We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and beer after a long walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Main Street, Birchover, Matlock DE4 2BN, England
01629 650363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Birchover
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good food and beer after a long walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stopped here for lunch after a long walk on the Limestone Way. The footpaths around here are steep and build up a good hunger and thirst! I was surprised to find only one other couple in the pub on a midweek lunchtime, but I had no complaints with the choice of four local real ales and a lunchtime set menu with two courses for £7.95. Good tasty food at a good price.

The tables and flagged floors were clean and the service was quick and friendly. Plenty of local papers, CAMRA & arts magazines to read.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Really friendly service, good homecooked food , usual pubgrub menu.Partners steak was a bit tough but good flavour.My fish was delicious.didnt have pud as main meals so large.Chips were gorgeous.can recommend

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal on Saturday during weekend visit to Matlock. Tried a Chef's special which was Pork with seasonal vegetables which were cooked really well. Could not fault the food or the service, thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and beer in a great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this pub,both for a drink and a meal, many times over the years and I have to say I completely disagree with the negative comments in some of the reviews. I have always found the food to be excellent. It is freshly cooked with quality ingredients and far and away more interesting than the food served in most pubs. I also think that,considering the quality of the food, it is good value for money. Likewise, I have always found the beer to be well kept. With regard to the Landlord and his staff, I have never ever found them to be rude or unfriendly. Quite the contrary in fact. They have always been friendly and welcoming and the pub,as a whole,is a pleasure to visit. I would have no hesitation in recommending this pub to anyone who enjoys quality food and drink in a pleasant,country pub. Go there and see for yourself!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Something Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have eaten at the Red Lion a number of times before and are always impressed by the high standards. The atmosphere is of a Mediterranean Bistro as is the menu. What a welcome change to see authentic Sardinian dishes offered, that change regularly, as well as standard favourites which are also cooked with continental flair, to choose from. The service is good and the uniformed staff always helpful and up to speed with the more unusual dishes. We have never been disappointed and know that all the food has been truly 'home cooked' from scratch accompanied by a dish of delicious seasonal veg.
The selection of ales varies each time with local guest beers featuring strongly.
The Landlord/Chef also makes his own award winning cheeses which are for sale along with other deli delights which is an added bonus.
It was quite busy but the service was good and the food piping hot as usual.
We always look forward to dining there and often take friends with us, safe in the knowledge that they will experience something different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.