We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a tourist spot :(” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Horsley Hills

Horsley Hills
Near A.P. Tourism's Governors' Bungalow | Mpl, Chittoor 517325, India
8341117445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Chittoor
Type: Other
Attraction details
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not much of a tourist spot :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hi people,

This review would be more meaningful to Bangaloreons especially.

I do not understand why there's so much hype given to horsley hills. Its just a hill with a road to it. that's it. The vista the hill offers isnt worth mentioning. there are hardly any attractions on the hill. There are probably some adventure sports but you can find them easily anywhere in the city resorts.

If you feel that I might have a bad judgement, let me tell you that I have visited many places in Karnataka's western ghats. Places like Kemmengundi, Sringeri, Agumbe, Gokarna etc. These places are a million times better than Horsley hills.

Trust me, it isnt worth it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice place to relax for 2 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A lovely and calm place....a chill place to relax. A good place for kids too. Few Adventures like walking over a bridge tied to trees. Good food and rooms. No sight seeing like other hill stations, no hectic schedule, so you will have all the time in hand. Mental relaxation. Stayed in Wind Whistle. Strong breeze makes the trees scream like waterfalls. A must see place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great view from the Top”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We reached Horsley Hills after a overnight train journey from Hyderabad to Madanapelle. This train station is only 26 kms from the hill station and convenient. Accomodation provided by AP tourism and is very good with a wide choice of cottages and rooms. Booking in advance would be helpful. The views of the valley provided from the top are spectacular and unexpected since the elevation is only 1300 metres. The hill station is located within a perimeter of about 1 km totally and this is a limiting factor if your family/group is not into adventure activities

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Horsley hills - excellent place to unwind and do some zorbing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Approach:
We drove from Hyderabad to Horsley Hills which is around 520 Km.

Accommodation:
We stayed in the Governors Bungalow which is named after the W D Horsley.

This suite was decorated quite tastefully and had excellent ambiance.
It was big enough to accommodate all the eight of us.

It costed 6K but was quite huge and proved quite economical as all of us could stay here.
(It has a huge bedroom, a big sitting room, two huge bath rooms and two access areas with ward robe and refrigerator).

There is only one available for rent and we made the reservation from the APTDC web site (no hassles).
Hence it might be better to make the booking of this one early.

There are also cottages available which are fenced and seemed nice. This is an alternative to consider
if the bungalow is not available. Cottages cost around 2.5K per night.
The property is quite huge and on an incline. It takes a good 10 minutes to reach the bungalow from reception
(quite a steep trek in itself!)

Check-in: Check in support staff were quite helpful. We made excellent time on the drive reaching the place and
hence were at the accommodation couple of hours early. They had the place available to us in couple of minutes!

Checkout: Check out was super too and we stayed an additional hour or so beyond the checkout time
and there is good understanding from the resort folks.

Natural beauty: The place is quite beautiful with gulmohar trees in full bloom. Also the view from the
hill top is excellent (it was right behind the governors bungalow).
The breeze is wonderful and at night you can see the completely starlit sky in full glory.
This is the top reason for staying put here.

Activities: There are a couple of adventure activities for Kids.
All of us took Zorbing where people are rolled down in a ball. It was quite enjoyable and inexpensive
(Rs 125 per person). There is a decent swimming pool where the water is quite delightfully cold and is
complimentary for the residents.

Food: Food was quite decent as this place is run by APTDC. Also this is the only game in town and you have to drive
25 kms to reach any alternative place for food (Madanapalle is the closest place).
The breakfast was good and there is a nice lunch (south indian) buffet available.
Evenings they have a decent menu to order from.

Service: The service was quite reasonable where we stayed. There is a separate kitchen in the bungalow and the Tea was quite
invigorating. However, due to the distance from the restaurant i would not recommend ordering food at the bungalow.

Weather: As the altitude is only 1300 Mts above sea level it a bit warm in the month of April / May.
However, the evenings are quite heavenly. We visited in April.

Summary: It is an excellent resort to plan a quiet week end. The approach road is excellent and it is a nice place to unwind.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway to Horsley Hills - An amazing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We decided to drive up to Horsley Hills from Chennai this Christmas Weekend (24-25 Dec, 2011). We were a group of 4 families (8 adults & 2 kids) and it was one of those trips where we enjoyed ourselves to the hilt. The elevation is a mere 1290 metres above sea level and that made us underestimate the weather at this time of the year. The place was extremely cold in the night and this chillness extended till early in the morning. Considering the weather at Chennai, this of course was a welcome change.

We stayed at the APTDC Hill Resort. This probably is the only good place to stay at Horsley Hills. We took 4 rooms (2 in the Governor's Bungalow @ Rs.2310 per room inclusive of tax and 2 in the Whispering Winds building @ Rs.1575 per room inclusive of tax). The booking was done online through their website (www.aptdc.in). The check-in at the resort was easy and very quick.

The APTDC Hill Resort is situated at a very nice location. There is a view-point behind the Governor's Bungalow from where we got a birds-eye view of the mountain range. The Resort also has a good restaurant that serves spicy yet tasty Andhra food. (Buffet for lunch & room service for dinner). The resort also has a bar, a swimming pool, a health spa and a play area for kids. The resort also offers adventure sports (predominantly rope games). We tried a couple of games and it was great fun.

There is also this so-called zoo opposite the APTDC resort, which houses some malnourished caged animals. Also outside the resort we tried the mirchi bhajjis, which taste was amazing.

Overall there is nothing much to do at Horsley Hills except to just relax. We went to Horsley Hills with low expectations and we were not disappointed. Rather we celebrated our decision to go there. Horsley Hills and the APTDC Hill Resort there, gave us an unique experience. My recommendation, go for it!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsley Hills also viewed

Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh
 

Been to Horsley Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsley Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.