We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a memorable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocklands Bird Sanctuary

Rocklands Bird Sanctuary
Near Montego Bay | St. James, Wiltshire, Jamaica
876-952-2009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Wiltshire
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hungry birds and tourists alike love the Rocklands Bird Sanctuary and Feeding Station, where visitors get to feed these colorful feathered creatures by hand. current fee US$15.00 December 1 fees go to US$20 per person but now includes coffee tea or Juice.
New England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Such a memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had so much fun visiting the Rocklands bird sanctuary. The area is beautiful, and the birds really do come up and perch on your finger. Fritz took us on a little hike around the area. We saw even more birds and learned a little about the flora of the area. He even gave us some fresh mangoes right out of the tree. Unforgettable!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    7
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unreal experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was recommended to us by John Wayne (Randy) of VIP Tours. He is the guy to take for all of your trips if you are based in Negril. He will make you laugh and tell you all about Jamaica. You will feel like he is your personal friend in a short time. Now Rockland is real special. You don't have to sit too long for the birds to come to you. With a little guidance, you position your finger just so for the humming bird to land on it. Hard to describe how that little delicate bird feels sitting on your finger. The place is full of various birds in the trees, on the ground and flying around but the uniqueness is the landing of the humingbirds makes this place a must see!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This really is off the beaten path, but we had a blast. Getting there can be a little rough, so get someone who has been there before. The road is in bad shape for the last half mile or so. Expect it to be a slow go. When we got there, we were amazed about all the birds around. We spent an hour and a half there in total. The real treat was having the hummingbirds land on your finger and eat sugar water out of a bottle. Our guide, Fritz, was a great guide. As we walked around to look at the plants, small reptiles, and birds, we would stop and feed the hummingbirds as we went. They were stalking us after all since we had the sugar water that they wanted. I swear to you that I had about 5 hummingbirds eating out of my hands, and my wife had double that. Cost is only $20pp, but we tipped our guide a little extra because of the extra special attention he took for us. As for the taxi ride, I highly recommend Lindsay McFarlane. He knows the way in and back. His email is snljamaicantours@hotmail.com and tell him that Brian and Jen sent you!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Birds in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Amazing!!! The drive to this sanctuary is worth it!!! The 70 acres of lush greenery is a birds paradise. To sit and feed a humming bird that sits on your fingers is just magical. You don't want to leave. It is addictive just watching all the birds and waiting for another humming bird to land on your finger. Fritz, the caretaker is fabulous and he sings special sounds to attract the birds to land on your finger. Highly recommended to anyone that loves birds and nature.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get up close with the National Bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The gardens here are beautiful and the guides are very friendly. I learned a lot about the local flora and fauna. Baby goats to see. You must be patient, but several varieties of hummingbirds will land on your finger to drink nectar from a little bottle. Great photo op!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocklands Bird Sanctuary also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rocklands Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocklands Bird Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.