We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welcome to Garden Cottage at The Great Barn
Welcome to Garden Cottage at The Great Barn
Welcome to Garden Cottage at The Great Barn
Comfortable lounge area overlooking the lovely garden
Star gaze in the relaxing bedroom with kingsize bed (5ft)
Lounge/diner view from the kitchen
Well equipped galley kitchen
Nether Wallop
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bikenchic...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage for a relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The garden cottage was a fantastic choice for me and my partner. The interior of the cottage is beautifully decorated and spotless. The surrounding area is very peaceful and quaint, with thatched roof cottages. The nearby town is great for strolling, shopping and has some lovely pubs. The cottage has a well equipped kitchen, which I really appreciated, as I love to cook. The New Forest is about a half an hour drive away, and is a lovely place to explore and walk through. The cottage is well equipped with information on the surrounding areas, books, DVDs and everything one would need. The owners are very welcoming and respectful of privacy. I also thought the price of stay was really affordable. Thanks for a great holiday!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the decor of the cottage and the cooking facilities.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mark H
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Garden Cottage was a marvellous experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by Lindsay on the first evening, who showed shown round the property, which we found to be equipped with everything we needed and more. It was spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished and finished. We immediately felt at home in the place, and also enjoyed the perfect garden, which has obviously been tended with much love and industry. Lindsay was very welcoming and told us that we’d just have to knock at her door if we needed anything, but discreetly respected our privacy left us to our own devices.
The galley kitchen is surprisingly well equipped, and we found we had more than we needed in the cupboards. The lounge is comfortable, with a small library, as well as TV and CD/iplayer, so we’d have had plenty to do in the unlikely event that we managed to bore one another.
The spiral staircase started as a challenge, but we soon got used to it, and even I managed to balance the little tray all the way up, with no spills, to deliver a light breakfast in bed.
The location is more than pretty; we ambled down to the 5 Bells for a relaxing drink, and strolled over the green to the little stream. The village is as perfect as the pictures on a chocolate box, and when we came across what seemed to be the entire population playing rounders on the Green we decided that the appearance of perfection was not just an illusion – there really is a wonderful ambience to the place.
The whole area is very pretty, and fascinating locations such as Stonehenge are a relatively short drive away.
We spent a lovely time at the Garden Cottage, and recommend it unreservedly.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The ambience
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PamMoscro...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, quality accomodation. Perfect to relax and recharge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Garden Cottage was a plesant surprise, not only affordable but the quality of the accomodation was superb. Everything was tastefully decorated with attention paid to the finest detail.

If you want a quiet break away from the city and a chance to recharge your batteries then this is the place.

There is something for everyone, from a huge selection of books, to games, dvds, stereo and even a private garden with a BBQ if you wanted.

Everything about Garden Cottage met and exceeded my expectations and Lindsay, the owner was hospitable and professional.

I will definately be booking another break in the very near future.

Thank you for a wonderful time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ladybird3...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful cottage, beautiful garden, idyllic village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Garden Cottage is a delightful cottage for two, in a picture postcard village. There was a warm welcome from the owners who live next-door, the cottage was spotless and well furnished and equipped, very comfortable.
The area is very interesting if you are into natural history, lots of fantastically rich nature reserves within an hour's drive. If you're interested in ancient history the hillforts, henges and ancient fortifications are great too. Stockbridge is a lovely little town for pottering round the shops, and has good cafes and pubs.
The steep, narrow spiral stairs might be a problem for some visitors, as the bathroom and loo are upstairs.

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$78
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Lindsay G
44 01264 783441
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 28 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing