We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful architecture, amazing location, but too many things still to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atra Doftana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atra Doftana to your Saves list
Atra Doftana
780B Fundatura Cerbului | Strada Lacului, Tesila 17645, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tesila B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture, amazing location, but too many things still to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First of all, the scenery is spectacular. The villa is set on the shore of Lake Paltinu and all rooms are facing the lake. The views from the balcony are breathtaking. The villa itself is equally beautiful. It is a fine piece of modern architecture that is wonderfully integrated in the landscape.

And now here are a few things we didn't like during our stay.

The biggest problem are insects. The location is packed with them. All sorts, but especially flies. They are everywhere, but especially in the dining area. The rooms do not have insect nets at the windows so the rooms are not spared. We have tried to close the windows at night but eventually suffocated. The centralized air conditioning apparently did nothing but noise. I suspect that they avoid turning it on to keep running costs low. So it is either insects or heat, I suppose.

Another big minus is that it leaves to be desired when it comes to cleanliness. The bottom of the wc had a scarry brownish color. The cleaning personnel hasn't been too preocupied with the room cleanliness during our stay. On the second day, the cleaning lady came knocking around 2PM. As we were sleeping at the time, she said she would return later. She didn't. On the third day she didn't bother to come at all, even if the "please clean the room" sign was hanging on the door knob for the entire day.

The bathroom has a pretty shower dispenser, unfortunatelly empty. No shampoo or any other cosmetics were available either.

There are no flyers in the room to inform you about the facilities and policies. Also, the receptionist didn't bother to inform us of any of that matter upon our arrival. We had to go onto their website to look up the breakfast hours (8-10.30). Still, we went to breakfast at 8.30 but found nobody there. At 9.00 somebody finally arrived and we had to wait for another half an our to finally eat.

The breakfast is not at all as presented on the website. First of all, it isn't a buffet. Second, the beverages were mostly missing. On the first day, we have been served a cup of coffee. Only after we had finished breakfast we received a glass of juice. On the second day, no juice at all. Only coffee. We have asked for a cup of tea but we had to pay for it. On the third day, we have explicitely asked for it but received water instead and an appology for them running out of "morning juice". Likewise, I have asked for a limonade at noon, but have been told that they had run out of lemons.

No napkins on the table no matter if breakfast, dinner or lunch.

The chairs and the tables outside are mostly never cleaned so you need to take care of this yourself if you decide to eat outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sensational views from everywhere - your room/hotel parking/hotel restaurant/fitness... very professional and curteous service (especially Tavi, thank you!).

Cozy place to relax and escape from the busy life.

Comfortable bed. Chaise-long and leather fatboy for your private terrace.
Excellent home-made chocolate cake and ciorba de vacuta. 4-stars breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a very beautiful location very close to Bucharest, around 100 km..in the middle of nature where you can easily see that architectural design really makes the difference. The people managed to turn a place on the riverbank of Doftana into a beautiful modern pension that blend very well with the landscape.

The cuisine is also pretty good, you have a nice small gym and sauna to relax!
Overall, this is a must experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sfântu-Gheorghe, Covasna, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

ATRA Doftana is a wonderful place to experience your dream while enjoying luxurious accommodations, amazing cuisine, ART exhibitions and world-class service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Exquisite. This place has won architectural prizes, and yet (or maybe because of this), still blends very well with the surrounding nature.

Very different than the other offerings in the area, on the riverbank, Atra has modern rooms, clean and with all the amenities (including floor heating), the cuisine is excellent and the deserts fantastic. The staff is friendly and surprise you with nice little touches that make it stand out from the other places I've been (a glass of wine on the house, at night, next to the camp fire goes a long way to impress me :) ). Very relaxing, an amazing view from every room, it really impressed us and I recommend it if you have a weekend off.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very nice and cosy, great views from all the rooms, modern architecture in the middle of the nature. The stuff was very friendly, the high quality food was delicious. There are only 8 rooms, so it is a perfect place for groups. It is a little expensive, but it worths the money. One of the greatest places in Romania!

Room Tip: all rooms have the same special conditions and they all have beautiful full views to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The place is one of the best weekend retreats within 2h drive from Bucharest. The staff is welcoming and the amenities are there to fit the needs of someone looking for peace and quiet. Perfect place for a small group of 15-20 people looking for a private place to enjoy a dinner and afternoon together.

Things to improve:
- room service: no obvious in room dining option (we didn't ask for it but there were no phones nor menus)
- room service: bed sheets were not changed and the bed wasn't made by cleaning lady; the fresh towels were placed on the bed (not in the bathroom) - maybe this is a small detail but for a 5 star location you would expect it

All in all, for a new spot in Romania, it's worth visiting and we're looking forward to going back soon! Watching the morning sun over the Doftana valley, while waking up, is worth all the effort to get to the place (note: there's quite a bumpy road on the last 600m to the site).

Room Tip: All rooms have lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atra Doftana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atra Doftana

Address: 780B Fundatura Cerbului | Strada Lacului, Tesila 17645, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Tesila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tesila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atra Doftana is an exclusive resort, located on the shores of Lake Paltinu Doftana, Prahova, in both natural and sophisticated ambiance: cozy rooms are hidden in bank slope, as a low profile allows for unobstructed lake view. Avant-garde design and architecture harmonize with the environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Atra Doftana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atra Doftana Romania/Tesila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atra Doftana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.