We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average - could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mellington Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mellington Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Average - could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

There is no doubt - the building itself is stunning and the location (apart from the infernal static caravans everywhere) is remarkable. The long, winding drive up from the main road and complete silence are also truly remarkable.

The problems with Mellington Hall occur when it starts being a hotel - It feels like its been starved of any decent investment for a long time. Our room which was sold on the phone as being a "suite" was actually an averaged sized room with a 20 year old settee in the middle of it. The bathroom was freezing and consequently everything dripped with condensation when the shower was used. The television was so ugly and old it was a masterful show of self control that stopped me hurling it out of the beautiful stone mullioned window.
The food was again very average. I'm no big "foodie" but even I could tell the chef was not at the top of his game. The ice cream that accompanied my desert was little better than Asda "smart price" - maybe it was?
The staff are nice enough, like the rest of the hotel experience they are fairly un- remarkable. They certainly aren't false, if anything they all seem rather tired of the whole place.

The roaring open fire is a big plus, as is the nice bar which does actually have local ale on tap.

This place needs some cash injected into it. And there lies the problem - not a good enough hotel so people won't return therefore no cash.

Give it a go - you'll probably feel the same as me when you've left though. At least you will have helped pay the chef's wages for another week.

Room Tip: Maybe try one of the static caravans dotted around the once lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellington215, Manager at Mellington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr 'Jones'.
We hope you had a safe journey back to Chirk.
Thank you for your review but with you being a novice to the site we feel we should advise you that Trip advisor is a site for unbiased holiday reviews and it should not be abused or used to put petty or ridiculous comments.
Our Kerry suite is beautifully furnished room & can be viewed on our website accommodation section. We can assure you the sofa it boasts is far from reaching its 20th Birthday!!
We're extremely sorry you felt the TV was 'ugly' and while we note that it is not a flat screen fixed to the wall we are not sure visual appreance alone is reason to ' hurl' it from a window!!
This point along with your estimated age of our sofa sums up your entire review.
We thank you for your concerns that you felt we, the staff, may be feeling ' tired of the whole place' but yet again you couldn't be further from the truth. As a family run establishment we give 110% all day every day in our constant strive to provide the best service possible. We will always listen to constructive criticism & therefore ask if you feel you have useful & beneficial comments to please contact us direct.
We're sorry you experienced problems with the bathrooms heating which lead to condensation. This was rectified on your departure by a flick of a switch which you may have mistakenly switched off in the bathroom.
If you are to refer to the beautiful holiday homes which are situated in the grounds to the rear of the hall as infernal please give your reasons for them being such a nuisance to you. Had this guest taken the time to explore the gardens & lake then he may have been aware that the park is a privately owed park & homes can therefore not be rented/hired for short breaks. Due to the nature of the park peace & tranquility is maintained throughout the year.
We are shocked & if not slightly appalled knowing that this guest who is, himself, a director of a cleaning company should be unprofessional enough to make pointless financially related comments. This guests may have decided not to return in the future but many many of our guests do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    61
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
39
155
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's a very old-fashioned hotel, lots of lace and pictures of ballerinas in the rooms, a gloomy fish tank in the reception and full of creaky floorboards. But, it does have a lot going for it, the countryside is spectacular, the staff are friendly and relaxed, non of that corporate politeness that is so clearly false, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast great.

The main problem is, it doesn't feel particularly well maintained and the building is in need of TLC. I didn't notice the constant piped music until I was in my room whistling Time After Time by Cyndi Lauper and the point was forced home at breakfast when I had to endure pan-pipe power ballads. The bath had seen better days and the TV in the room was older than me and only played BBC1, the room kettle was so furry I had to skip using it, and I'm not particularly fussy when it comes to stuff like that, but it looked like a teddy bear had been buried in it.

I love these old buildings, the roaring fires, the countryside views and the crumbling masonry are great but it just needs to drag itself into the 21st century and switch of the Richard Marx and buy a flat-screen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and clean with everything that you would expect. The reception rooms were warm and welcoming with lovely decor. The icing on the cake was the food which we found to be just perfect. Compliments to the chef!
We would definitely return. The whole experience was really uplifting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellington215, Manager at Mellington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for such kind words. We are genuinely thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your compliments on to the Chef & hope to see you both again in the future! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a lovely old hall full of original features, rooms were big, clean, really lovely, service was excellent, food was lovely and staff very attentive. Grounds are extensive and very well maintained. Would love to go back, we spent a quite, relaxing weekend break

Room Tip: Each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellington215, Manager at Mellington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for such lovely comments. These will be passed to all our staff as well as the chef. We hope you are able to return to visit as again in the future - it would be lovely to welcome you back. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went for a mid-week break and were given a large room, with period furniture and an adjoining family room which also contained the bath/shower room. No central heating in such an old, large building but it wasn't cold and there were real fires downstairs and electric radiators in the rooms. The bed was very comfortable too.

Some bits of the decor are a bit quirky but everything was spotlessly clean and worked well. The staff were very friendly and helpful - it's a family concern rather than corporate and that certainly shows in the way guests are treated. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was good, though the menu was not extensive. Breakfasts were good quality too. Unusually for a small hotel, the bar served a decent pint of real ale, though bar prices seemed steep despite us being used to big city prices.

The grounds are very attractive with acres of parkland and Offa's Dyke passes through them. We managed a 3 hour walk along the dyke path and around the area, without coming near more than the occasional farmhouse or cottage. Although there is a static caravan park at the rear, it was very quiet and also appears to be very well maintained, so I would not expect any issues there.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the surrounding small towns (Bishops Castle & Montgomery) are interesting to visit too. We'd happily go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently and had an absolutely fabulous time. The building is absolutely stunning and very peaceful. Some may be put off by the caravan park at the rear, but that is a very small fly in the ointment. The approach once you turn off the road is around one mile through lovely countryside. Then, you turn the corner and are confronted by a gorgeous Victorian Gothic mansion. Just beautiful. We lugged our cases inside and were greeted very warmly by Caroline who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room. And what a room! It was situated at the rear of the hotel and overlooked the afore-mentioned caravan park. It was huge, with a massive canopied bed, a really comfy sofa and a very large television. The ensuite was equally large and had a bath and a seperate show which was much appreciated. Some might complain that the decor is a bit dated, but I reckon it suits the age and style of the building perfectly.

After unpacking, and a quick wander around the grounds I left Mrs BobTheEvilPenguin to enjoy a wallow in the bath whilst I took my book downstairs to enjoy a pint (or two - oh, ok three!) of very good local ale in front of the roaring fire in the hall. Caroline brought a great pile of logs through and put me in charge of keeping the fire going. This was a lovely touch and really made me feel at home. She also kept the beer coming, attentively but not intrudingly noticing when I'd finished each pint.

We decided to eat in the restaurant and were glad that we did. The service was a little slow and it seems that if you want quick service you should go for a drink in the bar and order there. Still, we weren't in a particular hurry and enjoyed the chance to relax, have a natter and enjoy the wood-panelled dining room. The food was delicious, and I had the nicest lamb shank I have ever eaten whilst MrsBTEP's mushroom risotto was as good as any she has had. The food and wine were reasonably priced, dinner costing about £35 for the two of us for two courses and a bottle of very agreeable Malbec costing £18. I decided to have a couple of glasses and then save the rest of the bottle for the next evening, which was gladly done for me. We then retired back into to hall, and chatted for ages to another couple staying there. What better way to spend the evening than eating fabulous food, drinking lovely wine and then telling ghost stories in front of a roaring fire in a Victorian country mansion?

Breakfast the next morning was delicious, the bacon and sausages being proper quality. The food came out piping hot, unlike in many other hotels I have stayed in over the years. We then drove to Ludlow and spent a happy couple of hours wandering around what is a beautiful little town, with a great castle. Not to mention a wide choice of pubs and places to eat. We decided to have a substantial lunch out and just have sandwiches back at the hotel. Arriving back, we spent a few hours doing not very much at all until hunger got the better of us. Securing our favourite spot in front of the fire we ordered some sandwiches and chips and once again relaxed, chatted, ate and drank.

In short, Mellington Hall is a lovely old hotel with wood panelling and creaky floorboards a-plenty. I really cannot recommend it highly enough and we can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, what a beautiful picturesque location and a stunning building as you arrive. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room (we had the mellington suite for 1 night to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary) was lovely but slightly dated decor wise. Dinner was a bit overpriced for what we got although tasty, it was rather standard and not a meal that I will remember... Only complaint was that my husbands sticky toffee pud tasted a bit burnt and had no sticky toffee sauce! They did gladly bring our desserts up to our room though so we didnt mention the complaint to the staff. We had breakfast in bed as a real treat and again, fairly tasty but nothing outstanding... A choice would have been nice. The offer we booked under said a cream tea was included but either this was misleading or we misunderstood as we only received scones and tea later on once we'd had a stroll around the grounds. Overall it was a comfortable and relaxing treat for my birthday and the service was good but we did both agree we were glad we hadn't paid full price... Its difficult to put a finger on it but for the full price I would expect a more luxurious and stylish finish on everything, they just need to go a few steps further. The decor felt entirley unfitting for such a beautiful old historical building - it does feel a bit like someone went a bit crazy in Dunelm and Furniture Village (but this could be down to my personal taste!) which is a shame. I base my comparison on somewhere like Cameron House in Loch Lomond which was excellent (sadly I never reviewed it after we staying in 2010) and a similar price!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Address: Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellington Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.