We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation at Horsely hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horsley Hills

Horsley Hills
Near A.P. Tourism's Governors' Bungalow | Mpl, Chittoor 517325, India
8341117445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Chittoor
Type: Other, Outdoors
Attraction details
hosur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Vacation at Horsely hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a memorable time at the Hill station . Enjoyed the monsoon climate, rainy daytime, chillness, trecking, valley views, children special play area. , palatable food, excellent service with a smile and friendly faces

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Sit back, relax - Dont expect a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Take this place if you want to spend a weekend away from heat, traffic, noise, pollution and want to relax, do nothing much or just mildly walk (not trek - walk). Horsley hills is good for 24 hours including your night stay/sleep and getting up late. Anything more than that will bore you.

It is around 5 hours from Chennai and lot of State highway travels (which means smaller, no lights, no divider roads). Get to Madanapalle and from there Horsley Hills is quite near. Dont miss the left fork from Madanapalle road and then the arch that starts to Horsley. The climb to the top is not much and the drive along the hill is nothing to brag about. But the roads are free of potholes and the place is nice with lotsa photo ops for your profile picture.

The only hotel to stay is the APTDC's Haritha hill resort and that has a separate review. But for previews, this is a nice hotel to stay the night, has a nice swimming pool and a very expensive restaurant which lacks choices. The chicken for lunch costs Rs165/- for 5 pieces of "fully bone" chicken. For dinner, we ordered food from the small hotel outside APTDC and ate it at the room. To reach the hotel, walk to the left from the reception area of APTDC, towards the STD/ISD phone booth. The road turns left, choose the 2nd hotel/house. Place your order and collect it at the time they tell you.
There are supposedly some home-stays, but I did not find any ads/banners/notices/touts. You may have to ask around.

What to do:
Walk to the back side of the APTDC resort and get on the rock (if you have 1/4th of a daredevil in you) and take photos.
Walk around the Environmental park and take photos.
Go to the resthouse behind the environmental park, find the steps to the hills and climb and then trek. This part could be tough for the one's with no exercise. There is a path to the top but is mostly thick growth and trees and rocks. Do it for the sake of it and to test your stamina.
Swim around in the pool at APTDC. It is small and can get crowded.
Hope you get lucky. Use the massage - they are genuine Ayurvedic professionals from Kerala who know their job.
Walk around the hills. You would be at the edge of the hills for almost 80% of the time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Horsley Hills, AP Tourism Guesthouse. Place to relax..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wanted to take my family for a short weekend outing and we decided to go to Horsley Hills. It was our first visit and it turned out to be a good one. We decided to drive down (170Kms from Bangalore). The road was good overall. We took the Old madras road-Chintamani-madanapalli-Horsley Hills route). Reached horsley hills in about 4 hours. Since I booked the guesthouse in advance (online) the check-in was smooth. We booked the so called governors bungalow paid some 2700Rs./day. The rooms & toilets were quite decent. I stayed in many five star hotels..though this was not a five star accomodation..it was decent. However, service can improve. The property (Govt owned) is well maintained and neat and the hill itself is full of trees. Lots of nature/greenary. Perfect place for a stressed out/Nature loving IT guy/girl to take a weekend break :-)...The property also offers Ayurvedic massage (I got a massage done..it was really re-freshing, the Kerala Ayurveda Practioners were good and courteous). There is a nice pool..though I was too lazy to swin...kids were having nice fun. Opposite to the property there is a forest dept guesthouse..there is a 150 Yrs old Euclyptus tree..and also bizzare two separate trees with a shared branch..I have never seen that!! It was like some conjoined twins. The food was OK..din't like it much. There is an adventure camp near by..you can do tree climbing..buggy riding etc..there is also a good view point behind the govt bungalow..The air was fresh...the sound of wind blowing through the trees specially at night was really relaxing. Overall, we had a good peaceful time and I hope you have one too..!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahbubnagar, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so interesting Place to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hi all.., i went Horsley hills near to Madanpalli 2 days before just its a cool place to stay in summer and accommodation is provided by AP tourism too costly but better service., no bus facility at a time. we have book cab to reach there. only to buses available from madanpalli. we can book room directly when v reach there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not much of a tourist spot :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hi people,

This review would be more meaningful to Bangaloreons especially.

I do not understand why there's so much hype given to horsley hills. Its just a hill with a road to it. that's it. The vista the hill offers isnt worth mentioning. there are hardly any attractions on the hill. There are probably some adventure sports but you can find them easily anywhere in the city resorts.

If you feel that I might have a bad judgement, let me tell you that I have visited many places in Karnataka's western ghats. Places like Kemmengundi, Sringeri, Agumbe, Gokarna etc. These places are a million times better than Horsley hills.

Trust me, it isnt worth it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsley Hills also viewed

Bapatla, Andhra Pradesh
Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
 
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh
 

Been to Horsley Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsley Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.