We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 15 Grand Rue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 15 Grand Rue to your Saves list
15 Grand Rue
15 Grand Rue, 34720 Caux, Pezenas, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Caux B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a family reunion at 15 Grand Rue with relatives coming from around the world. Abigail has thought of everything and is a great host. She has decorated this beautiful manor with great flare. There are endless day trips that you can take from here to explore Southern France. Jake the dog is making a smooth transition to becoming Jaques. You will not be disappointed! John Florida.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
128
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose a luxury B&B for the first time after being disappointed with various French Hotels in the past - they were either far too expensive or just OTT for our taste ! 15 Grand Rue was just what we needed. Lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast & perfect host.
The small town does not have much to offer but Pezenas is a short drive away with various restaurants and shops. Abi is a great host and if your not sure of the area (as we were) Abi will give you great tips on where (or where not) to visit. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

From the ordinary looking outside, you would never guess at the beautiful and stylish house that you find when you go through the door. You first step into a garden area, which is like an outdoor room, and then into the house that Abi has made a wonderful job of decorating and furnishing . Everywhere you look, there is something interesting. It is so good that you find yourself wanting to stay inside rather than travel anywhere! The breakfast was delicious and the table setting, like everything else, was done with flair. We only wished that we'd had longer there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Absolutely beautiful place to stay! Fantastic host, gorgeous breakfast and spacious rooms. We spent three nights here and was very impressed. The town of Pezenas is only 5min drive away and is a must see, full of lovely artisan shops and fantastic food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at 15 Grand Rue for 2 nights (20 & 21/06) and enjoyed our stay immensely. I am happy to echo everyone else in that it is beautifully designed, clean, warm and yes the garden is also delightful. The welcome by both Jake and Abigail (along with a cup of 'builders' and homemade lemon drizzle cake) was just what we had hoped for when booking.

If you are happy to drive there is a lot to see within an hour or 2 and Pezenas is a vibrant and historic little town. If there was one downside (and it's a very small one at that), it is that Caux, whilst a lovely little village, only has a couple of bars and they really appear to be for "locals", so it's necessary to go into Pezenas (5 mins away) for dinner.

Thanks for looking after us so well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We wanted to stay in the Penzanas area and choose 15 Grand Rue after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed, in fact were very happy with our choice. As others have said, the exterior of the building from the street does not prepare you for the perfect gem that awaits inside the gates. Abigail Turner has created a wonderful place to stay, decorated and furnished with taste and maintained to a high standard.
After entering the front gate you are greeted by a lovely courtyard garden with a variety of chairs and tables surrounded by flowers and the calm sound of the fountain in the background. The building itself is a bourgeois town house built in stages over the last 100 years. Abigail has done a marvellous job of renovating the property, juxtaposing traditional and modern features and furniture.
Our room was so much more than we had hoped for. A very large room with a high ceiling had been arranged to provide a large bedroom area (with comfortable bed!) together with a very convenient seating area comprised of two small sofa's and a flat screen television. The room was very attractively furnished and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was supplied with L'occitane soaps and shampoo. There were towelling robes and slippers provided and a hair dryer. We travel extensively and often stay in small hotels and B&B's and have a good idea what to expect. I can safely say that once in our room my wife and I looked at each other and agreed that 15 Grand Rue over delivered in every regard. Breakfast the next day confirmed this. Once again the presentation was spot on and the yoghurt and fruit delicious. The baked goods were fresh and the jam particularly good as was the coffee!
Abigail was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, beaches and interesting places to see. We have already recommended 15 Grand Rue to several friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

15 Grand Rue is a little gem in the heart of the wine growing region of Languedoc. It is hidden behind a deceivingly simple gray door in the little village of Caux, which is about an hour from Montpellier. But when you open that door, you step into a fragrant garden of sweet jasmine, climbing roses, and a gurgling fountain. Upstairs, our room had a comfortable sitting area with French doors opening onto a small terrace sheltered by sweet greenery. The bed was made up in pristine, embroidered white sheets of real linen and the attached bathroom (stand-up shower) was immaculate and stocked with thick, fluffy towels. On the main floor are a guests’ living room and a beautifully-set dining room. (Photos posted.) Our hostess, Abigail Turner, was welcoming, knowledgeable of the region, and a killer chef. No cellophane-wrapped cookies here … breakfast was yogurt with fresh berries (a different variety each day), fruit, newly baked croissants or pain au chocolat. Baguettes plus another hearty bread were accompanied by fruit spreads, butter, and always an interesting collection of different cheeses. And, most important of course, good coffee. Upon request, Abby will serve a delicious, full-course dinner with wine in the garden. Do request it! Abby’s hospitality, eye for design, knowledge of food and wine complement the beautifully restored grand home. She has created a luxurious and peaceful refuge that we loved coming back to after exploring this very interesting region of France.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 15 Grand Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Grand Rue

Address: 15 Grand Rue, 34720 Caux, Pezenas, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Pezenas > Caux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step through the iron doorway of 15, Grand Rue Caux and feel yourself start to unwind in the dapple shade of the courtyard garden with the backdrop of tinkling fountain and swooping swallows. If you’re looking for peace and relaxation in elegant but informal surroundings 15, Grand Rue is for you. The house is a 19th century bourgeois “maison de maitre” which retains many of its original features. Abigail bought the house in January 2009 and set about creating a boutique Chambres d’Hotes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 15 Grand Rue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Grand Rue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.