We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easby Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easby Hall
Save
You added Easby Hall to your Saves list
Easby, Richmond DL10 7EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Easby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Easby Hall for a long weekend with 2 other couples for a special event celebration. We had all 3 suites. Throughout our hosts, Karen and John, were fantastic. The Hall itself is beautiful. The location stunning and very convenient for Richmond with lots of lovely country/riverside walks too. The views amazing. Everything is catered for. Parking is on site, within easy reach. The 3 suites are in one part of the house. They are splendid in decor, in thoughtfulness (chocolates everyday, home-made elderflower cordial and organic milk in the fridge, luxury toiletries, robes, candles for romantic moments etc., etc), in pampered comfort (the bedding is beautiful, super-comfortable mattresses and pillows, gorgeous bedding and so on). We had afternoon tea on arrival in the fabulous drawing room - all home-made of course. The grounds are open to the guests with the infinity lawn gazing down on the Abbey ruins - so romantic. There are chairs, tables and benches dotted here and there, the summer house is for your use, the hut which is open at one end can also be used - cushions, candles, a table, a log fire on the go - we used it all 3 nights after dining out - it was lovely to come back to a gorgeous setting and sit with our own wine selection chatting well into the witching hour. The breakfasts are simply divine with delicious home made compote, fruits, yogurts, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made smoothies, cereals, any combination you might want from full English to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (from our hosts own hens), John's fresh baked warm breakfast rolls each morning - yummy - etc., etc. And you can pick your times for breakfast yourself each day. Karen is charming, funny and so helpful with much local knowledge. We all agreed that you feel more like very welcome house guests rather than "bed and breakfasters!" Would we go back? We would not hesitate - a return trip cannot come soon enough! T&P & friends from Warwickshire & Leicestershire

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The one and only wedding venue we looked at- we knew it would be perfect and it was. On May 17th we had a small, intimate wedding party at the Hall, having got married at St Agatha's church (a very short walk down the hill). The bride and groom, parents of both, bridesmaids and best man stayed at the hall for 2 nights; enjoying delicious, leisurely breakfasts, fabulous views and on site for wedding preparations. Karen's excellent choice of chef and his wedding catering company ensured a memorable meal and a 5* catering experience for all guests.
From the outset John and Karen have made the whole wedding planning experience far less stressful. They are friendly, welcoming and have an amazing house that they throw open to their guests. There is never a shortage of excellent cake and communication has been key to the whole experience.
It was a perfect, hot summers day in May and the wedding party pretty much took place outside in the amazing grounds with vistas of the Abbey and Richmond Castle. The location is very special and the perfect wedding setting. No guest would disagree.
If you stay once it is inevitable that you will stay again. We'll certainly be going back (at least once a year!).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our fourth stay at Easby Hall and there cannot be anywhere better locally - it has no equal! You really are staying in John and Karen's home but they never make you feel anything but very welcome and extremely special. In addition to the beauty of the house and gardens, all the staff are so warm, welcoming, friendly and attentive. The cakes are amazing, different freshly baked cakes every day. We had banana loaf, pistachio and lemon cake and brownies, all very delicious and served with tea in the garden. The Courtyard Suite really comes into its own in the summer with the light flooding the large rooms, particularly lovely in the bathroom as it is decorated in lovely yellow tones. Gorgeous breakfasts as on our previous stays, the scrambled egg and smoked salmon is the best I have ever had anywhere. We will be booking our next stay probably in August for three nights and can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I were looking for somewhere with character to stay on a trip to Yorkshire, and were most fortunate to discover this gem. From our first enquiry John and Karen could not have been more helpful, giving advice on which room to choose and where to dine in the evenings. From the moment we arrived we were given a very warm welcome and shown to the delightful Courtyard Room with a wonderful bathroom with slipper bath and great walk in shower with all the luxurious touches - the fresh flowers were stunning. Karen and John have great taste, and the whole house is a treat to see. We were invited to join them for a gin and tonic in the Drawing Room, and found them captivating company, and it was most interesting to hear how they have transformed the house and gardens over the last 10 years. We enjoyed a lovely meal at the Shoulder of Mutton, and returned to enjoy the lovely open fire in our room.
Breakfast was also a treat, with gorgeous black currant smoothies and numerous homegrown dishes, all perfectly presented in the stunning breakfast room.
We walked to Richmond for the day, having lunch at the lovely converted station, and enjoyed looking around the ruins of Easby Abbey.
We were sorry to leave, but have rebooked for next year and can't wait. The house, gardens and ambiance are a credit to this charming couple.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England -North East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I got married at St Agatha's church at Easby Abbey so I stayed at Easby Hall the night before with my bridesmaids to soak in the atmosphere. It is a beautifully restored house with each room having its own highlight such as fabulous bathroom or view over the abbey. Our photographer couldn't believe his luck when he saw how beautiful the house was! Each room has been decorated with exquisite taste and homely finishing touches. We had a wonderful experience staying at Easby Hall and would recommend it to anyone wanting a luxurious place to visit with a fabulous view. Can't wait to return for our 1year anniversary… or maybe six month?!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

All too often and as can be seen by my other reviews, I tend to stay mainly in Hotels in central locations making it easier to navigate to and from the airport.

BUT, sometimes one just needs to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life, we are connected to the internet and to our technology and in most cases dependent on it.

It was time to do another "British Countryside" adventure, not booking all our accommodation in advance so we had the spontaneity of just "happening" upon accommodations, local town folk and other experiences that best portray what everyday life in the countryside is like.

About the property:
The property itself is by far the most naturally beautiful setting I have had the privilage of visiting and the views as can be seen by a photo I will upload show buildings hundreds of years old. This is what we came to see but had no idea that it will be in our backyard!

About the rooms and stay:
Often times the countryside offers poky little rooms, very firm beds and no parking. In fact I think that parking was in general only an after thought in Britian.
We were happy to find ample parking with very easy access onto the main road. The temp in the rooms were perfectly controlled and the beds were softer and more comfortable than what I have in my own home. The room boasted all the modern conveniences found in London hotels without impeding on the traditional architecture that this 300 year old home boasts.

About the food, Mainly Breakfast:
The food was absolutely excellent, what an amazing breakfast and as I am writing this I am about to go for my last breakfast before hitting the road, trying not to drool over my laptop.
I will upload a photo about the full english breakfast.

About the hosts:
Your hosts are a couple team that make you feel most welcome, John constantly went out of his way to ensure that we had directions to wherever we needed to go which without we would be headless chickens in the country.
We had some last minute laundry that we handed over, quite a lot of laundry, but this was not an issue and the hosts ensured that it was done in time.

Overall I would like to say that if you are unsure about many accommodations out in the country I can vouch for Easby Hall with a 100% rating!

Room Tip: Downstairs if you are a smoker and need to pop out occassionally, upstairs for great views and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We much enjoyed our stay at Easby Hall and give it 10 out of 10.
Wonderful room with spectacular view. Delightful afternoon tea and the breakfast included a full English Monti and much more. We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easby Hall

Address: Easby, Richmond DL10 7EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Easby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Easby
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian country house overlooking the spectacular ruins of Easby abbey and the coast to coast route. ITV described the view as unrivalled. Easby Hall offers style and charm to rival many boutique and country house hotels whilst retaining the warmth and cosiness of a family home.This tranquil retreat has a walled garden with herbaceous borders, an organic kitchen garden, glorious suites with huge beds, log burners, champagne fridges and sumptuous bathrooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easby Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.