We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
105 Money Point Road, Bay St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Anaheim, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We found this place by chance and what a wonderful surprise! Beautiful views, clean rooms and the owner was just as friendly and nice as they come! There is a beautiful beach nearby, easy access and not crowded. There is also a pier down the road and it is a rustic setting. We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    14
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Truly a gem in one of the most beautiful places in the world. My wife stayed here a couple of years ago with her mother, loved it and brought me for a two night stay. The nicest, kindest owners I have ever met. Made us feel like family. Views that are worth a million dollars. I can't wait to come back. Not only for this wonderful little town, but to see the great friends I have made in Bay St. Lawrence.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We found this lovely place through Trip Advisor. The room was a good size and was very clean. The small kitchenette was great to have for cooking our own meals. The owners Mel and Debbie were very nice and they kept us well informed of local activities and things to see and do. My favourite thing was the view. Sitting up on a hill over looking the water....spectacular! It's a great jumping off point for touring Cape Breton. Glad we went and would definitely stay there again if we ever get back to Cape Breton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the nicest surprize of our trip in terms of accommodation. The rooms are sizeable, clean and the view is unbeatable! The owner [Melvin] couldn't help us enough with any questions or with suggestions for things to do and sights to see. The kitchenette had everything we wanted - we had breakfast every morning, made lunches for the day and then had dinner at one the fabulous sea food restaurants that abound on Cape Breton.

If you are looking for a clean, quiet, well serviced location with a view that will leave you reeling - don't pass this one up. This was our 4th trip to Cape Breton and best find yet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This motel is a little gem that we found with help of Trip Advisor. The view is unsurpassed and we have traveled a lot. The owners Mel and Debbie make you feel that you are family. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Hard to get anything better than this.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here when we were exploring Cape Breton National Park. Bay St Lawrence is a quiet location and the Sunset Oasis is an ideal spot to just prop or use as a base to explore the area.
Our room was spotless, comfortable and the small kitchenette allowed us to prepare an evening meal, without having to go out to eat.
The owners Debbie and Melvin are friendly and accomodating, and the view from the room door is an absolute bonus.
We slept soundly both nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Burton's, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mel and Debbie Burton are not only very friendly -- genuinely nice people -- but are also extremely helpful. It's obvious they make a real effort to give their guests an excellent value for their money. The place was spotlessly clean, the furnishings were in very good condition, the kitchenette was well equipped, the satellite TV and WIFI worked very well, and each room has a great view, though that view pales in comparison to what you see from outside the rooms.... it's a truly spectacular setting. If what you want is a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay in as peaceful and beautiful a place as you can imagine, all at a very reasonable price, you can't go wrong here. We felt sad to leave, as we felt so at home at Burton's. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel

Address: 105 Money Point Road, Bay St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Bay St. Lawrence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay St. Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burtons Sunset Oasis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.