We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kijani Hotel Lamu

Save Saved
You added Kijani Hotel Lamu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kijani Hotel Lamu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 266, Shela, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shela
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful gardens welcome you to relax around the small swimming pools. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We've stayed here at least half a dozen times already. Its a very nice place to unwind and relax in a peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room 3 is above the office and has lots of space over two floors. Room 4 and 5 are at the back abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Immediately we entered the secluded garden, the warm smiles of the staff ensured our every need was attended and respected. The quiet and yet musical breezes in the lush palms, and vibrant colour of the tropical garden was a perfect place for the our last week in Africa. I am so glad that we did our homework and chose Lamu and Kijani rather than miss it again.

The bliss of sleeping all day on the pool lounge was the absolute best way to relax after a month of safari. Our room had a front balcony and an upstairs rooftop lounge balcony and we made lounging an art form. Our hosts and the other guests became our friends as we shared each days adventures over a luscious dinner or breakfast in the open dining area. It's incredible to me to know that for each meal we literally were served a freshly picked coconut or mango or freshly caught fish to order.

Kijani was the perfect 'mellow' we both wanted in this trip. I can see why many people we met keep returning here year after year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Kijani far exceeded even our high expectations set by the recommendations we had received. Our first delighted impressions of the boat ride, glorious gardens and welcoming office staff were reinforced with the simple but totally appropriate Swahili-style room and furnishings. Breakfasts were fantastic, our first dinner there so good that we chose to eat again there 3 of our 4 nights in Lamu and only ate elsewhere one night - wished we dined at Kijani all nights. After our daily explorations of timelessness through Shela Village and Lamu Old Town loved returning to relax in Kijani's walled gardens with fresh juices and look forward to another outstanding dinner, many ingredients from their own farm. Some upper rooms have views beyond the gardens to the waterfront where Lamu life goes on all day, never ending but never hurried, and there's a also raised patio in the garden also overlooking the waterfront from within the serenity of Kijani. Hospitality was outstanding, all staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and inviting.
Lamu and Shela are absolutely worth visiting, we'd suggest 3 to 4 days; and if you go, Kijani is absolutely the place to stay. Even though it is 15,000kms away we will be back for another visit, and the first part of that planning will be ensuring we can book a room at Kijani.
Take a look at their website - very well done and a very accurate reflection of the outstanding quality, ambience and appeal of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We are a stranger feeling when we penetrate in this place ;
Timeless .. Lamu .. the time is stopped .
You discover a breeze Oasis and excellent hospitality . The rooms are confortable but rather simple in swahilli furniture .. The swimming pool has panoramic views over the seafront in the shade of the indigenous acacia , baobabs and palm trees ; so relax and unwind .
The main focus point was the Fine Cuisine combined with international recipes and the Fresh local produce . Excellent the lobster salads and the lemon & white chocolate tart .
My wife was enchanted by the Jasmin bouquet in the dining .
In the evening , we could think that you have to be in evening code but it's rather a casual wear (tee shirt and kikoî for men and women) . 100 % relaxation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

An excellent place to stay, Instant relaxation in a different time zone! Helpful and friendly staff. Tranquil gardens. Spend time in a different world, no rush, no congestion. And don't worry about the security. Very discreet police presence will not interfere with anything.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Kijani House is a wonderful place and I hope that people will overcome security concerns and spend a few days there. I went with my family to Lamu in April 2011 and we had booked a different guest house which turned out to be a disaster. So we ran all over town looking for another place and when we came to Kijani they were super helpful. Found us all rooms, we needed three - and they charged us EA resident rates even though only one of us was Kenyan. The rooms were beautiful, there are two pools, in which my son spent virtually the entire time, the location is wonderful, and the food is really nice. The staff set up a dhow trip out to Manda Island for us and it was fabulous! We had a picnic lunch from the boat and it was the tastiest food I've had in a long time. It is a great family place to stay or a nice place for a romantic weekend. This is the first review I've written on trip advisor, but these folks were so helpful I wanted to recommend them. Lamu is such a wonderful place and Kijani House will ensure that you have a great time. I hope to get back there soon!

Room Tip: Higher up is better as you will get a good breeze, since the rooms do not have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We have just spent four days at this wonderful place...a walled in compound of historic Sweahili homes, beautifully maintained, tastefully appointed, with rooms overlooking the beach lined with dhows and pedestrian/ donkey traffic (no motorized vehicles here!), and a lovely central courtyard and pool. The menus and wine options are first rate. The owners and staff provide impeccable service, including pick up and send off at the airport, and access to superb guides, ferry and dhow captains. Above all, there is excellent security, including regular army/police patrols of the area, and resident night guards, which make the blanket warnings against tourism in Lamu ridiculous. We have never felt safer or better taken care of. Make sure you go!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kijani Hotel Lamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kijani Hotel Lamu

Address: PO Box 266, Shela, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island > Shela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kijani Hotel Lamu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the village of Shela, on the island of Lamu – just off the Kenya Coast – Kijani Hotel offers a unique accommodation with its 3,000 sq. metres of tropical garden. Located directly at the sea front with two fresh water swimming pools. Kijani Hotel Lamu has 10 rooms spread throughout the garden into three small separate traditional Swahili buildings which formerly were private homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Kijani Hotel Lamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kijani Hotel Lamu Lamu Island, Kenya - Shela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kijani Hotel Lamu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.