We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accomodation with so all the extra little touches. We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Granary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monknash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Granary
Save
You added The Granary to your Saves list
Y Felin Fach, Monknash CF717QQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Monknash B&B and Inns
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding accomodation with so all the extra little touches. We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We came back to stay for the night for our 1st anniversary, after receiving such great service when staying at the hotel on our wedding night last year. Everything was still as fantastic as we remembered it!! The breakfast was amazing with top quality ingredients, the room was gorgeous and the owners also booked us a meal in the local pub on our night before. Everything that we hadn't thought about was taken care by the owners for us - even the lend of a torch to make our way back from the pub later that night when it was dark! Thank you so much for another wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was great to see you both again. So glad you enjoyed the return visit, we hope to see you again. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Arriving at The Granary when it was covered in snow was just the icing on a truly fantastic cake ! Everything about our stay at this 5 Star… 1 in a Million… B&B was perfect, from the initial friendly greeting to the booking of our next stay before we'd stepped out of the door. Glyn & Philippa are very welcoming hosts, who will do whatever they can to ensure that you're stay is as enjoyable as possible. Not only is the accommodation top notch, with attention paid to every little detail to ensure your comfort, but it also sits in a wonderful rural location…with The Plough & Harrow (just 400yds up the lane) providing a great place to meet the locals and enjoy some good food and drink in the afternoon or evening. The 3-course breakfast is an absolutely fantastic treat, with the quality of the food and the presentation being up to top restaurant standards…and if that wasn't enough it's served in a stunning private dining room. In fact, that for me is one of the main benefits of this B&B…it is totally private…when you book The Granary you've got the whole guest accommodation to yourself ! Glyn & Philippa are on-hand to look after you, and are really good company both at home and also if you bump into them at the Plough…but they will give you as much space as you require. I think gives you a fair idea of how much I enjoyed the place…and I can't wait to go back in a couple of months :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
thank you for taking time to write this review. we are naturally delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again for the return visit. Best Wished Glyn and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Where to start? Luxury, luxury, luxury!!! This overnight stay was a surprize for my joint 'big' Birthday and Wedding Anniversary and my hubby did good, very good! Beautiful house, converted farm building part of 14th century Cistercian monks' 'Nash' estate, sympathetically restored and extended by current owners Philippa and Glyn George who were the most friendly, accomodating and delightful hosts I've ever had the pleasure of staying with. This B& B far surpasses any expectations and in my mind it's 5* rated should be 10* - A gem of a find - highly recommended and I suggest you book now before all available dates are filled by previous visitors rebooking and rebooking again!

A warm welcome awaits, sherry by the Christmas tree, a wonderful entrance foyer which boasts antique tapestries and porcelain and an amazing oak table on which you eat your breakfast feeling like royalty at the court of King Henry Vlll. Breakfast choices are extensive, nothing seems too much trouble, recommendations include the amazing french toast (which I enjoyed) served with acacia honey, pan-fried apple slices and showered with icing sugar, hubby had the Welsh breakfast, locally sourced bacon and sausages, eggs from the free range chickens belonging to Philippa and Glyn, rosti, vine tomatoes and perfect 'posh' fried bread. Toast to your liking, homemade preserves and copious amounts of delicious filter coffee or tea - all served on Wedgewood china - the height of decadence! - again nothing too much trouble and dietary requirements asked about and accomodated if needs be.

The suite itself is part of the house but far enough away from owner accomodation so you really feel you have privacy, and it certainly has all you would wish for with the most sumptuous bed (mattress to die for!) and bed linen, antique furniture but still all modern conveniences of hairdryer, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The suite boasts a beautiful en suite with power shower and heated towel rail, luxury soaps and quality loo paper - so definately a 'must' in any accomodation but usually not provided! Television (we never even switched it on), great wifi connection, wonderful eclectic mix of reading matter in the form of both novels and non-fiction (if you have time!) plus great selection of 'coffee table' magazines I aspire to subscribe to but are far outside my status ie Country Life, fresh fruit (replenished as required), luxury biscuits, Portmeirion china tea set (again so lovely to have this luxury as opposed to heavy mugs or standard 'Berylware') and fresh milk, not 'plastic' homogenised cartons as is usual. Helpful local interest guides and informative guest information book (although I did spot 2 spelling mistakes which must be pure oversight as I couldn't fault anything at all about this stay from the minute we arrived to the time we left).

We had dinner booked for us by our hosts at the neighbouring pub 'The Plough and Harrow' which retains most of it's original features dating back to 1383! - fabulous atmosphere, super food and very reasonable prices for both food and 'real ale' served in the bar. We were even loaned a torch to help us find our way to and from the pub - it's these small attentions to detail that make this accomodation 'miles above the rest'. Our extreme thanks to Philippa and Glyn for certainly making my Birthday and Anniversary memories ones to treasure forever. Loved 'Teddy' (Wheaten Scottish terrier) and everything about The Granary - cannot recommend a stay here more highly and it's worth noting that hopefully in 2013 there may be a quality campsite (tents only) in the field at the bottom of the drive for the more rugged or 'surfer' types as beach is mere short walk down the lane (car parking in farmers field for beach £1 charge).
We visited Cowbridge (pretty town with many designer/craft/artisan shops) and Nash Point lighthouse (licensed for weddings and civil partnerships) and open again next season for tours (£4 pp) from spring 2013. Coastal footpath takes you on pretty walk right up alongside lighthouse, dogs welcome, no charge to park in Winter, £1.50 during Summer.

We hope to return next year and will certainly be recommending The Granary to anyone and everyone who will listen to us spout on about how amazing it is - truly the B & B standard all B & B owners should aspire to achieve - thank you Philippa and Glyn - a truly memorable stay in the most luxurious of accomodation attended to by the most amazing hosts - have a wonderful Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay which is important to us.
We do hope you will visit The Granary again.
Kind Regards Glyn and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We don't get away often, but when we do, we only bother to review those places that are either really good, or really bad. This place falls into (most certainly) the former. The room is perfectly formed, and is better than any photos you may find. From the window you can see the sea, and you must take the 15 minute walk to the magnificent beach because you will feel as if it is your own, so few people are around to discover it. Accommodation and surroundings alone would make this place outstanding, but add to it the hospitality of your hosts, Phillippa and Glyn, and you have the perfect getaway. Never have we felt so welcomed, so looked after, but so left to our own devices. The attention to detail in the room and service is absolutely spot on, even the choice of breakfast far surpasses what you would expect from a high standard hotel. (and the packed lunches Phillippa provided were pretty damn perfect too!) There is a great pub a couple of hundred yards up the road so dinner is never a problem. Overall, the best place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kinde comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We were visiting the nearby Atlantic College which I expect brings a number of guests. I have stayed at three guest houses in this area and this was by far the best. Lovely room. Very clean. A fabulous breakfast in the morning. A great pub nearby. Owned by a super couple; their hospitality is genuinely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are very please to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Granary. Client reviews are very important to us. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My fiance and I came into town from the US for a very quick wedding weekend. Previously, he was stationed at the St. Athan base for 5 years - during which I visited him dozens of times. I am so disappointed that we discovered The Granary only now, after he's moved away! We've stayed in B&Bs all around the UK and Ireland, and this one was hands down the best. Glyn & Philippa were welcoming and friendly hosts - they are incredibly kind, lovely people who made us feel like family the whole weekend- despite the fact that we slept in past the time we'd asked for breakfast and arrivedlater than planned! Philippa was kind enough to make us late-night sandwiches upon our arrival, and Glyn drove us to a nearby town when we needed a lift. They are also fantastic cooks - my picky fiance declared it the best Welsh breakfast he'd ever had. The bedroom was warm, clean and cozy with a strong shower (an exception to the rule in Wales!) with more than fair rates. We'd highly recommend staying here - it just doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to add your review. We do hope you visit the area and The Granary again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Granary in Monknash provides you with the ideal opportunity to explore an idyllic rural world filled with home made jams, good local pubs, beautiful coastal walks and above all a delightfully well informed and friendly local host.
Philippa and Glyn have created a home from home - welcoming but at the same time private - with all that you would expect from a 5 star B&B.
We particuarly loved the fact that we could walk to supper then stroll along the beach all within 15 minutes of our deliciously comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granarymonknash, Owner at The Granary, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you Miffa for your kind comments; Glyn and I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Glyn and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary

Address: Y Felin Fach, Monknash CF717QQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Monknash
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monknash
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Boutique accommodation 5 Star rated in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan. The Granary suite offers guests privacy situated at the South end of the main property Y Felin Fach. Delicious food comprising local or organic produce. Extensive 3 Course breakfast menu. Walking distance of Monknash Beach Heritage Coast. Local Golf, riding and surfing. Excellent for walkers and cyclists. Long term parking, airport transfers arranged.Wedding accommodation packages ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.