We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Spot!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stevenson's at Manase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stevenson's at Manase to your Saves list
Stevenson's at Manase
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This resort is great! we stayed at the suites, just right on the water, eds are very comfortable, luxury accommodation! Amazing views.
Food is outstanding, we've been told that food in Samoa wasn't good and that it was all fried but in this resort it was all very fresh! Very happy with everything, will def be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    63
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
40
80
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stevenson's between the 12-17th of september. We stayed in a Beach villa. We are very happy with our stay. The beach is right in front of the villa. We enjoyed snorkeling and relaxed at the beach.

The staff is really helpful. We arrived 8.30 in the morning and were able to check in to our house immediately. They also helped us to rent a car and book taxi.

The taxi from the ferry to Stevenson's at Manase costed 80 Tala. You can also take the bus, however it is crowded, you don't know when it will leave and it is no room if you have a big suitcase.

A negative thing with the beach villa was that we had ants in our house. I guess it is hard to avoid because of the structure of the houses.

The food was good, especially the dinner, I can recommend that you try the Oka, it is delicious!

The only negative thing we have to say about our stay is that during the meals (breakfast/lunch/dinner) they played the same music over and over again. The music was loud and from the 90s (Dr. Bombay, Aqua etc).

I can recommend Stevenson's because it is quite and relaxing (exept during your meals). But if you expect a big luxury resort it's not the place for you!

Room Tip: The Beach villa is better than the Euro fales if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was a truly relaxing holiday. Our villa was exactly what we wanted. The ladies who worked at Stevenson's were gracious and delightful. The food was exactly what we wanted especially the Fifia Night which I highly recommend - they show you how the food is prepared for the umu, and perform dance afterwards. Beautiful beach for swimming, kayaking and snorkelling.The half-day tour with Sam was excellent. It was a very sociable place - we chatted with other guests at breakfast and at dinner - so we could find out about each other and where they'd been on the island but had space and privacy during the day which is good for singles and couples who like to meet other people. No problems with insects.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are better value than the most expensive rooms. The villas have louvred windows fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stevensons is out & out the best place in Samoa. Perhaps some other reviewers come here with little prior knowledge of Samoa and its culture, but if you do have that knowledge, then you will recognise that resort standards in Samoa are a little different to elsewhere. However, Stevensons is just fantastic. We stayed in the Isabella suite, which has all glass doors looking out over the beach. The suite was great- clean & spacious. It even has air con, for which we felt very spoilt to have here in Samoa! (And yes, as a previous reviewer has written, the air con was dripping, but my mech eng partner was able to fix it!) The bathroom is made from porous black volcanic rocks, including the shower, which even has hot water (again, a rarity in Samoa). We were able to relax inside on our lounge chairs or outside at our little table, always with the beach & palms view.
We didn’t eat all our meals at the restaurant, as we explored some other options during our week there (do not miss the pizza at Leilina’s pizzeria in Fagamalo!! It’s the best in Samoa!), but when we did eat, it was very good. The baked fish in coconut cream is a highlight, as are the ulu (breadfruit) dumplings. The breakfasts were typical Samoan, with fruit & undercooked pancakes (this seems to be a Samoan phenomenon, although I haven’t figured out why).
The bar and restaurant layout is great, and there was always a congenial and social atmosphere amongst guests. There is a pool table, which is worth playing on for the ‘Samoan style’ of the table, presenting some challenging and fun shots with its holes, sand, and other ‘obstacles’. A large fale lounge/games area shows movies on the big screen and has a ping pong table. There is also the option to rent snorkelling gear or a canoe, so plenty to do in a very relaxed way. Wednesday night is fiafia night, where the staff hold a kava ceremony & umu demonstration, & later the fiafia show, which was all really well done (the emphasis in the fiafia was on the women dancing, which was a little faster than normal Samoan style, & so had a bit more oomph to it). The umu food was delicious, especially the palusami, the pork, & the fish. The cocktails are also great, & the staff make them with quite a kick!
The location is wonderful- being right on the beach with turquoise waters, views of the sunset, and, absolutely wonderfully, no dogs or roosters to keep you up at night.
Staff were great, always very helpful and accommodating. Megan the manager and Anna the owner were both wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had 7 nights at Stevenson's and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We stayed in a villa about ten metres from the sea and appreciated having a bit of space, a fridge, ceiling fans and a/c and the wonderful outdoor shower. We visited other places and decided Stevenson's was the best for our needs.The staff were friendly,helpful and very hard-working, especially Tutulu, Leala and Annastasia. We enjoyed meeting the other holidaymakers at Stevenson's and getting together in the evening to share stories of our day. Savaii is a magical place full of friendly people and we intend to return next year. One highlight for us was the tour we took with Sam. He is a sensational guide and we recommend his tours without any hesitation. Fiafia night on Wednesday was great - being shown the umu and the preparation of the food bundles etc was really interesting. The resulting feast was great too. We thought it was better than the one down the road. We think Megan is doing a great job of managing Stevenson's and we appreciated the fact that she actively sought our feedback.

Room Tip: We really liked our villa - any of them would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stevensons, simply the best. Stayed in a eurofale between 6 Sept and the 11th.. Awesome time, Great staff, and the BEST manager,Megan, nothing was to much trouble. Loved the restaurant the ambience and the fantastic food. Without doubt Stevensons is the BEST.

Room Tip: You will sleep soooooo soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Well we stayed at stevensons for 6nights.,the staff we really great could not be more helpful.. But that is where it stopped, we never ate there after the first night, ourselves and 6 others got a taxi every night and went to another resort up the road about 5 k for our evening meal far better. the menu needs to be changed its shocking. The air con, leaked water on to the floor the whole time it ran had to soak it up with towels or the place would have flooded, toled the office nothing done next toilet blocked up some where in there system, could not use room for the best part of a day took toilet out put it on the lawn till all was fixed. only half the lights worked the toilet roll holder on the floor an so it went on this room is supposed to one of there top rooms NO.and the part that really got to us is that we never even got any sort of apology nor any refund, would we stay there again NEVER, ( bill)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariane V, Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Bill,

We are very sorry about the condition of your room during your stay. I can assure you that we have fixed the air conditioner and toilet roll holder- I am so sorry that this was not completed before or during your stay. Please take this as my apology.

We are currently putting a lot of time and money into the hotel to get it up to a more then acceptable standard, and I think that if you did return, we would be a little more impressed. Please email me at Stevensonmanase@lesamoa.net to discuss anything else that may be upsetting and I do hope that one day you will return.

Apologies again.

Megan
Marketing Officer
Stevensons at Manase Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches just west of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites (our newest addition) have a surprisingly modern decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stevenson's at Manase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.