We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispity Clouds of Porkaliciousness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muddy's Pit BBQ

Muddy's Pit BBQ
3247 County Rd 2, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario, Canada
(705) 295-1255
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Description: `
Restaurant details
Description: `
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Crispity Clouds of Porkaliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food here is simply amazing. Pulled pork, beef brisket, and ribs done up in true southern bbq style, north of the border. Add in an assortment of, made fresh in the house, salads and a few desserts and you have a perfect laid back meal in a quiet quaint setting. Its worth driving to Keene, just for the eats alone! I can't wait to get back to this spot every summer. i drool all year thinking about it. Take home some of the sauces too. The Carolina is a personal favourite. Their third season in operation and getting better all the time. Love this place!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hubby and I both heard separately about this place from people we work with who live in Keene. Went today with some friends and absolutely loved it. Pulled pork, brisket, sausage, ribs. Some salads. Interesting that they sell the food by the pound....eg. 2 pulled pork sandwiches are close in price but not the same. The carnivore sampler includes a good size portion of the pulled pork, brisket, sausage and ribs. I wasn't able to finish mine so it's pulled pork for lunch tomorrow. BBQ is slow to heat but you will feel it. Everything was tender and yummy! We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stopped here for a sandwich on my way out of town a few weeks ago. I had the beef brisket and it was simply fantastic. The beef was melt in your mouth good...writing about it makes me want to head there for another one right now.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Serious BBQ eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stopped at Muddy's last week and wow, what an experience!

We had the beef brisket, messy (with coleslaw and sauce), as well as the Jamaican bean salad and the roasted pesto Orzo salad.

The brisket was moist, tender with delectable char.

The salads were fresh with amazing flavours. We would have tried the other salads (mac& cheese, potato) but with the briskets and salads we were stuffed! The organic pepper sauce and Caroline sauce superb!

We will most definitely go back - so much more on the menu to eat. You must try this place, it is so delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Amazing quality smoked meats! Don't miss out on this small town BBQ !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy's Pit BBQ also viewed

Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan
Peterborough, Ontario
 
Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan
Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan
 

Been to Muddy's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muddy's Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.