We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easby Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easby Hall
Save
You added Easby Hall to your Saves list
Easby, Richmond DL10 7EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Easby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stay in hotels all over the world and this is the first review we have ever written as we have to share how wonderful our experience was. Immediately we were made to feel at home in a splendid country house and stayed in the well appointed Courtyard Suite with it's inviting open log fire. Nothing was too much to ask of Karen, John and Michelle. Coming from Singapore we did not exactly have the correct attire for the time of year and they found walking boots for my wife. It's the little things that make the difference. The breakfast in a private room with log fire and view over the Abbey was a perfect start to the day. We only wish we could have taken some of the Rhubarb compote home with us. We highly recommend Easby Hall and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiance and I stayed one night in Easby Hall and we can honestly say it is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!) From the moment we arrived the hospitality was second to none, the owners are the friendliest, nicest people you'll ever meet. We had afternoon tea, and the scones were delicious. We chose to stay in the Champagne Suite and it really was beautiful and really romantic. The bathroom was very luxurious, with an enormous bath, and had a very impressive waterfall type shower. The breakfast in the morning was delicious too. We actually got to have a look around the other rooms too, and they are all beautiful. We would definitely recommend staying here! We have already booked a room there for our wedding night.

Room Tip: I would recommend the champagne suite as the bathroom was out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirbright, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in easby Hall in December with some friends. We wish we had booked 2 or 3 nights - it was so nice and we barely had time to make the most of it. Our room was spectacular, particularly the bathroom - amazing rainforest shower and free-standing bath. The view from the bedroom was over the grounds towards the abbey and the river - beautiful. Karen, John and Alma could not have been more helpful or welcoming. Easby Hall was absolutely first-class in all respects, we heartily recommend it and hope to stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I regularly visit north Yorkshire to see my parents, and on this occasion i decided to treat them to a weekend away, with another couple as well. We took over the guest wing of three stunning bedrooms. It was a bitterly cold weekend and I was worried about the damp and drafts you sometimes get in otherwise beautiful historical buildings. No need! Central heating brilliant, room spacious and welcoming. Karen, the glammy owner, had lit a wood burner in our room which was great. My wife went on about the soft furnishings, velvet throws and knitted cushions etc and kept checking labels. Could hardly get her out of the room, and she used the roll top bath every day; I used the giant walk in shower, which is top hotel standard. Everything other reviewers has said is true. i would emphasize how nice it is to 'take over' the space; it feels like your own manor house in a way; perfect for couples/groups of friends to get away and feel private and relaxed.

Room Tip: The Abbey room has the great views of the ruined abbey but only a shower room; the courtyard suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent a long weekend at Easby Hall in December with a friend and absolutely loved it. Perched on the brow of the hill overlooking fields and the river Swale, Easby is a beautifully restored Georgian manor, offering luxury and comfort in the wilds of North Yorkshire.

I stayed in the Abbey Room with spectactular views across rolling fields and the remains of a 17th century abbey and chapel. The room was sumptuous with scattered antiques, rich soft furnishings and ensuite bathroom.

Easby has an organic vegetable garden and a brood of talkative hens and they try to source locally. In the morning we breakfasted in the Flower Room and were treated to homemade fruit compot, full english and John's (the owner) perfect poached eggs - highly recommended!

There are a series of fantastic walks around Easby, including walking the length of the river Swale and up through the woods to the open fields followed by afternoon tea and cake in the drawing room in front of a roaring fire.

John and Karen are wonderfully hospitable and know the area well and can therefore, suggest good walks and places worth visiting while staying at Easby. They are incredibly warm and friendly and one feels like part of the family.

I couldn't recommend Easby more highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Easby Hall has to be the best B&B we have ever stayed in - more like a 5 star hotel - it's a home away from home. The house, rooms and decor are of the highest standard and the surrounding areas take your breath away and so many wonderful walks. Our breakfast was wonderful and everything was home made and from excellent ingredients. Everything is of the highest standard - nothing is spared from the sheets and towels, the food, the decor and the extremely warm welcome from Karen and John. We can't wait to return - Heavenly Easby Hall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Oh my goodness what a gem Easby Hall is - nestled away overlooking Easby Abbey and run by the most ADORABLE couple. He looks like a handsome cowboy and she is gorgeous.

The bedrooms are so wonderful with Egyptian cotton linen and squishy cushions. It was the best nights sleep we have had in years and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easby Hall

Address: Easby, Richmond DL10 7EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Easby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Easby
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian country house overlooking the spectacular ruins of Easby abbey and the coast to coast route. ITV described the view as unrivalled. Easby Hall offers style and charm to rival many boutique and country house hotels whilst retaining the warmth and cosiness of a family home.This tranquil retreat has a walled garden with herbaceous borders, an organic kitchen garden, glorious suites with huge beds, log burners, champagne fridges and sumptuous bathrooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easby Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.