value. Or you can cook your own meals in a communal kitchen.
Rainforest wildlife was interesting but not intrusive and the nightly visits by the bandicoots to the dining area were popular.
Night tour by possum was interesting and informative. Steve and Sally make superb hosts and Crocodylus will be top of our list to return to.

Room Tip: Some huts have 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was really excited to be staying at Crocodylus for three nights, however upon arrival and check in, i was quickly appalled by the school camp, dormitory-style accommodation, that was supposed to be a "jungle hut" for two people. The bed was like sleeping in a burrito, so uncomfortable! The restaurant/cafe was only open for 1.5 hrs for breakfast and 2 hrs for dinner, after stating on the website that it was open for "breakfast, lunch and dinner". The menu was set each night, and the self-catering kitchen was absolutely filthy! Mould under the sinks, benches not wiped down, fridges left with old, unwanted food, and the communal utensils should have been incinerated. My husband and I survived one night only, and when we went to check out the next morning, there was no-one available at reception until 4:00 in the afternoon. There was simply a sign stating "Today's check ins, take a map, and find your room." Very impersonal service, and overall a HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daintreecrocodylus, Owner at Crocodylus Village, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Very sad to now know these guests were so unhappy

To clarify hours:

Reception is open 7.30-11am and 4-9.30pm - yes, individualised maps are left out for our scheduled arrivals noting where there allocated room is and to make themselves at home
Breakfast is 7.30-10am and Dinner 6.30-7.30pm
Catering kitchen is cleaned daily and left behind food is cleared every Friday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crocodylus Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodylus Village

Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Road, Cow Bay, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crocodylus Village 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best value eco experience of the Daintree and Cape Tribulation rainforest that's guaranteed to not break the budget. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms, and en-suite chalets that sleep up to 8. On-site Crocodylus has eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. Our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crododylus, your village in the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crocodylus Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Crocodylus Village Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crocodylus Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.