We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, lovely location. Friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellington Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mellington Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mellington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quiet, lovely location. Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went on a discounted two day package that included cooked breakfast, afternoon tea on one day and two courses on the other day. We werent treated any differently because of the discount, but there were some supplements on the menu.

The hotel's main asset is its superb location, hidden away in the countryside on the Welsh border. It is a 150 year old pile with only 10 guest rooms, so we can forgive the owners for not maintaining every inch as well as they might. The lobby and dining room are delightul.

The young ladies who serve in the dining room and bar and also on the front desk sometimes are really super friendly and efficient and I hope that the management appreciate them.
Drinks are a bit pricey.

Overall it was a lovely quiet and relaxing break and I would recommend it. Some other guests said that in the school holidays its best to avoid it, especially at weekends as it can be very busy in the bar and restaurant which are open to residents on the adjacent (but unobtrusive) caravan park .

Room Tip: Go on a Monday or Tuesday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    57
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
144
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A Big thank you to Vanessa and Kim and all the staff at Mellinghton Hall. Our Son Daniel Edwards married his beautiful bride Lauren Walker and their day was made very special. Nothing was too much trouble. It's a fabulous building, the rooms are lovely and spacious.Unfortunately the weather stopped us from a outdoor wedding ceremony but the staff made the inside ceremony just as lovely and special for them.The food was plentiful and everyone had a great time :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A friend bought us a champagne afternoon tea for two voucher at this hotel we actually booked it for 2pm so had it for our lunch!Surroundings very nice as was hotel and grounds.We were served a large pot of tea a glass of champagne each and there were various fillings of fresh sandwiches a scone with cream and jam lemon drizzle cake and a meringue each.very fresh and tasty

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Mellington Hall it was for our Wedding anniversary. We had a two night break and the first night we had food in the Bar the second night the meal was included in the deal, we had a 2 course meal included but could not have main and desert had to have starter and desert, we neither of us like to have starters and would have preferred a sweet. We have had had the option on other deals. We went down for dinner at our booked time and we were asked to wait in the Bar and our orders would be taken and we would be called in when the food was ready. We had hoped to have one of the window tables but when we went into the dinning room there were already two couples in there both at the window tables, neither had ordered food and were in fact just sat drinking. We had our meal which took approx. 1 hr and neither couple had started to eat when we left. My Husband had a steak which was nice but the chips were a let down looked like frozen chips, I chose the pork belly which was over cooked and the roast vegertable were almost black not what I would call first class cooking. The room was OK but again the towels were frayed and no showere cap was supplied. We paid twice as much for this deal as we normally do and quite honestly did not get value for money. The staff are helpful but quite slow and some of the tables in the dinning room were not laid properly. The table clothes look great but are so big that you can catch your feet in them when you leave the table. On the whole not what we expected and would not hurry back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Past glories of this


magnificent building have been lovingly restored with sympathy by its present owners who have captured its charm , warmth, and ambiance without over egging the cake. The staff cannot do enough for you and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is a memorable one. Being disabled was not an issue as their was always someone at hand to help when and if necessary. The grounds are extensive and immaculate,teaming with wild life. Rabbits hawks and giant carp in the lake were a wonder to behold and the different walks held a different view around every corner. I cannot wait to return and this time book the Mellington suite with its own jacuzzi!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited this hotel for a spot of lunch after having a very pleasant walk in the grounds. The service was slow but very friendly and polite and the food and drink was good value. We took the opportunity to have a look around the several rooms which are available for various functions, the main room, the dining room and the bar, and was quite pleased with what we saw.. There are some lovely items of furniture together with paintings and photographs of couples who have had their wedding receptions there too. Unfortunately there was insufficient heating in the room we were eating in and we had to wear our coats to keep warm, also when we were there several large cobwebs could be seen on the windows and ceilings and a bit of action with a feather duster and/or a vacumn cleaner wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have passed Mellington Hall twice before, but this time made a five-minute detour out of curiosity. They put a sign on a nearby path saying that walkers were welcome, and I trudged to the building along a muddy track to get there. It's a splendid stone building, like a miniature stately home, and it was very quiet on my visit. In fact, I found the staff sitting outside in the sun having a break. When I asked for a coffee, I was served with great friendliness, and no-one questioned me walking into the bar in muddy footwear, or wandering around exploring the inside of the hotel. The coffee was remarkably cheap. I'm not sure if I'll ever get the chance to stay here, though they do have caravans and a campsite available as budget options!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Address: Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellington Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.