We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proud to be Canadian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peggy Of The Cove

Peggy Of The Cove
10235 Peggy's Cove Road, Glen Margaret, Nova Scotia B3Z 3J1, Canada
902-823-2083
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Storyteller/artist, Ivan Fraser entertains guests while touring through his childhood home museum. Enjoy Peggy of the Cove from legend to reality. Peggy of the Cove was the title given to the sole survivor of a shipwreck that occurred along a rocky coast of Nova Scotia. The folk named their small fishing village after her, Peggy's Cove.
Halifax, NS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Proud to be Canadian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent the afternoon with Ivan Fraser, wow what a wonderful experience! He was so welcoming, kind and interesting. He really made me proud of the Nova Scotia hospitality. It was such an interesting way to spent the afternoon. No appointment required, just stop in and say Hello, you'll be glad you did.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Must stop and meet Ivan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

You cannot help to see his gaily painted house, lighthouse, Dory boat and human lobster pot. Ivan is an author and expert on life in Peggy's Cove and has a live museum of what life was like here. Great fun!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A brilliant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

While driving to Peggy's cove, I was asked "why is it called Peggy's Cove?" I had no idea, and thanks to Ivan and his wonderful museum and novels, we now know the story behind Peggy's Cove. This was an unexpected stop that proved to be a highlight of our trip to the East Coast.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“THIS is the way to see Peggys Cove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I operate a touring business and often stop for visits at the colourful "Peggy of the Cove" homestead. Ivan never ceases to delight our guests and they often report this stop as being the highlight of their visit with us. Ivan is a born entertainer and folks get a true picture of what it was like to grow up in rural Nova Scotia. We love the way that Ivan has brought the legend of Peggy to life! You can bet we'll be back again.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Entertaining local color”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Ivan really entertained us with his legend of Peggy, his sense of humor, the family artifacts, and the dolls. Quite the story teller, but the story will entertain the grandchildren. You get a flavor of what living on the Atlantic Coast of Nova Scotia was like during the early part of the 20th century. Great step back in time.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy Of The Cove also viewed

Peggy's Cove, Halifax Region
Glen Margaret, Halifax Region
 

Been to Peggy Of The Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peggy Of The Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.